Daily Mining Profits

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2,693
If one person can just say a few things and the market tanks, that speaks rather strongly the foundation of BTC. Or is that weakness? Wait until Elon dumps his 1.5 billion bought BTC, if he does. He has been getting much grief from the BTC community (some would say worshipers). Historically BTC has routinely dropped around 80% from the highs a number of times. If it goes to the Crypto Abyss, down market cycle, one can wait until the next Bull run, that is if it occurs. Anyways Crypto is a high risk, very speculative market. Anything mined is subjected to the whims at times of many and you can only count the earnings once you cash out. I cashed out on ETH, still mining, when it was above $4000 and will probably cash out the next batch as I mine. As for Eth going up or down from here, really don't know, to me the trend will be down, hopefully I am wrong.
He is a puppet. His remarks are perfectly timed to the globalist media propaganda. Bitcoin good. Tesla buys 1.5 Billion. Bitcoin over valued. Buy A.I death trap with Bitcoin. I like Dodge. Tesla no takey Bitcoin no mo. Bitcoin hurt World :(
That con man should be jailed! He isn't even a good actor.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,274
He is a puppet. His remarks are perfectly timed to the globalist media propaganda. Bitcoin good. Tesla buys 1.5 Billion. Bitcoin over valued. Buy A.I death trap with Bitcoin. I like Dodge. Tesla no takey Bitcoin no mo. Bitcoin hurt World :(
That con man should be jailed! He isn't even a good actor.
Elon Musk businesses are pretty involved with A.I. Maybe not in financial markets or maybe so. I would think A.I. at this stage would be able to predict markets extremely well if the parameters/data given was pertinent for the period. Unexpectant things would throw off the solutions, I thought it was very odd after a virtual vertical jump Elon would then commit 1.5 billion to BTC and then several weeks later bash it. As an investor (not in Elon Stuff, at least yet), seeing this makes me wonder the soundness and basis for his decisions and if reflective over his other businesses. Anyways he has had some great successes/accomplishments, he was very involved with financial stuff as in starting Paypal and then selling and now look where Paypal is today. Mars is a 2 year period for best space flights, his goal for 2024 to send people, while saying many may die, which was changed to a later date (2026?) Really seems very reckless and financially impossible at where he is at. Sending probes, proof of concept with dummy missions (maybe really just not enough money to ensure better safety) do instead a hail Mary? I would not call him a con man, maybe delusional at timea, how well will his business handle a real huge mishap is to seen if that happens.

As for Bitcoin hurt World -> Some would say it will save the World :( .
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,273
some nice spikes today on nice hash, otherwise quite a bit down. Still nearly 10x profitable over electricity for me in the midwest.

1621821746165.png
 
Last edited:

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
51,803
Woohoo!
CURRENT MINING PROFITABILITY
0.00016704 BTC / 24h
≈ $5.65
 

biztyke

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
2,204
I"ve got 4 cards going:

6700XT
Vega 56
2070
1070Ti

Total of 143 MH/s. Overall not the most efficient, but it works. My current profit has averaged about $10-12 a day the last 4 days or so, with a few spikes here and there, but power cost is less than $2/day so still worth it.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,274
Currently at this time looking at $42/day -> Real value is when cashed out so the number is very rough ball park.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2,693
Elon Musk businesses are pretty involved with A.I. Maybe not in financial markets or maybe so. I would think A.I. at this stage would be able to predict markets extremely well if the parameters/data given was pertinent for the period. Unexpectant things would throw off the solutions, I thought it was very odd after a virtual vertical jump Elon would then commit 1.5 billion to BTC and then several weeks later bash it. As an investor (not in Elon Stuff, at least yet), seeing this makes me wonder the soundness and basis for his decisions and if reflective over his other businesses. Anyways he has had some great successes/accomplishments, he was very involved with financial stuff as in starting Paypal and then selling and now look where Paypal is today. Mars is a 2 year period for best space flights, his goal for 2024 to send people, while saying many may die, which was changed to a later date (2026?) Really seems very reckless and financially impossible at where he is at. Sending probes, proof of concept with dummy missions (maybe really just not enough money to ensure better safety) do instead a hail Mary? I would not call him a con man, maybe delusional at timea, how well will his business handle a real huge mishap is to seen if that happens.

