CoolerMaster V10! (56k warning)

D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
Thats a great deal for a 300W cooling solution. For $140, if It cools better than a Coolit Freezone or a $80 TRUE with two high performance fans, its worth considering.

If it really cools 300W worth it will be worth it when you look at water cooling etc. However the TRUE can be had (and could be for sometime) for 49 bucks without a fan.
 

flurp

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
111
After installing that monster, you'll need some Brawndo: the thirst mutilator
 

tonyluu

Gawd
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
613
Wow! This HSF is huge!
Can't wait to see how it performs against the current competition.
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
2nd picture is missing the shroud and the first picture is just a picture of a CSX case.

Also this is a 200+ watt cooling solution and its been seen to be stable upto 300watts.

In addition, this cooler is a beast and i dont really want to take it out of my rig.
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
2nd picture is missing the shroud and the first picture is just a picture of a CSX case.

Also this is a 200+ watt cooling solution and its been seen to be stable upto 300watts.

In addition, this cooler is a beast and i dont really want to take it out of my rig.

I would love to know the cooling of this HS with your x3350 at 3.9+.

Or any SERIOUS overclock rather than stock or minimals which aren't important to me :).
(after all, that is the point of this heat sink)
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
I would love to know the cooling of this HS with your x3350 at 3.9+.

Or any SERIOUS overclock rather than stock or minimals which aren't important to me :).
(after all, that is the point of this heat sink)

3.6Ghz isnt enough? i bumped the voltage 0.1v
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
I really wanna ask what kind of overclocking is Serious to him, if he replies with 4.0ghz im a laugh.

Russian's 3.6ghz is more than enough to show the results of its cooling, keep in mind this thread is showing how the cooler looks/installs with some sneak preview performance, If you want the full deal, just wait a bit :cool:
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
I really wanna ask what kind of overclocking is Serious to him, if he replies with 4.0ghz im a laugh.

Russian's 3.6ghz is more than enough to show the results of its cooling, keep in mind this thread is showing how the cooler looks/installs with some sneak preview performance, If you want the full deal, just wait a bit :cool:

I am sorry if it sounded like I was badmouthing Russian's review, I am not at all, I fully appreciate everything he has posted. All of this info is fantastic!

The way I was trying to word that, is that I want to see the results on a more "extreme" overclock. Maybe I need to go back to page one, But I didn't remember Russian posting his cooling results for 3.6, off the top of my head I remember stock and ~3.2ghz. Maybe he updated it after my original few reads, or maybe I'm retarded and will just go back to re-read it :).
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
Im sure if you ask nicely he will attempt to do so, but then again, the nda is gonna be lifted soon so we will see full reviews come up. ;)
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
I did go back and re-read. You did have one initial post that said basically "I ran at 3.6 and didn't go past 50c.". But then when you posted screenshots etc.. it was just stock clock loading at ~38c (very nice, even stock my q9550 gets up to 40-50c).

Maybe now that you've had it for a while, if you didn't mind, you could post some update results of your 3.6 OC temps with SS. I of course understand if you do not, but I can't help but ask :-D.
 

Hypernova

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
2,028
This is waaaaay to big for me. My TRUE black is where I draw the line. If I'm going to bother with this I might as well go straight to water.
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
Haha, it is, but its just a beast looking, kinda like my tuniq, buddies of mine always say ''god damm wtf is that hovering in your case''.

Im actually wondering how the design is on the v10, Is the thing hovering over the ram area the main cooler? and the one next to it activated when load temps are detected? Or is it just 2 parts in 1 with the tec helping out when high temps are detected?
 

bruceyg

n00b
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
58
Man, it's huge. I wonder how much better compared with xigmatek S1283 and Sunbeam core-contact which are only $30 coolers.
 

