I'm going to mount this:

pa1203.jpg

on top of this:

newcase.jpg

and I was thinking of cutting the top with this:

drill.jpg

It's a very nice 18V varible speed saw, specs are here:
http://www.ryobitools.com/index.php/catalog/tool/p520c/

I have no prior experience cutting acrylic and have no desire to screw up my new $250 case. The corded version of this saw has a "scrolling" blade option that this one doesn't, no idea what that's for. I'd _really_ like to buy the cordless version for this task if possible because it will be easier to justify the expense.

I will be practicing on scrap acrylic, no doubt. I also will be masking off my case as well as drilling pilot holes in all corners of where I plan to cut (which will most likely be a template made from the fan shoud for that radiator (i.e. the cuts will be basically 3 120mm squares).

My questions are:

1. Can the cordless version of this saw do this job effectively or would some other tool be more appropriate.

2. What do I need to know about blades and/or drill bits and/or speeds when cutting acrylic because I know you can wind up melting rather than cutting the stuff.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated and my apologies if there is a post that addresses these exact things already, search was _not_ working for me and I didn't see anything in the first 5 or so pages.

TIA

I wouldn't use that. It's gonna scratch the hell out of your case. That, its gonna grab and crack the case.

Know what I use? A spiral saw bit in my dremel.

Purple052.jpg

Purple053.jpg

Purple003.jpg

More pics.

I like that idea and it makes sense where that wouldn't grab like you say. However, I was going to go for a more square cut that would match the cutouts on my shroud:

shroud.jpg

Could such a cutout still be best achieved with something such as you recommend?