Difference in Mobo's for a htpc?

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
Looking at ordering the final parts for my htpc project and got to the mobo. Is one brand "the best" for a htpc ?
I really like the Asus and DFI brand throughout my building years, but I am new to this htpc stuff and many site recommend the gigabyte boards.
I was looking at using this Asus board. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131354

Is there a better choice I should be looking at?

Thanks
Scoob
 

Blk02

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
183
I am a big Asus fan but from everything I have read I would go with the Gigabyte 9400
 

Chrs

n00b
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
55
I actually just got that motherboard today and paired it with an AMD 5050e. I can't really say if there's a better choice, but I chose it because it fit my "requirements:
  • AM2 Socket for the AMD 45W CPUs
  • nVidia 8300 w/ video and audio support via HDMI
  • mATX to fit an Antec NSK2480 case I already had
  • ASUS reputation and reliability

I just got everything installed and was able to get all the drivers working in Vista with the CD that was supplied. So far, I'm very happy.
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
I am a big Asus fan but from everything I have read I would go with the Gigabyte 9400
My AMD AM2 chip will not fit in that board. Also it doesn't look like gigabyte make a Matx board in any nvidia chipsets, only the amd chipset. Guess that rules them out. Since most say the 8300 is better then the 790gx
 

Blk02

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
183
Ooops did not see you had an AMD chip. Yep your stuck with the 780 or 790. They are ok, but I still prefer the new 9300 and 9400 chipsets from nvidia for a IGP solution. Hey Scoobert do you have a Lightning Truck. I thought I recognized your name from the F150online forums????
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
Ooops did not see you had an AMD chip. Yep your stuck with the 780 or 790. They are ok, but I still prefer the new 9300 and 9400 chipsets from nvidia for a IGP solution. Hey Scoobert do you have a Lightning Truck. I thought I recognized your name from the F150online forums????

Yeh I will stick with the nvidia chipset myself. Seems to be the favorite of people who know.

Nope, dont have a lightning. But i wish I did :)
 

PGPfan

n00b
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
28
If your looking for the best AMD based HTPC board, in my opinion, it's the MSI-7411 "DIVA".
The IGP has sideport memory, HDMI, VGA, and Component connections, and it comes with either a real 5x100 w/channel amp, or 7.1 preamp. I have the 5.1 amp version and have been more than glad I chose this route. It's unreal how good it sounds, and the picture is flawless as well.

-PGPfan
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
If your looking for the best AMD based HTPC board, in my opinion, it's the MSI-7411 "DIVA".
The IGP has sideport memory, HDMI, VGA, and Component connections, and it comes with either a real 5x100 w/channel amp, or 7.1 preamp. I have the 5.1 amp version and have been more than glad I chose this route. It's unreal how good it sounds, and the picture is flawless as well.

-PGPfan



That's a very nice board but I already have a surround sound and most people recommend the 8300 over the 790g (gx). So I better stick with that, since I dont know :)
 

complexx

Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
748
I just RMA'd the ASUS today. I couldn't find a set of drivers to make this mobo utilize the onboard 8300 properly.

If anyone else has had success with this mobo please say so. Maybe I just had a bad unit.
 

Chrs

n00b
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
55
I just RMA'd the ASUS today. I couldn't find a set of drivers to make this mobo utilize the onboard 8300 properly.

If anyone else has had success with this mobo please say so. Maybe I just had a bad unit.

What kind of issues were you having? I was able to get everything working with the drivers on the disc that was provided. I did have a problem with flickering during blu-ray playback, but I fixed this by updating the BIOS and updating the video drivers via nVidia's website.
 

Logan321

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
1,900
I grabbed the VM version of the OP's board (8200), a 4850e and some cheap ddr2-1066 2 x 1gig ram for under $200 canadian before tax. Made a nice upgrade to my aging and going faulty A8V-MX (so glad VIA doesn't make chipsets anymore).
 

scoobert

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
342
I grabbed the VM version of the OP's board (8200), a 4850e and some cheap ddr2-1066 2 x 1gig ram for under $200 canadian before tax. Made a nice upgrade to my aging and going faulty A8V-MX (so glad VIA doesn't make chipsets anymore).
That was my main reason for going with the 8300 over the 8200. 8200=via sound, 8300 = realtek. Not that the one is picked is in any way superior (AFIK) but after fighting via chipsets for a couple years. I shy away from anything via now :)
 

Logan321

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
1,900
Via sound isn't necessarily a bad thing, but via chipsets have caused me a fair bit of frustration myself. I'm not really using the via for anything other than passing through to optical to my receiver, so the chipset doesn't really matter. That, and the 8300 board wasn't in stock at ncix when I bought the 8200. heh
 
Top