Brand new Corsair 520HX fries mobo header, pics inside!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by elleana, Sep 27, 2008.

  1. elleana

    elleana 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,603
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    PSU - Brand new Corsair 520HX
    Motherboard - Gigabyte X38-DQ6, about a year old.

    Running a Q6600 with slight overclock, around 3.2Ghz. Kept getting restarts though, so figured something was up. Was poking around in the case when I noticed this:-

    [​IMG]

    THE SHOCK AND HORROR!

    And this:-

    [​IMG]

    I will probably have to RMA my PSU. Hopefully the store will do a 1 to 1, otherwise, grrrrr. Should I also send in my motherboard as well? Since the header probably won't work with any other PSU anymore...

    Anyone know what happened?
     
  2. visionviper

    visionviper [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I would send the motherboard for RMA as well.
     
  3. elleana

    elleana 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,603
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Problem is, I'm not sure if the motherboard will be under warranty, because apparently burns are not covered...
     
  4. jnex26

    jnex26 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,353
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Personally I would be asking corsair to replace the MB because it was their faulty psu which broke your MB
     
  5. Michael Daly

    Michael Daly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,212
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    That's an assumption, not a fact with the info provided. It might have been a problem with the MB that didn't show up with the previous PSU.
     
  6. elleana

    elleana 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,603
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Well, I'm just gonna go ahead and RMA both the mobo and PSU. PSU was brand new, mobo is still under warranty so hope everything goes well.