building my very first PC and need your help!

jc6699

Weaksauce
I want to build a PC mostly for gaming and I need to go for a simple easy build since it's my first attempt at building my own pc. No overclocking and no worys about if everything will be compadable. I so far picked up a q9450 and 1 9800gx2 and a coolermaster cosmos s. I need EVERYTHING else :)

Display... maybe 30" dell or gateway?
motherboard... I may go for 2 9800gx2
memory... I saw ocz sli ready ram, do I need special ram for 2 gx2's?
psu...how much power will I need?
hdd... I dont download much as far as music and videos go so I guess I need something fast for games?

not sure if I missed anything else I'll need but again my goal if possible is an easy build. thanks in advance!

well, really the minimum you should need PSU wise is a 750W i'd say...

display, definately a dell or maybe even an apple 30"er if you felt like it.

1 9800GX2 should be enough really, but if you feel like you need or might need 2, you will need a motherboard with an nvidia chipset. This means at least a 750i, but maybe a 780i or 790i ULTRA... The 790i ultra is the highest end board at the moment, but it does require DDR3 memory, which can be very expensive...

you don't really need special ram for SLI, but if you felt like it, you could. just remember, that if you do go for 4Gb of ram, you will need a 64 bit OS, to fully utilise the 4GB (or more), but do be carefull, you may have to install the OS with only 1 stick of ram, sometimes they don't like lots of ram.

HDD wise, i suggest the new WD drives if you can get them, 320GB per platter, wheras the older drives had to have 2 platters to get 320GB. These drives are quite quick but otherwise you might consider a 150GB raptor or 4 in a RAID 0 for the OS (more drives = quicker) and a 1tb drive or 2 for backups...