Buy an EVGA GTX 780 today, Step-Up to GTX 980 in October/November?

Zero Cool

Limp Gawd
Hey Everyone,

I've got a 10% off coupon and $180 gift card to Best Buy which means I could pick up an EVGA GTX 780 SC today for $292 out of pocket. I know the new GTX 980s are due out in the next month or two but I don't want to wait that long to play games. Do you think if I were to buy this card today, EVGA would allow me to use the Step-Up program before November 29th to upgrade to a GTX 980? I've never used the service before and I don't know if new cards are added right away, or if it takes a while. I just sold my 780 Ti for $650 and I figured why not since I paid less than that for it when I bought it. What do you guys think? Has anyone here used the Step-Up program and do you think November 29th will be long enough for them to offer the 980s in trade? Thanks very much!

Yeah, you can. You have 90 days from the day you bought your current GPU to apply for step up. IIRC EVGA offered step ups on the 680 and 780 on day one of release in limited qtys, but they both had wait periods due to limited quantities. They with-hold a certain number of GPUs specifically for step up, and it's not always a lot. If you're okay with that, and assuming that the 980 is releasing in 2 weeks as rumored (seems very likely), then I don't see why you wouldn't be able to. You'd be well within the 90 days from purchase to apply for step up.

The only wild card is how long you'd have to wait in queue to get the 980. I'd say apply ASAP for step up as soon as the 980 is released to increase your odds if you decide to do it. Then again, if you bought it from best buy. You could just get a refund within your 30 day window if Best Buy allows it? And then use the refund to buy a 980? I dunno, you could go either way.