Building a file server for a client... need advice.

XeeN

Limp Gawd
Hi all. I've been reading this forum for a while to see if any similar threads showed up, and I'll be doing more searches to see what others have done in the past. I'd like some advice.

A client of mine is a photographer who wants to increase his storage. He also wants to keep his data backed-up or safe with whatever would be the best option. He's thought about RAID 5 and I did some research into that and read here on the forums a bit, but don't know how the data is kept safe. I'm wondering if having drives mirrored would be safer, or if RAID 5 corrects some data corruption. I suppose that's one question.

The main point of this post is to figure out what the best options are for a file server.

1. I have no experience in Linux and would prefer to have the file server run Windows Server 2003 or just simple XP. Is there a dramatic improvement in using Windows Server instead of XP?

2. Data transfer method: would a gigabit LAN be the best option, or is there some fiber-optic option that's better?

3. CPU/Mobo/Memory needs: obviously a dual-P3 motherboard could work out but I'd prefer to get him on a Core Duo or something solid and a good motherboard (does he really need a "server" motherboard?). Should a file server have a motherboard take care of the RAID array handling, or is it best to get a Raid controller with a RAID-5 processor on board? What's the performance hit a CPU takes when handling all the RAID 5 stuff? As far as memory goes, I'd assume 1-2GB would be plenty, right?

4. Cases: by default I'll look at Lian-Li server cases, but if anyone has any suggestions for cases with great enclosures and expandability, please let me know. He doesn't need windows or anything in his case. It'll just have hard drives in it and it needs to be able to be built upon for a while now so he could have a lot of hard drives in there after a few years.