Best easy and reliable data backup

Hi all,

I am a photographer so I have a lot of files I keep backed up onto an external drive. I wanted to add an external drive to my computer that would just sit there connected to it so I can access my backed up files anytime I want, and additionally I would back up my files to the other external drive, as well as my off-site drive I keep at another place.

My real question is - would an SSD ultimately be more reliable than a standard, mechanical hard drive? I thought about a RAID enclosure as well... I would really appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks!

SSDs sure aren't cost effective when it comes to storing large amounts of photos - the $/GB is still much too high.

Rsync would do what you need (able to back up to onsite and offsite locations) at scheduled times... but I'm out of touch with what you need to do to get that working with Windows (assuming you're a Windows user) - could be a place to start looking, though.

How many TB are you talking? Do you want/need redundancy in your backups?

I'd say an Intel or Samsung SSD is going to be more reliable than any spinning disk but I do not know of any good real world numbers. If you have a laptop too and it'd be handy to carry around one of these drives with you, then SSD would also be smaller/more rugged. But if they're just sitting on a desk somewhere you can get 2+ spinning disks for the cost of an SSD.

Don't ever think of RAID as a backup solution.
Most people thought mirroring RAID type like RAID 1 could serve as a backup solution, and it was not the case.
If you had a corrupted file on the original drive, it would be mirrored in its corrupted state to the rest of the array too (thus the "mirror" name).

Oh and multiple external drives, each mirroring your local photos folder. Use synctoys or freefilesync sync the folders.