best processor for Postgre SQL client machines

orangezero

Limp Gawd
Hello,

I'm new to this database stuff, and usually looked at benches for gaming. I'm using some office software that runs Java to access a postgre SQL server database. Any idea of what processor would be the best for this? They are providing the server, which is a pentium 4 524 3.06ghz 1mb cache, with 1024mb ram, 80gb harddrive, xpress 200 ati graphics. All I need help with is the client machines. They recommend 512mb memory and a pentium 4 2.0ghz or better.

I was wondering if a setup like this would benefit from dual core at all, or if this really is a waste. Also, and idea of AMD vs INTEL? I have usually gone amd in the past for gaming. I'd like to keep with something i'm familiar with and already have extra spare parts at home (in case something breaks I can fix rather quickly). I have a socket 939 opteron 144 at home, and a socket 754 sempron machine at home and they all use ddr memory. hope that makes sense.

I'm trying to decide between spending a bit extra and getting a decent opteron system, vs a amd x64 chip, vs a cheapo intel 2.0ghz+ system. I'm just wondering in real world performance if there will be really any benefit to spending the extra right now.

thanks for any insight.

is there another forum where this might be more appropriate? perhaps the amd or intel cpu section?

I think the insight is that you haven't provided any of the information necessary to even start analyzing the situation. Will this machine do one select statement every two hours to monitor some service, or will it be gulping down gigabytes of data every minute using two bonded 10-gigabit controllers which it then puts through CPU-demanding analysis?

See, there's quite some ground to cover here. Just saying it's a "PostgreSQL client" doesnt actually tell us anything, except that it will probably be making SQL queries :-\