Cat 6 crimper and terminals

Joust

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
4,913
I've run cat6 all over my house, and now I have to terminate them in plates, and make additional lengths to get from the wall plates to my switching gear.

Anyone have a recommendation for a cat6 tool and ends?
 

Master_shake_

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
17,795
look for smart rj45 stuff.

way easier than the old way.

like this

41jjLiPUwkL._SX425_.jpg


the tool crimps and cuts off excess.
 

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,845
Most of the wall plate terminals are punch down with a small plastic tool like this into the wall plate terminal, these don't need a crimper and any brand is likely fine:
s-l300.png


For the wall to switch, buy some patch cables of appropriate length, or if you just really want to make your own custom length ones any standard crimper will do. Theres not enough cables unless you got a mansion to matter IMO.

Here's the cheap'o kit I got, it works just fine for small jobs, comes with everything you need including a cable tester: https://www.amazon.com/UbiGear-Crimper-Connector-Network-Crimper315/dp/B072JW27Q1/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=rj45+crimper+kit&qid=1549666997&refinements=p_72:2661618011&rnid=2661617011&sr=8-2&th=1
 

Richneerd

Gawd
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
628
Most of the wall plate terminals are punch down with a small plastic tool like this into the wall plate terminal, these don't need a crimper and any brand is likely fine:
View attachment 140625

For the wall to switch, buy some patch cables of appropriate length, or if you just really want to make your own custom length ones any standard crimper will do. Theres not enough cables unless you got a mansion to matter IMO.

Here's the cheap'o kit I got, it works just fine for small jobs, comes with everything you need including a cable tester: https://www.amazon.com/UbiGear-Crimper-Connector-Network-Crimper315/dp/B072JW27Q1/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=rj45+crimper+kit&qid=1549666997&refinements=p_72:2661618011&rnid=2661617011&sr=8-2&th=1

I recommend this, I did the same throughout my whole house with CAT6A, for 10GbE.

Glorious speeds in every room!

Enjoy!
 

Joust

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 30, 2017
Messages
4,913
Thank you all for the information. I need to make probably 20 or so cables. I will have a lot of cable left over after I finish wiring, so I'd like to use it.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,406
One other thing is if you want 10Gb you need to keep the unwinding of the pairs to an absolute minimum.
 

acquacow

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
448
One other thing is if you want 10Gb you need to keep the unwinding of the pairs to an absolute minimum.

You can run 10gigE 50+ft over old cat5 (not even cat5e) and it still syncs even with shitty crimps. You don't have to be super exact with it.

153 days running 10gige on cat5 I found on the roof of a building in a soaking wet cardboard box in 2001... zero transmission errors:
svjb9Kb.png



As for cat6, I just use my normal cat5 crimper and cat5 terminal ends.

Works fine.
 
Last edited:

EniGmA1987

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
429
Thats one of those thing where "just because you can, doesnt mean you should", and definitely shouldnt be telling others to go and do.
 

acquacow

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
448
It's one of those things where, if it ain't broken, don't wast money on fancy stuff that isn't necessary.

I've been pulling cable in datacenters and building high-speed networked systems for 18 years now. I might have some relevant experience.
 

Master_shake_

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 9, 2012
Messages
17,795
You can run 10gigE 50+ft over old cat5 (not even cat5e) and it still syncs even with shitty crimps. You don't have to be super exact with it.

153 days running 10gige on cat5 I found on the roof of a building in a soaking wet cardboard box in 2001... zero transmission errors:
View attachment 140652


As for cat6, I just use my normal cat5 crimper and cat5 terminal ends.

Works fine.

good enough networking level:expert.
 

Dead Parrot

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
2,831
Thank you all for the information. I need to make probably 20 or so cables. I will have a lot of cable left over after I finish wiring, so I'd like to use it.

Keep some wire as spare with spare ends. No matter how carefully planned your network setup, actual usage will find some need for changes.
 
Top