Cloned to NVMe - Booting Problems

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by brncao, Dec 7, 2019.

  1. brncao

    brncao Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    I had cloned my Samsung 840 SSD (Windows 10) to a Samsung 960 EVO.

    The BIOS from Asrock Z77 Extreme6 has been flashed to 2.90, which supports NVMe. In the BIOS settings, I have set the NVMe SSD as boot #1. However, the BIOS is not detecting Windows 10 on the 960 SSD. I tried doing bootrec to fix the mbr and what not, but still get the same message "Reboot and select proper boot device."

    Any ideas?
     
  2. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,099
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    try with one SSD connected
     
  3. brncao

    brncao Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    The 840 SSD boots up fine.
     
  4. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,099
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    i would clone the 960 evo than start it up alone. Once your in windows i would then format the 840. not till you are actually in windows would i connect 2 drives at the same time. i have seen too many issues with cloning drives and trying to boot the new and old drive together
     
  5. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,242
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Did you clone the entire device, or just the “C drive”? There’s an EFD partition that contains the boot loader and bcd store that needs to be present on the selected boot device.

    (assuming your booting in UEFI mode with a GPT formatted device).
     
    KarsusTG likes this.
  6. brncao

    brncao Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    The entire disk was cloned. 840 is formatted as MBR. Maybe I should convert the 960 to GPT?
     
  7. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,438
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Generally speaking, if the SSD has been fitted back into the same hardware as the original SSD this shouldn't be an issue. Does your motherboard have some form of legacy bios option? Otherwise MBR2GPT.
     
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    what did you clone with? maybe try something else, like backerupper. it always works for me.
     
  9. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    17,155
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I've been using Paragons' Migrate OS to SSD since 2012 and only had 2 issues booting out of probably 200 migrations since.
    It's a paid program though and is part of their Hard Disk Suite now. Was a separate program for $20 a few years back.

    Used it a couple of weeks ago to copy my friends OS to a spare SSD, and then I copied it from the spare SSD to this new NVME drive.
    IMG_3844.JPG
     
  10. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,438
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    You always buy Samsung SSD's and make use of their free data migration software - Works a treat.
     
    mikedamirault, dvsman and AltTabbins like this.
  11. brncao

    brncao Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Converting to GPT didn't work. Installing the Samsung NVMe Controller drivers on the 840 and then cloning it didn't do anything.

    I used Minitool to clone the disk.

    I'll try Samsung's migration tool to see if that works.

    EDIT: Samsung's migration tool didn't work. I'll test it on my brother's PC. His mobo is Z97, which supports NVMe natively. If it works on his, then it boils down to my mobo's BIOS having problems supporting NVMe.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
  12. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,132
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Most likely you need to reinstall windows if you want the nvme drive to work.
     
  13. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,942
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    The first boot device needs to be Windows Boot Manager. But it sounds like you changed from a SATA device to a PCIE device which means the boot manager probably needs repair.

    Disconnect the old device, leaving the new device connected. Boot to the Windows Setup (iso) and on the language screen press next, then in the lower left of the window press Repair your computer ->Troubleshoot ->Advanced -> Startup repair
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  14. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,460
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    ^^^ good point, try that.
     
  15. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,132
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    The OP said he already used bootrec which IIRC is what startup repair does.
     
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  16. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,438
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Which is about as much as sfc /scannow does. So essentially - Very little. ;)
     
  17. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,942
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    There may be other things that it does. It works well and he should absolutely try it.
     
  18. brncao

    brncao Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    I'll have to try this again over the weekend. The plan is to install Windows 10 and/or Linux from a clean slate on the 960 and see how the system responds. We'll see if it's an issue with the BIOS or the boot partition.
     
    B00nie likes this.
  19. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,132
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Just remember to install windows first and then linux if you plan to dual boot. Linux can handle a windows install but a windows setup will delete a linux.
     
    Mazzspeed likes this.
  20. brncao

    brncao Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Just to update you guys, the BIOS doesn't support booting from it according to Windows.
     
  21. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,438
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Is this m.2 interface built into the board or is it a m.2 > pcie adapter?