Display Port or hdmi to DVI-d

zetachi

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
805
Quick question. Looking to upgrade my 1070 to either a 2060 super or 5700xt. I see most of them come with 1 HDMI and 3 or 4 DP. My issue is my two monitors. Main is a 27" Xstar with DVI only and the 2nd is an old ASUS 27" 1920 x1200 with HDMI and DVI. I think i'm safe with a DP to DVI adapter and then HDMI for the 2nd but just wanted to confirm before buying.

Thanks
 

noteworthy

Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
522
I'm using two Asus VE247 monitors with dvi/hdmi output. I bought a pack of dvi to dp adapters to hook them to my 2080 super. I have two left sitting in the closet I need to make disappear. My primary monitor is a viewsonic 2401 and uses dp with no adapters.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,536
Quick question. Looking to upgrade my 1070 to either a 2060 super or 5700xt. I see most of them come with 1 HDMI and 3 or 4 DP. My issue is my two monitors. Main is a 27" Xstar with DVI only and the 2nd is an old ASUS 27" 1920 x1200 with HDMI and DVI. I think i'm safe with a DP to DVI adapter and then HDMI for the 2nd but just wanted to confirm before buying.

Thanks

You're going to need dual-link DVi active adapter for that Korean XStar.

You knew the dead-end you were buying into when you bough it seven years ago.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
9,604
It comes down to what resolution you are going for. If 1920x1200 (@60hz) or less is all you need, then single-link DVI output is fine. Then you can use a passive HDMI to DVI adapter or a relatively simple DP to HDMI/DVI adapter. Single-link DVI has a max of 1920x1200 60hz. If you need more than that on DVI, then you need dual-link DVI. That means an expensive and quirky active adapter. OR, you can simply run your monitor using single-link DVI, which would mean running at 1080P instead of it's max resolution. You might even be able to manage 1440P at something like 30hz depending on the monitor.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,536
It comes down to what resolution you are going for. If 1920x1200 (@60hz) or less is all you need, then single-link DVI output is fine. Then you can use a passive HDMI to DVI adapter or a relatively simple DP to HDMI/DVI adapter. Single-link DVI has a max of 1920x1200 60hz. If you need more than that on DVI, then you need dual-link DVI. That means an expensive and quirky active adapter. OR, you can simply run your monitor using single-link DVI, which would mean running at 1080P instead of it's max resolution. You might even be able to manage 1440P at something like 30hz depending on the monitor.

The cost have finally come down, do why bother futzing around with custom resolutions?

https://www.amazon.com/3D-CAC-1010-...NMTNK21H87X&psc=1&refRID=E23R3N7ERNMTNK21H87X
 

zetachi

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
805
Yeah the xstar is 2560x1440 60hz so it looks like gpu with 2 hdmi ports or a $50 adapter or a new monitor.

Thanks all.
 

lopoetve

Imhotep
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
29,498
It's nice that they don't cost hundreds of dollars anymore, but spending ~$50 on such an old monitor would still be a tough pill to swallow.



Because it doesn't cost any money.
Also, active adapters are REALLY flaky and quirky. Better on Nvidia (different clock sources, IIRC) than on AMD, but quirky either way. I bought new monitors to get away from them finally.
 

zetachi

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
805
Back again. So I found a GPU that has 2x HDMI 2.0b outputs. Is this still the same issue if wanting to run 1440P @60hz to DVI-d. Trying to find some definitive answers and the google searches are all a mess of conflicting information.
 
Top