Cheap Net Browsing/Word Proccessing Rig

paintb4707

Limp Gawd
Well, I plan to build a cheap pc for my sister in need for christmas. Right now she has like a 200mhz HP machine and I feel incredibley sorry for her. My budget is around 300 give or take shipping. I have no experience what so ever with cheap hardware so I could use some suggestions. I chose microatx because it is overall cheaper and she doesnt have much room anyways.

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/WishList/WishShareShow.asp?ID=1783878&WishListTitle=jenpc

Thanks

When I read your post, I went straight to finding the best budget stuff I knew of - Athlon XP-based. Surprisingly, they never dropped the price of the 2500+ Barton CPU so I went to the next best set up. Either way, here is the components:

Basic Budget Workstation:

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157022
Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819104210

Your RAM and DVD Burner choices are all good.

The hard drive is a waste - The price isn't good and the DiamondMax 8 has huge issues too. Go for the next best of 80 GB drives. The case is OK but not the power supply. You're better off getting a Sonata case of a simple $100 investment that includes a qualified PSU.

BTW, I would really recommend you to buy parts from the FS/T section. You'll save a bunch, really.

-J.

Ah, forgot about those Dell machines. I recommend either that or the FS/T section.

-J.

Thanks for the suggestions. I think buying an OEM is out of the question though. I rather not deal with proprietary crap.

And how about just buying a seperate psu? The sonata seems out of my budget and incredibley fugly for the price.

**list updated however**

You can go to 754 cheaper than Socket A.

For example, you posted:

AMD Sempron 2400+ Thoroughbred 333MHz FSB Socket A Processor Model SDA2400BOX - Retail
$84.00

but you could get the: