Career Change to Database work, looking for advice

Operaghost

[H]ard|Gawd
I'm 31 years old. I've worked in a kitchen all my life. I've realized recently that the ceiling in my current industry is too low and I need to earn more money if I'm ever going to send my daughter to college.

So I've decided to make a career change. I've always found IT intriguing and fancy myself somewhat a novice when it comes to the ins and outs of computers, networking, and technology in general.

I'm thinking about getting into database design, security and eventually admin. The problem is I have zero work experience in the field in the last decade. My last related job was working in a call center to support satellite clients for Hughs Networks Systems, but I was a punk kid back then.

I'm basically looking for advice on what type of a degree I should pursue. What type of entry level job should I expect to be attainable once I receive said degree. Is there anything I can do in the meantime to help get my foot in the door once I'm ready to hunt for a new job?

Any and all advice or feedback is welcome, these are uncharted waters for me.

First, switch your order. You don't do design and then eventually admin. :) You do admin and then eventually design.

The first question is do you have a degree to begin with? If so then it isn't worth getting another one. If you don't have a degree already then one in general IT, or systems administration would be fine. Alternatively just get a business degree and take a few DB classes on the side and pursue an MCITP MS SQL 2010 or Oracle cert.