Can't connect to Server 2008 via Server Manager on Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by AMD_Gamer, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    I have install the administration toolpack on Windows 7 and enabled remote connections on my server 2008 box, When i try and connect with my Windows 7 server manager it does not work.

    I see stuff on google about enabling a trustedhost with winrm but can't find a way to do this.

    this seem more difficult than it should be?

    this is what I keep getting

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011
  2. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    edit, I was wrong. https requires a non self signed cert


    do the following in powershell, this is for powershell remoteing but it does the winrm stuff as well:

    on the server:
    Code:
    Enable-PSRemoting –force
    on the client:
    Code:
    Start-Service WinRM
    Set-ItemProperty –Path HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System –Name  LocalAccountTokenFilterPolicy –Value 1 –Type DWord
    Set-Item WSMan:\localhost\Client\TrustedHosts &#8211;Value <ServerName> -Force -Concatenate 
    
    Be warned that this is very insecure.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011
  3. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    gives me some error about not being setup for certificates

    this is in a workgroup
     
  4. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    I just edited my post, after some reading I saw the cert requirement. And since you can not use self-signed certs thats out of the picture too.
     
  5. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Enable-PSRemoting –force is not recognized


    why is this so hard? is this just because I am in a workgroup situation? i would figure using the remote admin tools should be very easy.
     
  6. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Oh you said 2008 not 2008 r2, meaning you are probably not using powershell v2 on the server.

    on the server try:
    Code:
    winrm quickconfig
    on the client keep those commands the same

    And yes this is because you are in a workgroup. Out of the box this sort of remoting is not supported in a workgroup as you dont have a central authentication model.
     
  7. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    i did that earlier, with no luck, should i still do those other commands on the client?

    there must be a more simple way to do this
     
  8. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    those commands do not work on the client either
     
  9. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Those commands should work. You need to run powershell as an elevated process. if they dont work after that paste the output.
     
  10. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    this is what i followed before with no luck,

     
  11. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    ok i did it in powershell and now the second command says that the < operator is reserved for future use at line 1 char 55
     
  12. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    sorry, dont include the <>. also how are you connecting to the server by ip, or name.
     
  13. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    ok i replaced that with the ip address of my server box and still no luck:(
     
  14. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    what is the output of

    winrm enumerate winrm/config/listener

    on the server
     
  15. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
  16. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    You have me curious enough to actually try this at home where a workgroup actually exists. Ill report back later.
     
  17. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    wow thanks a lot man. I guess i am stuck with remote desktop for now.

    I was planning on installing the standalone Hyper-V server tonight, will I have this same problem connecting to it with the remote admin tools? How will i be able to admin that?
     
  18. xenios

    xenios Gawd

    Messages:
    992
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Ok, I got it all working. I spent alot of time trying to do it via self signed ssl certs and thats is not going to work. Non self signed certs do work but you probably do not have the means to make one. So here is what worked for me on unsecured http.

    Make sure both computers have a common username / password

    on your machine:
    Code:
    winrm set winrm/config/client @{TrustedHosts="ip of the server"}
    
    on the server
    Code:
    winrm quickconfig
    
    Thats all i did and it worked (basically what both of us posted before). you need to make sure if you use the ip to connect you use the ip for trustedhosts.
     
  19. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,291
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    i did that stuff before:confused:


    anyways I am installing hyper v server now, hopefully I don't have the same problem.