Brand new to crypto just looking for advise

audi911

n00b
Good evening everyone,
I am brand new to the world of crypto (yes I'm late)
I am looking to understand what kind of mining I should start doing.
I am debating between GPU and CPU mining. I have many PCs that I can use to CPU mine and a few GPUs that I can use.
How would I go about starting this up, I've seen many threads and Youtube videos on how to build a rig but I am curious to know if there is one program that is better than others if I want to mine with CPU or GPU and how complicated it is to set up.
I won't be opposed to replying to IMs also.
Thanks very much in advance everyone.
PS I saw a post recently on Youtube of a Canadian guy who compared GPU to CPU and CPU was winning but it's not clear what program he is using, or if his PCs are linked together or if they are independant.
Thanks!

Cpus arnt winning on anything. I have a few rare cpus rigs that beat the cost of electricity (not by much) and only because I already had them.

Either buy crypto right now or when its low and hold it or wait for crypto to stay low (if it does) and eventually buy cheap gpus. Those are the only ways I see the possibility of making a few bucks off mining at this point. I would lean to just buying crypto if you dont know what you're doing.

I second that. Buy Layer 1 coins when it seems the market has stabilized at the bottom of this dip which appears to be now'ish and hold.

I probably should have been clearer on my original post.
My goal isnt to become a millionaire on this, its to learn how it works. To build it and see it in action. You are both right i dont know what im doing, buying coins will not teach me to know what to do.
I am looking for advice on how to get started and not what the best move to enter the market is.

I hope that makes sense Without being rude.

I have gpus
I have a 1050 that i can tinker with
I have an lhr 3080 which i may not opt to use
And a 3080ti fhr