CCNA + ?

s0ldier93

Limp Gawd
Hello all-

I have a (military) background in aviation electronics. I graduated from an extended campus (military base) of Embry-Riddle with a 4 year degree and two minors. On a side note, I am only a private pilot. My degree qualifies me for a job in airport management, not 747 piloting. :( I won't get into my electronics based day job for fear of making this a rant.

I will be starting the CCNA classes here ( http://centralgatech.edu/catalog/section6/it.htm Note: check the IT certificates at the bottom) in March. Also, I'm working with just under 1.5 years worth of career changing time. (PM for any needed details on my sob story/strange life) I originally considered using my extra time/money to take the Linux/UNIX classes in parallel for a Linux cert.

I have a 1.5 year ticking clock, a great ability to study, learn, and take tests (Go Navy!!), and an unrelated degree with no IT experience. My question is this: Should I use my extra time and resources on the Linux/UNIX classes or one of the other programs? Maybe the MCSE? Finally, if so encouraged, I could possibly pull off 3 programs.

The results of these classes/certs will be a dramatic career change. I know that I will not start off making top dollar, or even middle dollar given the above information. I'm mostly looking for the most bang for my upcoming time in school.

Interesting. My opinion would be to try to get your foot in the door now. See if you can get a networking position, even if it is part-time. From what I have learned, companies value experience over certifications. If you can go into an interview and say that you have your CCNA, that is good. However, if you can go into an interview and provide your certification, along with a list of all of the real-world situations where you applied your skills, that will be even better.