As for Bitcoin hurt World -> Some would say it will save the World :( .
No he is saying bitcoin is bad for the world(enviromentally) Ya missed what I was saying there. He is a deep state planted actor an his trail of fortunes places him as such.
 

vegeta535

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
6,531
It doesn't seem worth doing anymore to me. I still have my computer running but with it getting hotter it starting to really heat up my room. I been around $230 worth of BC for the past week on my NH account. So basically I been mining to just keep from losing money.
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
18,649
I've been mining (ETH) since early Jan with my 2080 and son's 570 8GB card for at about 40 & 24 mH/s respectively for ~64 mH/s total 24/7. I'm overseas military too and my housing/utilities are covered by my job so I'm not out of pocket on electricity.

Question though; I'm using the lolminer client on both PCs and on my son's AMD PC, it's kinda a PITA to keep mining on because you have to have the GPU set to "compute" in the Adrenalin settings for it to mine at full speed as opposed to only ~7 mH/s while on the "gaming" setting. Is there a PS command or setting in the client or something that I can set before mining to force it to "compute" mode? My son is constantly switching it back to "gaming" to play his games, then when my script/task (scheduler) starts the miner back up after his bed time, it's left at mining at ~1/3 of the speed it's supposed to.

Another weird thing is that despite the Adrenalin app showing 100% GPU utilization while mining, the Windows task manager shows GPU at 0% (but shows VRAM usage at least). Why is that when on my PC it shows 100% utilization in the task manager while mining?

One more thing; I have my 2080's mem OC'd to +850 Mhz (and core clock turned all the way down to -550 or so mHz since that didn't seem to affect its speed whatsoever in my testing) in the Afterburner app and that boosts its speed from around 34 mH/s stock to ~40ish. When I try to OC the 570 in Adrenalin, it doesn't affect its speed at all. Why is that? I haven't tried using another OC app outside of Adrenalin, so wondering if it's actually doing anything.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2,693
It's the same as losing money in the stock market. You start with 50 and now you have 25, you lost money. You can call it whatever you want .. down 25, lost 25, doesn't matter, it was capital you put in and now it's worth less.
No. Just like the stock market you only loose when you sell. It is a paper loss only. You go gamble with cash at the casino...it's gone. You leave it in a bank account, subtract inflation and it is gone.
With words like "now it's worth less" I am hallucinating you're anti wealth building? Anti stock market/crypto market at best?
 

captainyarr

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
76
Question though; I'm using the lolminer client on both PCs and on my son's AMD PC, it's kinda a PITA to keep mining on because you have to have the GPU set to "compute" in the Adrenalin settings for it to mine at full speed as opposed to only ~7 mH/s while on the "gaming" setting. Is there a PS command or setting in the client or something that I can set before mining to force it to "compute" mode? My son is constantly switching it back to "gaming" to play his games, then when my script/task (scheduler) starts the miner back up after his bed time, it's left at mining at ~1/3 of the speed it's supposed to.

I'm using MSI Afterburner and have had mixed results solving the same issue. With it you can save settings as a profile, then select which to run with "C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\MSIAfterburner.exe" -profile1
And that works fine as part of a script when run manually but seems to have no effect when I have that script run as part of a windows scheduled task.

edit
I see in t-rex it includes options to overclock as part of the command line, so you can avoid the OC profile switches entirely. Brilliant
 
Last edited:

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
20,062
Ya, profits tanked last couple days..... $5USD on my RX6800 and AMD 3900XT... the way BTC is right now, sideways movement prob be like this for several weeks min with a couple $40k + spikes...but ya...UGH!@
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
this might be a dumb question, but how do I register my GPU at evga?
All I see when searching are FAQs about the benefits not a link to actually do it.

NVM
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
working with EVGA on phone right now to get my 3060 prebuilt gpu eligible for step-up
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
I was able to get registered for the step up with a pre-built based 3060

EDIT
Instead of running 4 PCs to mine I want to consolidate to a single rig.
Not sure if it will work on a single mb with 3 nvidia gpus and an AMD one?
Also th 3060 has to use the certain driver and not sure if the 3080s will like that driver.
I was looking for recommendations on a mining frame.
 