Infantwar

n00b
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
45
Frozen has it priced at $139.99 (sans shipping) now instead of no price. If that ends up being the legit price (vs. the $102 on Provantage with no real picture) then I reckon it's a bit too rich for my blood. My new computer will mark my first time oc'ing which is scary enough w/o adding a $140 TEC to the mix. But g*dDAMN would that thing be foxy.
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
Frozen has it priced at $139.99 (sans shipping) now instead of no price. If that ends up being the legit price (vs. the $102 on Provantage with no real picture) then I reckon it's a bit too rich for my blood. My new computer will mark my first time oc'ing which is scary enough w/o adding a $140 TEC to the mix. But g*dDAMN would that thing be foxy.

That is pricey, another reason why I will need to see lots of data before purchasing :).
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
That is pricey, another reason why I will need to see lots of data before purchasing :).

Indeed, if its not up to par I would rather put the money to a water cooled system, it might cost more in the long run but is expandable, transferable and can cool more than just the CPU.
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
Im hoping someone will have some i7 data for us since these are supposed to perform even better for i7's.
 

Arcygenical

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
25,056
I don't understand why the TEC is offcenter, and it's "cold" is provided by heatpipes to the main cooler base...

Heatpipes transfer heat much more efficiently than they do cold...
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
[H]adouken;1033652752 said:
Lol really? Don't see how its any different from like a Q6600 or something??

The TEC doesnt even trip 100% when im using it... it has to be forced.
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
I don't understand why the TEC is offcenter, and it's "cold" is provided by heatpipes to the main cooler base...

Heatpipes transfer heat much more efficiently than they do cold...

If you mean by "offcenter" by not being mounted right on the base, it's because the TEC is not on at all times and would hinder heat flow other wise.

The heat pipes are also moving heat, not cold, there is no such thing as "cold" but rather lack of heat. So it is removing heat from the heat pipes by the "cold" side of the TEC and moving it to the "hot" side where the last HS is so it can be dissipated. So the heat pipes are working just as they should, the fluid inside turns to vapor and moves to the cooler side of the tube, where it is cooled (in this case by a TEC rather than fins on a HS) and then flows back to the other end where it is reheated and the whole process is started over. So it will also work better in this form since heat pipes rely on a temperature difference between the ends of the pipe, with the TEC it is not limited by the ambient temperature.
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
The TEC doesnt even trip 100% when im using it... it has to be forced.

While the i7 is certainly warm, I don't see how it could prove that much better on an i7 than say, my q9550 @ 3.94 (And it would be 4.0+ if I had cooling that could keep up). I idle anywhere from 40-50c and can easily hit loads of 60-65c with my current cooling with Orthos. With IBT I can jump right over 70c no problem.

Could you elaborate on the "forced" aspect, or is that still to be seen after the NDA is lifted.
 

Infantwar

n00b
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
45
Little chunk of info I got in my inbox today, FrozenCPU now has it up for preorder to ship Feb. 10th (states this is the product release date as well). Says 30 in stock right now for those of you deep-pocketed folks who want in. :cool:
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
Little chunk of info I got in my inbox today, FrozenCPU now has it up for preorder to ship Feb. 10th (states this is the product release date as well). Says 30 in stock right now for those of you deep-pocketed folks who want in. :cool:

damn, that stinks. They will all be long gone before enough data is in to justify the purchase :(.
 

Arcygenical

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
25,056
If you mean by "offcenter" by not being mounted right on the base, it's because the TEC is not on at all times and would hinder heat flow other wise.

The heat pipes are also moving heat, not cold, there is no such thing as "cold" but rather lack of heat. So it is removing heat from the heat pipes by the "cold" side of the TEC and moving it to the "hot" side where the last HS is so it can be dissipated. So the heat pipes are working just as they should, the fluid inside turns to vapor and moves to the cooler side of the tube, where it is cooled (in this case by a TEC rather than fins on a HS) and then flows back to the other end where it is reheated and the whole process is started over. So it will also work better in this form since heat pipes rely on a temperature difference between the ends of the pipe, with the TEC it is not limited by the ambient temperature.

I understand that cold is a lack of heat, however, the mechanics behind a heat pipe require phase change, where the solution inside the pipe vaporizes and condenses at the cold side of the tube - as you described. I would think it to be much less efficient to move heat, from the cpu contact plate, to the cold side of the TEC - compared to actually using the TEC to provide a colder hotplate temperature.

