Control solenoid via USB

icoris

n00b
I'm working on a project and I need some way to be able to simulate a finger pushing a button with a computer. I want to do this using a USB interface.

Sooo I'm trying to figure out how I'd do this. I'm thinking right now some sort of USB controller like these and wiring a solenoid to work with it. I'm not really sure how I'd do that though, my expertise would be with programming everything and getting it all to sync up. I have limited engineering experience, but I'm okay with that ;) .

Will these kinds of controllers work with a solenoid? How would I wire it? Is there a cheaper way to do this because these phidgets seem pretty simple for how much they're charging. For the solenoid, I'm thinking something like these, probably the 1350 or 1632. I'm thinking a solenoid rather than a servo because they SHOULD be easier to program (just on or off) and they're cheaper, I can get more force out of them, but also the speed is VERY important, even a high speed servo (which are quite expensive) can't compare to a solenoid and I need the time between when the instruction to fire is called to when the system on the button's side receives the input to be minimal.

Not sure about the capabilities of the USB Spec/API etc, but you could always just cut in/out the VCC/GND (0V/+5V). Otherwise, data signalling (NRZI) over D+/D- to the servo using libusb or something.

Not sure about the capabilities of the USB Spec/API etc, but you could always just cut in/out the VCC/GND (0V/+5V). Otherwise, data signalling (NRZI) over D+/D- to the servo using libusb or something.