Budget AMD build

Mehphisto

Weaksauce
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
82
<a href="https://pcpartpicker.com/list/2cKYCL">PCPartPicker Part List
TypeItemPrice
CPUAMD Ryzen 5 1600 (12nm) 3.2 GHz 6-Core Processor$104.99 @ Amazon
MotherboardGigabyte B450M DS3H Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard$72.99 @ Best Buy
MemoryG.Skill Aegis 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 CL16 Memory$58.49 @ Newegg
Video CardMSI GeForce GTX 1660 6 GB VENTUS XS OC Video Card$196.95 @ Newegg
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total (before mail-in rebates)$443.42
Mail-in rebates-$10.00
Total$433.42
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-06-22 13:51 EDT-0400

So I donated plasma and sold a kidney, and I have this small build in mind

I am NOT a heavy gamer, I mostly play wow and overwatch, but I started playing COD Modern Warfare: warzone, and I saw that my i5 2500k and GTX 960 couldn't keep up.

Is this build able to play the games I have better? I currently have a:
i5-2500K
GTX 960
16 GB Ram
500GB SSD
4TB storage
My monitor is a 34" ultra wide... I did swap it out with a 24" 1920x1080 and saw vast improvement in gaming especially OW as I was able to play ultra, and COD I was able tp play on medium.

T
 

Mehphisto

Weaksauce
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
82

OFaceSIG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
2,426
I think you have made some solid choices. I however for $200 would swap out the gtx 1660 for a 8GB RX590. But that's just me.
 

mtrupi

Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
755
I have already read the requirements, and According to that, my current CPU already meets the recommended settings, but I have been told via this forum that my system is not worth upgrading. I simply cannot afford a $1000 system.
Well different games will perform differently but in general you have a good upgrade. Is it good enough and is it worth it is hard to answer. If you can do the RX 590 it will be slightly better in many games.
 

trick0502

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
5,278
I would really try to get a ryzen 3600 and 3600 ram. 2000 to 3000 is a big boost in performance. That extra 75-100 would really be worth it long term.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
689
I would start your upgrade process with the gpu. Swap it into your current rig and see how your gaming improves. You may be able to squeeze a bit more out of your current system and give yourself some time to increase the budget for a mb/cpu/mem upgrade.
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
816
I have a 1600 AF kind of on lone to my daughter until it breaks .. I used an MSI B350 M Gaming Pro board that came with the forgotten Ryzen 1400 back in 2017 .. so i flashed it for a 3600 that was running this 3600Mhz memory https://www.newegg.com/oloy-16gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820821300?Item=N82E16820821300

Pulled the 3600 and drop in the1600 AF with same bios and it runs that memory in XMP 1 3333Mhz 100% stable since January 2020 and it was doing around 16,500 PhysX in FS in stock trim .

Also , Steve has another great video up and we all know it's a 2600

 

Smoblikat

Weaksauce
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
122
Maybe just buy a GPU first and see how that works for you? A 2500K is still a good enough chip, but you could try to find a 2600K or 3770K, which should help. I just bought borderlands 3 yesterday, and the first thing I did was completely max out the graphics settings, my 3770K and 980Ti barely even noticed. Maybe try to find a deal on a used 980Ti or similar and upgrade that first.
 

Mehphisto

Weaksauce
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
82
I picked up a GTX 1660 and when I installed it I couldn't post, after searching I found that I would need at minimum a bios update: couldn't get it done and returned the card. Then after realized I was using the wrong tool and now my bios is updated, but I would have to buy another card and I already lost $34 on restocking so I am just going to cry :)
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
816
I picked up a GTX 1660 and when I installed it I couldn't post, after searching I found that I would need at minimum a bios update: couldn't get it done and returned the card. Then after realized I was using the wrong tool and now my bios is updated, but I would have to buy another card and I already lost $34 on restocking so I am just going to cry :)
Hell , I put the cmos battery in backwards for months and now need to re flash that board .. lol never smoke weed and build computers .
 
Top