Console Headset

Eradan

[H]ard|Gawd
When I started playing Diablo 3 on the PS4 last week, the bass almost made my wife have a meltdown. We're movie nerds and she has no objections to the 5.2 setup with dual Outlaw subs cranked for movies. Gaming when she's home is no fun so I'm looking for a wireless headset to use for gaming. It seems like a lot of gaming headset are designed to connect directly to a given console.

Just wondering if anyone has been down this road and what you went with.

122039.jpg

PS4 gold headset is very affordable and actually quite good for a wireless headset. Works fine on PC/OSX as well.

The PS4 wireless headset is supposedly very good; I am using Microsoft's own headset for use with both the xbox one and the ps4. I like it because you can plug it directly into the controller so there's no long plug going directly to the console, but I find the head band hurts a bit on top of my head, and the earcups get a bit warm, but the sound quality on both consoles is very very good. It looks like in your picture that you're going to be sitting pretty far back so just make sure the cord length is enough.. Turtle Beach also makes a decent PS22 model (I think?) it has separate game and chat volume controls on the headset but is plugged into the console directly...hth

Good luck

Philip

Would like to have something that will work with both consoles through my receiver. Anyone doing anything like that?

The only one I know, that can connect to both consoles is SteelSeries H Wireless. It's pricey though. You can also try Tiamat 7.1, but Tiamat doesn't have optical port, so you need to find someway to connect console to the 3,5 MM jacks from that headset.

H Wireless work with optical sound, and can be connected to pad for voice comm (in Xbox - never tried it on PS4)
http://steelseries.com/products/audio/steelseries-h-wireless