Cryix 133 mhz

Discussion in 'All non-AMD/Intel CPUs' started by reaper7534!, Nov 10, 2019.

1. reaper7534!

reaper7534! [H]Lite

Did anyone ever have one of these ? I ( upgraded ) from a AMD DX4 100 mhz and it felt like I went backwards, what a miserable piece of hardware. I do believe it dropped straight into my motherboad though, maybe.

2. auntjemima

auntjemima [H]ardness Supreme

It would have dropped right in if you had a socket 7 board (I don't think you needed a super socket 7, but who knows..).

I have one here. I have all the variations of Cyrix processors. I went through a collecting phase.

3. matt167

matt167 Gawd

My dad had a Cyrix 133 for a while, and a 233 ran our home server up until about the time I graduated high school in 2007

4. OFaceSIG

OFaceSIG 2[H]4U

I had a Cyrix 6x86 P166+ and it was GREAT for anything but gaming. Productivity was great. I later pulled it out and replaced it with a Pentium 90Mhz that was better at gaming even though the Cyrix was technically 133MHz.

My understanding is the FPU on the Cryix CPUs was just a poor implementation and therefore games suffered.

acascianelli and Red Falcon like this.
  5. Red Falcon

Red Falcon [H]ardForum Junkie

6. GiGaBiTe

GiGaBiTe Gawd

You'd need a Super Socket 7 board for several Cyrix CPUs that used weird bus speeds like 75 and 83 MHz which normal Socket 7 boards usually didn't have support for. Those CPUs were a PITA to get working properly because motherboards at the time usually cascaded the various bus clocks from the CPU FSB. PCI was usually CPUClk/2 so a 75 MHz bus got you 37.5 which was pretty high but generally worked. 83 MHz got you 41.5 and most PCI cards would either not function or overheat and misbehave. AGP and RAM was worse, often being run at the same speed at the FSB and AGP cards didn't at all tolerate 75 or 83 MHz clocks.