Can PS3 do MSAA without the use of Quincunx?

Just curious because I have been reading up on some PS3 games that use what is referred to as MSAA Quincunx. Does this mean that MSAA is used in addition to Quincunx or is it just a longer special name for the PS3's version of Xbox's AA? It doesn't make sense to me that they would use Quincunx in addition to MSAA because I thought Quincunx would blurs the game.

I am no expert so take this how you will. It was my understanding that quincunx just referred to the 5 point pattern pixel filter that is being used. Quincunx is a old word, not something new. And by Xbox's AA, I hope you aren't confusing MSAA with Microsoft AA, as it is not. Its multisample.

So afaik Quincunx AA is just 2x anti-aliasing using the 5point blur filter instead of the standard methods. Quincunx does blur things, but from the comparison screenies I have seen it's not that big of a deal, at least to me, as neither console looks that great compared to PC anyway. I don't think I would notice the slightly blurred edges/lower looking textures, especially when it makes more of the jaggies go away. Less jaggies but a bit less sharpness is all I see. No big deal, imo.

Ok I'm a noob when it comes to graphics. I just stumbled upon the term Quincunx on Eurogamer when looking at PS3/ 360 comparisons for Midnight Club LA and just had no idea how both consoles compared to each other when it comes to teh jaggies.

I didn't get to compare similar titles, but my 360 looks pretty crappy on a large lcd as far as jaggies were concerned and my buddies ps3 didn't really seem to do too much better either. Then again, as I mentioned, I mostly use the PC and only occasionally the consoles so their jaggies stand out to me no matter which console.