Did the Intel 2.5gbps problems ever get solved

Randall Stephens

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
1,583
I know intel had tons of issues with the i225 chipset, did those ever get solved, or is it an avoid at all cost type deal still?
 

jolli

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2010
Messages
798
Doesn’t the linked article state that the B3 revision corrected the issues?

I just ordered a four port card using the i225, so I really do hope it has the B3 revision on board.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,998
Doesn’t the linked article state that the B3 revision corrected the issues?

I just ordered a four port card using the i225, so I really do hope it has the B3 revision on board.
I read the whole thread, and people even with the B3 revision were having problems as some people with the B2 revision also didn't have problems. It seems B3 helps, but is not a definitive fix. There is also a fix with certain settings that seemed to have worked for people as well.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,998
Just skip 2.5G and go 10G.
That's what I plan to do with how cheap older nics and dacs are. Someone on reddit homelabsales was even selling bundles for $50 shipped for 2x nics and a dac a while back!
 

Eulogy

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
2,901
That's what I plan to do with how cheap older nics and dacs are. Someone on reddit homelabsales was even selling bundles for $50 shipped for 2x nics and a dac a while back!
Yeah. And good switches (like ICXes) are like $150 on ebay for a ton of ports, and even some 40Gb ports too (which I use for bankbone between floors in my house).
 

staknhalo

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
3,646

my board is an asus tuf x570 wifi pro and I have a rev 3

1665447958598.png
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,998
my home network is only gigabit, so i wouldn't see any issues from my understanding, but shouldn't if/when I upgrade everything else to 2.5/10Gb because of rev3
It's not perfect, but have you tried the packetlosstest.com as mentioned? Of course, this could always just be Internet packet loss, so not a definitive test except if that it says zero packet loss, you're in the clear--at least on 1Gb which doesn't seem to have any issues compared to 2.5Gb.
 

staknhalo

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
3,646
It's not perfect, but have you tried the packetlosstest.com as mentioned? Of course, this could always just be Internet packet loss, so not a definitive test except if that it says zero packet loss, you're in the clear--at least on 1Gb which doesn't seem to have any issues compared to 2.5Gb.
1665542583886.png
 
Top