Computer reboots or black screens when game is launched. PSU or GPU issue?

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Archaea, Sep 28, 2019.

  1. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    On eBay I sold a fellow a 1080TI that I got refurbished direct from Zotac.

    I didn't use the card first other than to do a 3DMark 20 minute stress test in my gaming machine to make sure it worked before I sent it out. It passed just fine as expected. I boxed it back up and sent it to the guy.

    He reached out to me and told me there was a problem that anytime he tried to launch a game his PC locks up, or goes to a black screen and has to be restarted. He opened up a return eBay claim, and I reached out to him and asked if we could talk first to troubleshoot the problem. In the meantime he closed the return claim stating he took the PC to his local computer store and they said it wasn't the video card and they got it working. I reached back out to him and asked if it was his powersupply out of curiosity. He said the problem was still there, and the computer store didn't actually fix it, they just thought they did - but since he got the machine back it hasn't worked.

    We facetimed and he showed me the issue on Epic Fortnight. He said he originally had a 500 watt psu with a 2060, but that wouldn’t handle the 1080Ti card, so he bought a brand new 750 watt EVGA power supply (he bought on amazon) powering an AMD Ryzen 2600 watt system. I had him download CPU-ID powerMAX stress test and his CPU doesn't lock up when it is tested on 1 minute AVX test -- but the powerMAX GPU stress test locks up his PC in less than 1 minute.

    Either the video card went bad, or the Power Supply can't handle the extra power draw of the 1080TI at load is my guess? At idle the PC works just fine for everything. When you launch a game within 30 seconds it'll lock up. I've never heard of a video card that works fine, boots fine, works fine for desktop use, but locks up when you go to a game --- unless it isn't getting sufficient power - so that would indicate Power Supply to me - especially since I tested it successfully before I sent it. However, I'm not trying to leave a guy hanging, and if it's the video card that is bad I'll take it back. EVGA is a good brand PSU, and 750 watts should be more than enough for that system - so it would have to be a faulty PSU or that should have been sufficient. He doesn't have extra parts to test with, and no local friend to swap hardware with(and he already sold off his 2060). He's going to try to take it back to that computer store and see what they say. Otherwise I told him he could just return the video card to me for a full refund, though he may have the same problem with another card if it is the power supply.

    FWIW - temps seem fine for both CPU and Video Card before the lock up occurs -- we were monitoring them with powerMAX and CPUID's hardware monitoring software.

    Your thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2019
  2. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,349
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    since the card is refurbished, that would be the prime suspect
     
  3. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Gawd

    Messages:
    513
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Id say its probably gpu as well but you really wont be certain until you can test it yourself. I had a evga gtx580 that had the same problem. Worked fine in desktop but as soon as it was loaded, game,heaven,3dmark, anything. it would either artifact until the entire screen was nothing but artifacts then freeze or just crash right off. It was wced its entire life and never oced. never saw temps above 55c. I tried everything from swapping rigs to the baking trick but nothing helped. Couldnt find anything wrong with the pcb etc. Externally it looked new. It ended up dying completely a few weeks later.
     
  4. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,892
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I experienced that earlier this year with my 1080ti and EVGA 850 watt PSU and it turned out to be the PSU.
    Furmark and 3D Mark wouldn't crash the machine but loading up a game the machine would black screen and restart after a minute or so.

    This message popped up on my system on one of the reboots.
    IMG_3212.JPG

    Installed a Corsair 750 watt unit and everything ran perfect.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2019
    Armenius likes this.
  5. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,892
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I am actually working on a friends PC with a Threadripper and 1080ti and it hard locks in games, some after a few minutes and Overwatch was able to run for quite awhile before locking up.
    I already swapped the PSU on his and ran my 1080ti in his machine and it does the same.
    3D Mark and Furmark also don't crash his PC. It's a pain trying to figure out what is causing the issue.
     
  6. DooKey

    DooKey [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,105
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Ask him if he can hit Best Buy and pick up a different PSU. If the machine still reboots he can take it back for a refund. If not, he figured out the problem.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  7. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    And may as well get a 850 as well...it's what I did lol
     
  8. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,690
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    EVGA makes good power supplies and 750W should be enough.

    I had a similar problem when I first got my 2080 Ti. Well, I had a bunch of problems (and 1 RMA) but in the end it was a RAM overclock.

    I have pretty fast RAM here and was using the XMP at 4333, which worked for months on a GTX 1080 card.

    But with the 2080 Ti I was getting frequent crash to desktop and lockups after a few minutes in any game. I tried everything.

    In the end I reset BIOS, and after resuming tweaking I found it was the RAM overclock that was causing the issue. With default 2666 there were no problems at all.

    Have your guy reset BIOS to default and see if that helps. Eventually I set my RAM back to 4333 and it's working now but I can't remember what else I tweaked.
     
  9. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    i agree under clocking and relaxing the timings of the ram is reasonable idea i always try
     
    Armenius and cybereality like this.
  10. purple_monster

    purple_monster Gawd

    Messages:
    548
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    facetime? time to refund this guy before he murders you are my thoughts!
     
  11. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    new update.

