Biting the 64-Bit Bullet?

Poosnarf

Limp Gawd
Damn, I just found out my 3.0C P4 won't OC worth crap on my Asus P4P800-E Deluxe. The other stuff is all really high-quality, so I don't think anything but the mobo could be the culprit. Other than that, maybe it's the Thermaltake 480w Silent Purepower holding the whole thing back.

Anyways, my real question is this. Should I suck it up and go 64-bit with a Skt939 3500+ and an MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, or keep the P4 and get an IC7-G Max-II? I'm a lucky-bastard high school student with a job but no bills, so I can afford either.

Save up for college? Hahaha....

If the P4P800-E can't overclock, I doubt the IC7-G-Max-II can (at least far enough to be worth it).

The A64 will be extremely fast, yet extremely expensive. I took the S754 route and don't regret it at all :)

I'm changing from the P4 over to the A64. Come on in the water's just right, rather than boiling in the Prescott pool.

I have a P4 3.0 with the MaxIII and I've reached 3.8 with Corsair 3200. Had to play with it for a while, lost a raid in the process as well, dont ask me how that happened.

I'd wait to see how the 90nm A64's coming out in about two weeks time will do. I've heard pretty good (unofficial) info on them.

I've heard that the new 4000 and the fx-55 will not be 90nm but, anyways ... as for me i'll stick w/ my 2500 until the new nForce 4 boards come out and I can get PCI-X and DDR2 on the bastard .... no use in spending extra money only to upgrade everything in less than 6 months :D

If I were u I would be looking at this route and just suck it up on ur crappy o/c P4 for the next month or two

Have you already tried to oc your proc on someone elses board?

What type of memory ru using?