Can I get hacked if someones knows my ip adress ?

Saint

Limp Gawd
The reason im asking is one im a noob with security and two I have been threatened many times. I play Halo alot on the internet and host alot of games. While in a game you can see the ip of the server your on. I have had people who get mad cause I beat them threten to hack me and stuff. They say like I know your ip im going to hack you. My question is am I really at risk or are they just mad idiots. I dont even know how they would do it. I mean what can you do with an ip if my dsl modem has a firewall. Should I take these threats seriously or not.

Short answer, no...for the most part.

IF you are relatively secure (behind a firewall/router, are fully patched, run anti-virus/spyware tools, etc) then you should be fine. Most guys are either not compentent enough to get through those defenses or aren't willing to take the time.

Now there are serious crackers out there who could do it if they dedicated themselves, but these guys are exceedingly rare and are spending their time doing more worthwhile things that make them big $$.

So generally if you hear that some |337 D00z is going to haX0r j00, it is a load of horseshit.

If possible configuring a hardware firewall, whether it be router with built in function or something like ipcop or smoothwall to act as your firewall. As always make sure you have password on all of your user accounts, make sure they meet complexity requirements and verify it is not a dictionary word. google turning off the LMhash if youre extra paranoid, hopefully youre running xp pro and you can encrypt your drive as well. Turn of unecessary services, if you dont need it turn off file and print sharing etc.

generally though most of the threats youre gonna get from people on games reach the point of them doing a port scan and then not having a clue of what to do.