Last edited:

LukeTbk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
1,146
He is a puppet. His remarks are perfectly timed to the globalist media propaganda. Bitcoin good. Tesla buys 1.5 Billion. Bitcoin over valued. Buy A.I death trap with Bitcoin. I like Dodge. Tesla no takey Bitcoin no mo. Bitcoin hurt World :(
That con man should be jailed! He isn't even a good actor.

It is hard to imagine something that is more globalist than cryptocurrency, so that would not be surprising that one of biggest crypto promoter on earth to be one.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,274
I was able to get registered for the step up with a pre-built based 3060

EDIT
Instead of running 4 PCs to mine I want to consolidate to a single rig.
Not sure if it will work on a single mb with 3 nvidia gpus and an AMD one?
Also th 3060 has to use the certain driver and not sure if the 3080s will like that driver.
I was looking for recommendations on a mining frame.
It should work just fine, have 2 1080 Ti's and 3 Vega's on the same machine, soon a 5700 XT will be added. Some problems I had is with OCing software as in MSI afterburner and mixed vender graphics cards and maybe also with different Sku's of the same GPU manufacturer. Anyways for that machine I use EVGA PX1 which just looks at EVGA cards and AMD Driver OCing ability and it works great. If you use Awesome Miner you can independently OC each GPU separately, save profiles per Miner if you buy their license which is very cheap.
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
It should work just fine, have 2 1080 Ti's and 3 Vega's on the same machine, soon a 5700 XT will be added. Some problems I had is with OCing software as in MSI afterburner and mixed vender graphics cards and maybe also with different Sku's of the same GPU manufacturer. Anyways for that machine I use EVGA PX1 which just looks at EVGA cards and AMD Driver OCing ability and it works great. If you use Awesome Miner you can independently OC each GPU separately, save profiles per Miner if you buy their license which is very cheap.
My issue was driver conflict, but Awesome miner essentially employs the drivers per card then without them needing to be installed into Windows?
I use a Veddha rack. Really really happy with it.
Ill look at that one. I see so many bad reviews on Amazon for even the recommended ones and prices all over the place.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
8,020
My issue was driver conflict, but Awesome miner essentially employs the drivers per card then without them needing to be installed into Windows?

Ill look at that one. I see so many bad reviews on Amazon for even the recommended ones and prices all over the place.
I paid very little for mine. The build and construction is great. "Very little" is subjective, but it was about 100 CAD for an 8gpu rack.

Edit: this is the eBay link..

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/183142274999

It says out of stock, but it should give you some idea of the rack quality and part numbers to look elsewhere.
 
Last edited:

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
I paid very little for mine. The build and construction is great. "Very little" is subjective, but it was about 100 CAD for an 8gpu rack.

Edit: this is the eBay link..

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/183142274999

It says out of stock, but it should give you some idea of the rack quality and part numbers to look elsewhere.
They look pricey on Amazon.
How did you get such a good price?
Double that price now lol.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,274
My issue was driver conflict, but Awesome miner essentially employs the drivers per card then without them needing to be installed into Windows?