    The customer is a young guy, he wasn't able to do any further testing this week and just got back with me today - despite telling me he'd reach out mid week with an update. He asked if he could just return it. I said sure. I asked him to open the case back up with eBay to return the item. he calls back and says eBay won't let me open the case because he already closed the first case saying he was satisfied with the product and the card wasn't a problem (as the computer shop told him). I said okay, I'll call eBay and see if I can open up the return. eBay told me neither of us could open the return again because it had already been closed, so I was still going to be charged $30 Final Value Fee and $14 fee from paypal. The eBay CSR said I could just organize the return behind the scenes, but I wouldn't get FVF credit with eBay and it wouldn't be protected by eBay seller's protection. I have 526 feedback 100% positive score on eBay.

    So I noted to the customer that I had tried to reach out to him twice via message through the eBay console when he opened the case, and he had not responded, and I'd provided my phone number and asked for a call, yet he had closed the original case without reaching back out to me. Therefore I told him I didn't think I was willing to eat the FVF, but that I would pay for his return shipping, just like I would have if he had left the case open - and when I got the card back, then I'd refund him all but the Final Value Fee.

    I still have the suspicion it's not the card - but that's about the best I can do to make the buyer as whole as possible, but not be screwed over myself.

    I hold all the cards. I could walk away from this thing because eBay and paypal won't help him. I'm not going to do that. I'd like to make it optimal for him - but I don't want to be hung out to wash either - losing $40 to ship both ways, losing $45 to ebay and paypal fees, and then ?maybe? having to pay to ship to Zotac for RMA (depending on if the card was wrecked by originally having it connected to a 500 watt power supply --- or if it just failed or who knows)

    All I know is the card was tested before I sent it, looked to be in perfect condition and I didn't expect any problems. eBay's clumsy one size fits all system isn't working for us here.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
    Armenius and AceGoober like this.
  12. rmfa

    rmfa [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Same here but 850. This was after many many nights of swapping video cards and settings. It turned out it was power all along.
     
    AceGoober and Armenius like this.
  13. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,593
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    I run the PC in my sig on 750W.
     
  14. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,600
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    It's usually power supplies or ram
    Sometimes motherboard.

    Problem with fleabay is that you can assure yourself that you are selling to completely computer inept idiots.

    At least in HardF you're almost guaranteed that the buyer has significantly more PC know how than ebay.

    Just refund his shit, test the shit out the card, document it with proof, sell it here.

    GPU's if priced right on [H] sell like cocaine. I've had GPU's vaporize in 10 minutes selling them here they went so fast lol for lack of a better analogy.
     
    AceGoober, trixdout and DrezKill like this.
  15. somebrains

    somebrains Gawd

    Messages:
    740
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    I use an evga 1200p2 now bc Vega and 1080ti would black screen or not boot with an older seasonic 850.
     
  16. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,600
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Yeah I use a Corsair Ax1200i on 2080ti and hx1000i on 5700xt

    But my 2080ti has been crashing a lot and I might have to warranty the thing with Microcenter but just not sure.
     
  17. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,690
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    I had the same Corsair PSU (AX1500i I think) when I got my 2080 Ti, and people on Reddit were saying the 2080 Ti was incompatible with the PSU.

    I can't recall the exact problem, something about the PSU being digital or something on the rails. I got a EVGA PSU and things were better (I still had to tweak my CPU/RAM OC to get things working).
     
  18. somebrains

    somebrains Gawd

    Messages:
    740
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    ^ things pop up, and we are enthusiasts that all recollect some psu fact most people never heard of.
    They see a #, and think that’s all they have to worry about......then the threads start after trouble hits.

    I just look at it as a reminder to respect my psu.
    Most of the time I don’t even register it being as important as it is until my next gpu Fs everything up.
    In fact I’ll read more about every other component in a build and totally ignore psu evolution or problems until I have a show stopper.
     
  19. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,690
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Yeah, after several lessons, I don't cheap out on the PSU anymore. I also realized that a larger wattage does not necessarily mean better quality.

    But the issue I'm talking about, there was no way to foresee that, I never had a problem with the Corsair PSU before that.
     
    Armenius and Maddness like this.
  20. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,381
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Sucks. I've used Ebay a lot and I've learned a lot of lessons the hard way. I try to help people when I can and see you do as well. Sometimes there's just not much to do sadly, this seems like it might apply here unless you want to be very gracious and take the financial hit.
     
  21. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Got the card back tonight. Looks to be in equal shape to the way I sent it and verified the same serial number (I’m pleasantly surprised buyer doesn’t appear to be scamming me after some knucklehead buyer interactions on eBay lately). Boots right up in my gaming machine with a Corsair RM1000X PSU. Time to stress test and see how she does.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  22. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Zotac card is bad. It won’t pass the 3dmark stress tests now that it did pass before I originally shipped it. My machine reboots in about 30 seconds of stress test or 3D bit works fine in 2d just like his machine was behaving. I feel bad for the hassle it caused my buyer. That surely wasn’t my intent. :(

    Back to Zotac for RMA service it goes tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
    Armenius, Ranulfo and cybereality like this.
  23. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,690
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Yeah, it happens. At least it wasn't a scam.
     
  24. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    yea i kinda figured that was very possible....some of these company's send out half working cards for rmas that dont last long