Cannot get my 3200Mhz RAM to run at 3200

SLP Firehawk

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
98
My RAM is 3200MHz RAM but seems to only run at 2666Mhz.
See pic (left side of screen, DRAM status 2666Mhz)
ASUS3.JPG

I do not know how to get it to 3200.
Here is my RAM:
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-128gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232965?Item=N82E16820232965
It is approved CVL RAM 128GB at 3200.
My Motherboard is ASUS Prime TRX40-Pro.
Latest BIOS.
Here are more screens that may be helpful.
As you will see I changed it to 3200 but it still shows 2666 on DRAM status on the main BIOS screen, though it says 3200 everywhere else
 

Attachments

Azrak

Gawd
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
948
According to ASUS1.JPG screenshot you posted, your memory IS running at 3200 MHz:
1589072284436.png


As pendragon1 said, that RAM Status might be just reporting JDEC speeds, not actual speeds.

However, it also says the memory is running at 1.20 Volts. I'm surprised it's even booting at that low voltage.
You need to change the DDR4 CHAB and CHCD voltages to 1.35V in the BIOS per the G.Skill memory specs in order to have any stability at 3200 MHz.
Scroll down in your BIOS settings and find the DDR4 voltage settings. They are probably set to "Auto" or "1.20V" now. Change to 1.35V. Hit F10, Save and reboot. Then go back into BIOS and double check memory speeds and voltages again.
 

bigdogchris

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
18,167
Back on your AI Overclock screen change it from Auto to DOCP. That will load the XMP spec.

I do see that memory is on the QVL so you should be good.
 
Last edited:

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,861
Memory clock = 1597.1mhz ~= 1600 then multiply it by 2 (DDR) = 3200.

It seems to be running at very loose timings though (22-22-22-52).

Check ASUS1.JPG -- the field that is highlighted AI Overclock Tuner.

Set that field to DOCP Standard or whatever is close to that then get back to us with the same HWInfo screenshot.
 

SLP Firehawk

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
98
I changed the OC tuner to DOCP F10 reboot. It changed several setting automatically including 1.35v. I saved a screen shot of the changes it made.
It now shows voltages at 1.35 but the DRAM status is still 2666 on the main screen
I believe the RAM timings now are what the RAM specs listed on the RAM site and QVL
 

Attachments

Azrak

Gawd
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
948
I changed the OC tuner to DOCP F10 reboot. It changed several setting automatically including 1.35v. I saved a screen shot of the changes it made.
It now shows voltages at 1.35 but the DRAM status is still 2666 on the main screen
Perfect. Your memory is now running at 3200 MHz and 1.35V and has the correct XMP/DOCP timings of 16-18-18-38, which is exactly what the memory has been designed and tested to run at.

The main screen is showing DRAM Status 2666 because that is simply the default JDEC memory standard programmed into the RAM sticks. Ignore it. Think of it as a label or sticker. It is NOT showing the actual speed that the memory is running at. DDR4 is "officially" a 2666 MHz device. Everything else is "overclocking". Edit: It's just what was programmed into the memory stick default JDEC profile for this set of memory sticks.

The actual memory speeds and voltages that the motherboard is using are shown here:
1589081433803.png

It says 3200 MHz and 1.35V, which is exactly correct.

The final proof is here in your HWiNFO report:
1589081587955.png

1. It says Clock "1597.1 MHz" (1600 MHz) which means the memory is actually running at 3200 MHz because it's DDR (double data rate) memory.
2. The Timing is 16-18-18-38 which are the correct timings for XMP mode (aka DOCP in AMD's terms). This is exactly what the memory is designed for.

Now, go download Memtest86, throw it on a USB flash drive and boot off the USB drive and let it test your RAM for a few hours. You can boot from a USB flash drive from the BIOS Boot menu/tab shown below (or there might be a F-key (F8 maybe?) you can hit during boot to choose the boot device):
1589082030722.png
 

Attachments

SLP Firehawk

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
98
You guys are so awesome! This is a great site. I would never figure this stuff out if not for you.
You guys helped more than ASUS tech. I contacted them prior to posting this thread but the response I got didn't look too assuring so I figured I better check on here with you guys and you guys figured it out right away.
I downloaded memtest86. Looks like a great tool I'll run it later because I started another render earlier that will run through the night
 

SLP Firehawk

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
98
It is interesting that 3200Mhz for 3200Mhz RAM is considered "overclocked" since it's really manufactured as 3200 and not overclocked. The PC builder said basically what you said the other day when I asked them.
I see what you say about it being labelled or classified etc as 2666 type and 3200 being considered an overclock speed
 

limitedaccess

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
7,587
The memory chips themselves are likely manufactured as DDR4 2666C19 @ 1.20V, which follows the JEDEC standard. These chips are binned and taken by the manufacturer (Gskill in this case) and set to run at 3200C16 @1.35V as an option. That's just how the DIY memory market works, all those kits you see are overclocks validated by the kit manufacturer.
 
Top