Difficulty chosing proc

Baredor

Gawd
I'm a nooblet about to attempt my first high-end build in the next few months. I plan to use it exclusively for gaming. I play mostly WoW, with teamspeak, but plan to run Oblivion and UT2007 when they come out.

Help me choose what's best for me between the following:

-A64 4000+ San Diego
-Opteron (165?)
-x2 4200+

I've seen the buzz around the Opterons, and while it's intriguing, I'm not experienced enough to start OCing yet. I might start a few months down the road, but even then I don't have the wallet to be pushing stuff to its limits. 10% is probably the most I would ever do, and, again, I don't expect to be doing this anytime soon. Should I not even consider the Opteron since I'm not going to OC the hell out of it?

Then there's the neato X2s. I like the concept, but I wonder if I'd be better off just getting a plain ol' single core at a good speed. I hear UT2007 will be using dual cores, but I don't think WoW can. Haven't heard about Oblivion. I don't do media encoding or video editing or anything like that. I just game. Is there any real downside to multicore other than price? Advice appreciated.

Alright, well in my opinion you should go for the dualcore 4200x2.

Here's the pro's and con's of this decision:

Pros:
--Overall far quicker performance in all programs because of the multitasking performance
--Future multicore support in gaming
--Current multicore driver support

Cons:
--Because many games don't take advantage of both cores yet, your dual core would only be as good as its clock speed and would no longer function with the benefit of both of it's cores (effectively becoming a single-core processor). i.e. the San Diego, because it's clocked slightly faster than the x2 would be quicker (2.2ghz vs. 2.4 ghz)