I understand that it's cooling the pipes, however, the use of a TEC as a "radiator" in this case has been debunked over and over in the WC world - the cooling power of a TEC is much less important than the surface temperature it creates... IE: A 150w TEC does a much better job directly in contact with a ~100w chip than it does cooling the water in the loop.

But, I hadn't thought about the fact that the thing's not always on - that definitely makes sense... Nothing like the air gaps in a TEC to insulate heat...
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
I understand that cold is a lack of heat, however, the mechanics behind a heat pipe require phase change, where the solution inside the pipe vaporizes and condenses at the cold side of the tube - as you described. I would think it to be much less efficient to move heat, from the cpu contact plate, to the cold side of the TEC - compared to actually using the TEC to provide a colder hotplate temperature.

I understand that it's cooling the pipes, however, the use of a TEC as a "radiator" in this case has been debunked over and over in the WC world - the cooling power of a TEC is much less important than the surface temperature it creates... IE: A 150w TEC does a much better job directly in contact with a ~100w chip than it does cooling the water in the loop.

But, I hadn't thought about the fact that the thing's not always on - that definitely makes sense... Nothing like the air gaps in a TEC to insulate heat...

It probably is less efficient, but it's probably cheaper also. In this form they get the use of of a low power TEC for that extra "kick" for lower temps wile using a "simple" thermal switch (I could be wrong on this, as I have not seen any info on the control system), rather than a high power (200W+) TEC with some kind of more advanced temp/dewpoint/relative humidity control system. Remember, they can always make a better cooler, but making a profit off of it at the same time is something else. ;)
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
Im quite perplexed right now... before... if i turned off the TEC my temps would go up. Now when i turn it off my Temps go down...
 

flak-spammer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
262
I wonder if the TEC is too low wattage to support the cooler under load. As it heats up it loses efficiency and the whole heatsink warms up. That could possibly explains the temps going up.
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
I wonder if the TEC is too low wattage to support the cooler under load. As it heats up it loses efficiency and the whole heatsink warms up. That could possibly explains the temps going up.

The weird thing is that i was able to get the TEC to work before... its weird. I dont know what changed.

Strike that the TEC doesnt appear to be making any difference at all. I think i know what happened. I think my ambients are slightly lower now than they were before and that could possibly not be triggering the TEC. I really dont know what to think at this point.
 

Motley

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,443
thanks russian for the info, I don't know if I can justify $139 for an i7 cooler if TEC has no effect, I'll wait for other reviews once it is released.
 

RussianHAXOR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
5,592
I don't think its that the tec has no effect. I don't think its being triggered just yet since a core of 42 probablly isn't going to create enough het to trigger the themal sensor by the tec cold plate in order to trigger the tec.
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
LMFAO thats pretty funny considering its a V10 TEC. :p

Now to only figure out what the heck happened to my TEC. (gotta love beta)

Sounds about right, it's big, heavy, all the cool stuff is covered in plastic, costs allot of money and then breaks before you get it home, maybe they should have called it Ferrari. :p ;) :D
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
Sounds about right, it's big, heavy, all the cool stuff is covered in plastic, costs allot of money and then breaks before you get it home, maybe they should have called it Ferrari. :p ;) :D

If I were to relate the things you just said to a car, it would be DSM's (Diamond star motors, for those familiar, Ie: GSX, TSI, VR4)
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
If I were to relate the things you just said to a car, it would be DSM's (Diamond star motors, for those familiar, Ie: GSX, TSI, VR4)

Can't think of any DSM that cost allot of money, and they were not to bad for reliability.
 

crawlgsx

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,252
Can't think of any DSM that cost allot of money, and they were not to bad for reliability.

Strange, I have had 3 DSM's (still have my 99 Black on black GSX) and have been on a DSM Forum for quite some time, and I don't know anyone on that board that would call a DSM reliable.

In the last ... 3-4 years, finding a DSM in NICE condition, costs you 2-3x blue book anyway, so I considered it relevant to the comparison.
 
Top