Do I need to build a new PC?

Justin B

n00b
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
2
Hey all, first time posting in here and hopefully this the right place to ask since most in here know a lot more than I do...

Hoping for some advice on if I need to work on my current build or just start over with an upgraded system. I basically only play COD Warzone lately, but have been having a lot of freezing/crashing issues. Typically once per night, while transitioning between load screens, the game will completely lock up and won't recover. When I check, it's sucking up 14-14.5g of my 16g of ram. During about half of my games, textures and new picked up weapons will take about 30 seconds to load (literally running around with nothing in my hands). Occasionally, during those times, I hear no sounds and then about 30 seconds of missed sounds/comms all drops at once. It's pretty frustrating.

Here is my setup, built about 3 years ago:

Intel i7 4770 3.40Ghz // MSI H97M-E35 mobo // 16gb DDR3 ram (not compat w/ DDR4) // GeForce GTX 1080 Titan GPU (hand me down from a buddy) // Game is running on a 512gb SSD (same drive OS is on) //

I average about 45-55 fps with maxed out settings in 1440p. Not sure if a new GPU would solve my issues...or if my CPU and DDR3 will still give me problems down the road?

I know the CPU/MOBO are pretty old and I can't really upgrade one part without replacing it all (aside from GPU) at this point. I'm OK with starting a new build (fun but expensive :( ), but wanted to ask around before I waste money.

UserBenchmarks: Game 62%, Desk 85%, Work 52%

Model​
Bench​
CPU
80.5%​
GPU
74.9%​
SSD
72.5%​
SSD
78.3%​
HDD
61.2%​
RAM
58.7%​
MBD
 
Last edited:

M1ddleman

n00b
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
13
It really depends what you want or how you want to measure improvement. Personally, i always look at single thread performance before making a purchase. I would go to https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Intel-Core-i7-4770/Rating/1978 and
look at your max single thread, and then pick a higher number you want in a new cpu in order to justify paying for it.

So say you can get 116-119 score based on userbenchmark, compare it to 10900k at 165 single thread. Thats a medium performance increase of 37% on single thread.

If you're happy with that, get that, otherwise wait for Rocketlake to get another 10%, maybe up to 20% with extreme oc? [i am speculating.; but you get the idea]
 

TheSlySyl

Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
533
Need? Probably not.

Simply getting more ram would likely solve your immediate problems. However, at a quick look , it says the RAM limit* for that motherboard is 16GB - and 32GB of RAM in 2 sticks for DDR3 is more expensive than 32GB of DDR4 at the moment (and much, much slower.)

Would I upgrade if I had those specs? Yes.

*Doesn't always matter, but is it worth a gamble?
 
Last edited:

smoothmove

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
193
There is always a want, but not always a need. If you go the piece by piece route, you can go with a $150 Z490 board, 10600k for $300 and 32 gb of DDR4 3200 for about $100.

The response of the system between the 4770 system is noticeable. The Bench marks are also way better. You can Ebay your old system and recover some of your costs.

Caveat, I upgrade yearly because ah reasons. So, I always recommend upgrading.
 

Justin B

n00b
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
2
There is always a want, but not always a need. If you go the piece by piece route, you can go with a $150 Z490 board, 10600k for $300 and 32 gb of DDR4 3200 for about $100.

The response of the system between the 4770 system is noticeable. The Bench marks are also way better. You can Ebay your old system and recover some of your costs.

Caveat, I upgrade yearly because ah reasons. So, I always recommend upgrading.
I'm the same way with other things, so I've literally avoided most PC info over the past 2 years so I didn't get tempted. That being said...I don't know much about the newer series CPU's. A lot of people are praising the Ryzen 5 3600 or 3600x as good bang for buck (I'm going for 1440p). But last night I read up a bit on the 10600k you mentioned and it seems to outrank in almost all categories. I'm open to Intel or AMD, but you recommend the 10600k over Ryzen 5 series?
 

smoothmove

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
193
I like Intel as it is certified with the software I use for work. AMD is awesome and generally faster for about the same price. I went all Intel as it is what I am most comforable with. The 10600k is the sweet spot for price point. search on YouTube about the 10600k- it had good reviews. I bought and returned a 3900X AMD as it ran hotter when I tried it. Intels ran cooler at stock speed vs AMD at stock speed with both stock coolers. AMD comes with one and Intel is like $10.
 

E4g1e

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 21, 2002
Messages
7,217
I like Intel as it is certified with the software I use for work. AMD is awesome and generally faster for about the same price. I went all Intel as it is what I am most comforable with. The 10600k is the sweet spot for price point. search on YouTube about the 10600k- it had good reviews. I bought and returned a 3900X AMD as it ran hotter when I tried it. Intels ran cooler at stock speed vs AMD at stock speed with both stock coolers. AMD comes with one and Intel is like $10.
Here is the problem with this:

One cannot fairly compare two different CPU architectures. The reason why Intel CPUs draw this low of a power at stock speeds because it simply does not offer a CPU with more than 10 cores and 20 threads in the mainstream platform. Worse, its 10-core part actually runs hotter than that 3900X at even underclocked speeds. And this is all because Intel's CPU architecture has not changed much since 2015. Back then, Intel's mainstream CPUs had no more than 4 cores and 8 threads. And most telling, Intel still offers CPUs with no more than 2 cores at the low end - those that should have been put out to pasture (as far as boxed CPUs are concerned) a few years ago (that is, these low-end dual-core parts should have been relegated to OEM-only).

So obviously, the more cores you pack into such a smaller space, the more heat the CPU will put out. There is absolutely no circumventing that at all.
 

70 Polara

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
217
I've seen people complaining of this issue on more modern systems then yours with 32GB of RAM, so I suppose it's just poor coding in the newer seasons. Have you tried turning off all overlays such as in Geforce Experience or possibly MSI Afterburner? Have a friend that plays this game and found disabling overlays helped quite a bit with the crashing he was having though he's using an AMD card!
 

marshac

American Hero
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
2,389
I purchased this mobo in 2012. "Need" is a relative term, but even eight years later, this 2011 is nearly as fast as a 3800x with an OCd 1680v2. I've also modified the BIOS so that I can boot from NVMe, etc - it has actually been more fun to keep this thing going than building a new workstation. It's funny when people talk about the platform being CPU-bound for GFX - it hasn't even been close. Looks like your best bet would be a Xeon E3-1285 v4 and see how much OC you can get - ebay has them at $100. Looking at benchmarks though, you could also consider a cheap AMD system and likely do better.
 
Last edited:

RamonGTP

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
8,111
I have a box with a 3770k and a GTX 1060 6 GB with 32GB RAM and do not have those issues with Warzone. It’s definitely not your CPU or GPU. Perhaps RAM and/or a messed up windows install.
 

warhol76

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 1, 2013
Messages
66
Perhaps a simple reinstall of the game and/or system?
I would agree with this. I would start be reinstalling the game to see if that helps. If not, you could try starting over with a fresh install of windows and go from there. Windows 10 is way better than its predecessors. But, you still build up crud over time. I recently did this on my system and am very happy with the improved performance. I have definitely noticed it in some games. As others have said you are on the cusp of whether or not you need a new system for what you want to do. I would eliminate the free option first!
 

somebrains

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2013
Messages
1,307
Check gpu temps, I've had spikes that resulted in thermal shutdown.

I've also swapped enough gear back and forth that deleting players file and game cache didn't work, had to reinstall game bc editing ini wouldn't stick.

It's off my box now, waiting for the Cold War changes to hit before I reinstall.
 
Top