Ill look at that one. I see so many bad reviews on Amazon for even the recommended ones and prices all over the place.
I do not have a driver conflict issue between Nvidia and AMD drivers so cannot help there. Awesome Miner just taps into the Drivers (does not provide drivers), you should be able to just load the drivers for the cards without the UI and use Awesome Miner OCing tools as an option. Make sure in the bios, pcie section, to have over 4G decoding (MSI also includes Cypto Currency Mining phrasing) which allows more than 3 video cards to be seen by the OS.
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
I do not have a driver conflict issue between Nvidia and AMD drivers so cannot help there. Awesome Miner just taps into the Drivers (does not provide drivers), you should be able to just load the drivers for the cards without the UI and use Awesome Miner OCing tools as an option. Make sure in the bios, pcie section, to have over 4G decoding (MSI also includes Cypto Currency Mining phrasing) which allows more than 3 video cards to be seen by the OS.
Ok so do I install both AMD and Nvidia drivers?
Thanks For the over 4G tip!
Also 1 card per pcie slot, and do 1x slots work?
I have some more research to do.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,274
Ok so do I install both AMD and Nvidia drivers?
Thanks For the over 4G tip!
Also 1 card per pcie slot, and do 1x slots work?
I have some more research to do.
1x pcie should work just fine, you have pcie adaptors? You can even hook up a monitor and play game with it but somewhat handicapped with the bandwidth but for mining even pcie 2 1x is sufficient for a 3090. Yes, install both drivers which should find the cards. Go to device manager after installation to make sure the cards are all configured. Some motherboards the pcie slot(s) may support M.2 or SATA, either/or and you may have to configure, some boards automatically will use the pcie slot if a device is in it.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,274
View attachment 362748
I found one in an auction that ends tomorrow and Ill bid on that.
You can build your own for much cheaper if you want to save some money, just go to a hardware store and buy materials, could even be wood (I prefer metal, don't want a fire place if things goes wrong). Unistrut which is U shaped and has holes in it for fasteners is quick to cut and fasten together. Use your imagination. Could use angle and buy 90 degree brackets for the joints (cut/drill/put togeher), if you weld, another option. I had left over materials and made a rack for video cards. Many options one can use. Some used milk crates, cheap modified shelfs from the store etc. Some rather ghetto looking as well.

Example of Unistrut
1622865373697.png
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
You can build your own for much cheaper if you want to save some money, just go to a hardware store and buy materials, could even be wood (I prefer metal, don't want a fire place if things goes wrong). Unistrut which is U shaped and has holes in it for fasteners is quick to cut and fasten together. Use your imagination. Could use angle and buy 90 degree brackets for the joints (cut/drill/put togeher), if you weld, another option. I had left over materials and made a rack for video cards. Many options one can use. Some used milk crates, cheap modified shelfs from the store etc. Some rather ghetto looking as well.

Example of Unistrut
View attachment 362887
Ill see how this auction ends in the morning and likely go this route if if goes higher than I want to pay. I have a chop saw (not sure if it will like metal) and a few drills.
Still gotta rebuild this 3080 with better thermal pads. My granddaughter takes all my spare time these days. I have several projects lined up and the Honey-Do list too lol.
 
  • Like
Reactions: noko
like this

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
11,273
Bassman99 a baker’s rack is the tried and true best way to go for me. It’s the easiest way to control heat, easiest accessibility for maintenance, and one $30 shelf will easily hold 30 + cards and three motherboard/9 PSUs with plenty of breathing space for each card. You can just setup one box fan to blow air over the whole rack.
 

Attachments

  • E4E5E123-8D91-4FED-8B1A-8BD0E198031B.jpeg
    E4E5E123-8D91-4FED-8B1A-8BD0E198031B.jpeg
    564.8 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
18,649
Same, makes me wish I had more cards!
Hah, yup. Been trying to find anything to throw an extra card into my or my son's PC. I've been wanting to upgrade to a 3080 (or maybe a ti now) for games anyway and would keep the 2080 in my PC as well to keep mining with even though I'm sure I could unload it for $800+ easily right now.
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
@Basman99 a baker’s rack is the tried and true best way to go for me. It’s the easiest way to control heat, easiest accessibility for maintenance, and one $30 shelf will easily hold 30 + cards and three motherboard/9 PSUs with plenty of breathing space for each card. You can just setup one box fan to blow air over the whole rack.
I have thought about that also.
Im torn between the baker's rack and a wooden rack.

So are the ETH profits over the last week or so the typical amount? They seem to be pretty steady albeit at a lower rate than when I started a month ago.
 

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
I replaced the thermal pads on the Gigabyte 3080 and went from 106-110c mining to 74-78C. I didnt even replace the back pads. Over 30C mem junction reduction.

EDIT: I noticed the core temperature is slightly higher 4-5C when mining now, but the same as before when not mining.
I think the memory heat actually making it to the heatsink now is making it heat soak somewhat.
 
Last edited:

Bassman99

Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
851
Are there any cards for sale now that arent nerfed?
Wondering if the shuffle will yield usable cards anymore
 
Last edited:
Top