CSS Problem in Firefox, IE is OK

cmosdos

2[H]4U
I've been working on this for awhile and I've run into a browser compatibility problem (surprise!). Firefox is not centering my menu lines. IE doesn't seem to have problems. I'm new to css and I think the problem might be there. If someone could look at my .css file and the html and give me any ideas as to why firefox isn't centering the lines like IE is, I would really appreciate it!

http://www.wired-pc.com/newsite/wired-pc.htm

You can find all the files here:
http://www.wired-pc.com/newsite/

the problem is that you're absolutely positioning the container elements (navtop, navmid, etc) without providing a left: or right: to move them away from the left edge. Frankly, I can't figure out how/why IE thinks centering is appropriate.

Anyway, I'd rewrite to remove the absolute positioning. Centering is then done with
Code:
margin-left:auto;
margin-right:auto;

See, that's what I thought at first. And thats what I did. However, when I remove the position: absolute; it moves the line to the very top of the page. It completly ignores the top: 240px;.

I had a feeling the problem was in the position code... but seems like whatever I try to manipulate it won't work.

Can't you put a margin-top to get your top spacing if you take the absolute positioning out?

http://theodorakis.net/tablecentertest.html
That above site explains how to center stuff (not just tables) using CSS. The problem is that IE is retarded when it comes to web standards. And currently the standard is css. IE Beta7 is scheduled to come out this summer(05). One of the biggest updates in the new IE is better support for CSS. For now you have to use the IE bug for centering stuff. (text-align:center) Don't ask me why IE actually centers everything when you ask for just text, but it does. Its all explained in the above link.

Good luck.

You're making this about 1000 times harder than it needs to be. I went through a did a quick re-write of your code.