Boot drive led... stumped

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Darknyt, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. Darknyt

    Darknyt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Mobo boot drive led stays lit and won't boot to bios at all. (system in sig) Daughter tried to turn it on and just told me it never came on - she said it had some loading screen and then went off. Not much detail I could get from her - only 9. No other warning signs. System power comes on with fans and such, but no bios and boot drive led stays lit.

    I've pulled everything off the system down to 1 stick of ram, mobo and CPU - still get the boot drive led and won't boot to bios. I've actually tried a few drives to see if it would get to bios and it won't - so not sure it's a hard drive issue? I still need to take the boot SSD and get it tested to make sure it's not bad.

    Tried to clear CMOS with jumper and then finally battery pull. Maybe I'm dumb and didn't get actually get it. Kid mentioned she typed on some keys as it was loading but I can't imagine she could have really messed up much.

    Any ideas here - my thought is either CPU/Mobo is bad?
     
  2. Denpepe

    Denpepe Gawd

    Messages:
    958
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Sounds a lot like what happened to my 7820X, CPU was dead, I did have a couple of BSOD's the previous days b4 it completely went bad.

    That's not to say it is not your mobo, but it get's hard to test things without spare parts (I had a pc repair shop test mine)
     
  3. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,804
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Make sure you have a mobo speaker built in or hooked up and unplug everything but cpu and power supply. (including USB headers, etc. )

    You should get a beep code for having no ram installed. If you do start plugging things in one at a time and work your way up from there.

    If you don't then PSU, Mobo, or CPU is bad. I would try a PSU if you have one around or can borrow one. If that doesn't work you are left with mobo / cpu, in which case it's almost always mobo.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,920
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    I've seen the HD LED light up solid like that when a bad drive is connected.

    Disconnect all drives (and sata cables from mobo), clear the CMOS again, and see what you get.

    It's not the daughter's fault, hitting keys during boot up will not blow it up.

    Also, pull the video card and use built-in video if you can.

    ETA: Make sure you are clearing the CMOS and pulling the battery with the system unplugged from the wall.


    .
     
    drescherjm likes this.
  5. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,142
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Mobo might have finally bit the dust. Or the bios got corrupted somehow. I've repaired a bunch of Asus p8Z68s and they're pretty solid boards. Is it a gen3?
     
  6. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    if you cant get into the bios settings even after a clear cmos...then it doesnt sound good if you already reseated the cpu, ram and or cards.
     
  7. Darknyt

    Darknyt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    thanks for the ideas (to all as well) I did disconnect drives but only at the drives themselves - think I need to actually disconnect at the mobo? Did disconnect video card, and plugged HDMI into onboard video - any chance its not getting activated somehow?

    On clearing the CMOS (switching jumper) and pulling battery, I'm disconnecting power from wall - how long do I need to leave the CMOS battery out? I was only doing 15-30 secs per some instructions, but maybe need longer? Is there anyway to know for sure if I got it successfully reset (assuming it might not boot into bios regardless)?

    Agree not like daughter could blow it up - I just wish I was there and could see what was on the screen to help diagnose when it shut off.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
  8. Darknyt

    Darknyt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    I'm not 100% sure and I'm out of country so I can't check the box - but this the product from Newegg from 2011. Funny it's still listed on the site.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131730
     
  9. Darknyt

    Darknyt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Good idea on PSU, thanks - often overlooked.
     
  10. Darknyt

    Darknyt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Do I need to reseat the CPU? Have done ram and cards but not CPU.
     
  11. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,436
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    May be a good idea. Sometimes a charge will remain holding the bios from completely clearing. Sometimes you may have a bent pin and the chip is not seated properly. Have to sraighten with a razor blade.
     
  12. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    well regarding the cpu.....if it was working prior then its unlikely any pins are misaligned now anyway...there comes a point when people check it anyway cause you start running out of ideas. I think the board should at least try and post without ram installed but i think all but the newest still need a working cpu to post...after rereading this thread im thinking you need to run buy and pick up a new power supply local to your house......trust me they go bad all the fucking time....if you have the same problem then at least its easy to return
     
  13. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,436
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    At least with a speaker you can get beep codes and consult the manual for decoding.
     
    primetime likes this.
  14. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,034
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    sounds like she was hacked in to the matrix they got scared and blanked your bios chip and nuked the hdd just to be safe.

    sorry dude.

    take out all the ram and see if you get a different error.
     
  15. Darknyt

    Darknyt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Maybe easier to just replace daughter .... heh.

    Yeah I actually did pull all the ram and it did stop on the mem light if I recall correctly.