Blue Screen Error - MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1a)

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,516
I'm a little stumped by this. Twice in a week's time thereabouts I've had this with BSOD code 1a hit me.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...ement-1a/b3afb571-61dd-41f4-b460-926810d155ab

This.




The first time happened in a videogame. The second time was today while browsing the Internet.

Long/short: I made sure all software up to date, cleaned up, etc. and then I fired up Windows Memory Diagnostic and it came away clean. After that, I fired up memtest and ran that thing for 90 minutes and it came away clean all the way.


If it isn't memory, what else could do this? Bad drivers? VRAM? Odd combination of things?

What else should I try and do, if anything? Nothing seems amiss anywhere until this happens.

My BIOS is fairly current.

I do see in Windows Update in the optional section a small update from Intel. Intel system driver update.

Should I install that and, if so, is it ok to do through it Windows Update or should I do it some other way? If that's even a factor towards this.





System specs: (modest overclocks)

OS: Windows 64 Pro


Intel i7 4770k
Asus Maximus VI Gene
Corsair Vengeance XMS3 DDR3 1600 32GB
EVGA GTX 980TI SC ACX 2.0
Samsung 840Pro 512
Western Digital Black Caviar 2TB
Creative® Soundblaster Z PCI-E
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,139
bump your ram voltage a bit, .05-.1v and see if that helps. every single set of corsair ive ever touched needed just a bit more juice.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,516
^^ I've done that and we'll see what happens now. I was able to game for a good couple of hours last night without a hitch in the world. That's what has been weird about this. Two seemingly random instances seperated by 9 days.



More information: Nirsoft Bluescreen viewer says this of my two events:

041117-9828-01.dmp 4/11/2017 4:32:57 PM MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041790 fffffa80`07ccfe90 00000000`0000ffff 00000000`00000000 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+6f440 NT Kernel & System Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Microsoft Corporation 6.1.7601.23714 (win7sp1_ldr.170307-1800) x64 ntoskrnl.exe+6f440 C:\Windows\Minidump\041117-9828-01.dmp 8 15 7601 407,800 4/11/2017 4:34:35 PM



040217-9906-01.dmp 4/2/2017 4:20:13 PM MEMORY_MANAGEMENT 0x0000001a 00000000`00041790 fffffa80`07ccfe90 00000000`0000ffff 00000000`00000000 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+6f440 NT Kernel & System Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Microsoft Corporation 6.1.7601.23714 (win7sp1_ldr.170307-1800) x64 ntoskrnl.exe+6f440 C:\Windows\Minidump\040217-9906-01.dmp 8 15 7601 407,792 4/2/2017 4:21:32 PM



I know that ntoskrnle.exe is a common and notorious animal that comes up in a lot of these.

I'm hoping software, drivers, and upping that voltage a little bit covers this otherwise I'm assuming the next step is replacing RAM and then past that would a longshot on the GPU but I don't want to get way ahead of myself.
 
Last edited:
M

mls1995

Guest
^ I'm assuming the next step is replacing RAM and then past that would a longshot on the GPU but I don't want to get way ahead of myself.

did you even run memtest yet? I'd get on that. There's zero downside to running it. You definitely want to know if you have bad RAM or not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,139
hopefully the voltage bump sorts it. the corsair in my sig needs 1.6v(rated 1.5) for it to be fully stable and I had to manually set the timings. xmp will not work but I think that's an amd thing....
re the intel update(sorry, missed that before), id go get the new ones directly from intel.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,516
did you even run memtest yet? I'd get on that. There's zero downside to running it. You definitely want to know if you have bad RAM or not.

Yes.

You may have skimmed by it in my first somewhat rambling post. ;) I ran Window Memory Diagnostic first, for laughs. It came away clean and then I threw memtest at it and it, too, came away clean. *fingers crossed*





hopefully the voltage bump sorts it. the corsair in my sig needs 1.6v(rated 1.5) for it to be fully stable and I had to manually set the timings. xmp will not work but I think that's an amd thing....
re the intel update(sorry, missed that before), id go get the new ones directly from intel.

I saw that a lot of people warned about touching that Intel thing at least through windows update. I'll have to dig into whatever that driver update is even for.

1.6 huh? I've been running at 1.5 this entire time (3 years + ) and I went to 1.51 volts per your post yesterday.
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,139
I saw that a lot of people warned about touching that Intel thing at least through windows update. I'll have to dig into whatever that driver update is even for.

1.6 huh? I've been running at 1.5 this entire time (3 years + ) and I went to 1.51 volts per your post yesterday.
yeah that was a .05 or .1v bump. so 1.55 or 1.6v. kyle even had to raise the voltage on the corsair ram he used with the ryzen 5 in the oc test vid. he mentions it near the beginning. he only bumped that .05v. he and I have mentioned/talked aboot this in several threads.
re intel, just go to the chipset driver page and it should tell you what the update is aboot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,516
Everything has been fine since my last post until now. I was playing a game and paused it to use the bathroom and when I came back a new BSOD was waiting for me.

Code 109

041517-9765-01.dmp 4/15/2017 3:55:56 PM 0x00000109 a3a039d8`b47c64ec 00000000`00000000 7da07fef`4831cbec 00000000`00000101 ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.exe+6f440 NT Kernel & System Microsoft® Windows® Operating System

Microsoft Corporation 6.1.7601.23714 (win7sp1_ldr.170307-1800) x64 ntoskrnl.exe+6f440 C:\Windows\Minidump\041517-9765-01.dmp 8 15 7601 407,864 4/15/2017 3:59:12 PM


Probably time for new RAM best guess. What say you all?
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
41,139
did you raise the voltage anymore? id try 1.6v and run memtest over night. if it passes then i'd look at anything and everything that is running in the background. do you have anything oc'd? if you do maybe try running at stock. ive also seen people have random crashes with the asus suite....
 
  • Like
Reactions: Q-BZ
like this

DrwnG76

n00b
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
15
I was getting the same BSOD on my HTPC with WIN 10. Memory diag passed. No overclock as its a rebuilt HP. Also get DPC Watchdog VIOLATION as well. Are they the same issue?
 
Top