Best Comcast Modem

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by gangolfus, Feb 3, 2018.

  1. gangolfus

    gangolfus Gawd

    Messages:
    899
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Money no object, whats the best modem I can get for Comcast? I have a Ubiquiti Edgerouter Lite and AC-AP-Pro's, so I only need a modem. TIA

    EDIT: Initially will be 100mbit service, but who knows what the future holds. Currently leaning towards SB8200.

    EDIT 2: Will be a new customer, so I don't currently have any equipment. Will likely end up with SB8200 or MB8600.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  2. The Cobra

    The Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,580
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Been using this one for 6 months now with Comcast 1GB service. No issues...only have had to reboot the actual modem twice in that time period. This was a test result from a few mins ago, was done at 820PM. If after 1000 at night, I usually get around 900MB+ down.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,555
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Depends on what service you have speed wise. Any docis 3.0 modem with a 16x4 channels. the SB 6183 is solid. Also zoom modems are good with. I use there 16x4 modem with my TWC 100/10mbps
     
  4. bman212121

    bman212121 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,519
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    The SB8200 or the MB8600 are probably the best modems you can buy right now. The MB8600 is slightly newer and slightly cheaper, but other than that I really don't know what the difference is. (I don't think there is too much of a difference) I'd probably get an MB8600 if I were choosing but it's basically a toss up.

    The main thing getting a DOCSIS3.1 modem nets you right now is a nice 96mhz wide chunk of bandwidth that few other people are using. But in reality there are so many other channels that are bonded (You'll probably have 24 channels besides the giant D3.1 channel) so it won't make a bit of difference unless you're on the gigabit tier. (Even then probably not) But I'd say definitely getting a 3.1 modem at this point is a good idea if you're buying a new one. If you already have something like an SB6141 or SB6183, getting a new modem isn't going to do anything for you with only 100mbit. Comcast is also rolling out some new deployment strategies for their network (N+0) that will certainly lessen the chance of congestion, so it's even less likely you'd have issues with node saturation than before. Maybe when they finally get around to giving everyone real upload that D3.1 modem will prove it's worth.
     
  5. BlindedByScience

    BlindedByScience More Human than Human

    Messages:
    9,377
    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    Here's a wrinkle - what's the best DOCSIS modem with an eMTA phone connection...??
     
  6. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    20,833
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    i never could find one that worked with comcasts VOIP phone service at any kind of reasonable price to make it worth not paying the $10/month rental fee.


    as far as the OP goes, i use a Zoom 5345(8x4 3.0), cost me 60 bucks 2 years ago(currently 30 dollars on amazon or 3 months ROI) and works perfectly fine with comcasts 150/5 package, currently getting 175/10. the 16x4 version is 65 dollars on amazon currently if that interests you more.
     
  7. Solhokuten

    Solhokuten [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,110
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Check out the Netgear DOCSIS 3.1 CM1000.
     
  8. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I know there's a lot of people that will cry about the sb6190 has 'puma' issues, but I have 2 of these modems running 150/25 and 300/30 without issue. And they both even pass the dslreports 'puma' test with flying colors. And because of the 'puma' scare, you can pick these up cheap when people dump them--got one of mine for $50. (y)
     
  9. BlindedByScience

    BlindedByScience More Human than Human

    Messages:
    9,377
    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
  10. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    That's essentially the xfinity supplied modem except in a 24x8 and retail version. I think that would work really well if you have phone you have to worry about as well.
     
  11. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,555
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Only thing I hate is the wasted wifi built in. But looks solid. ROI is long at that price
     
  12. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    The wifi is actually pretty good if it's anything like the provided oem model. Too bad it will probably have the same hidden 4 aps that will allow others to use his connection. (n)
     
  13. jardows

    jardows [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,291
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    It's a fairly solid product, but with some interesting caveats. First, it takes a long time to boot up when first plugging in or restarting. Like 5-6 minutes before it's ready to go. Second, IIRC, it uses a "captive portal" for setting up the wi-fi before you can get out on the Internet. While it usually doesn't cause a problem, it can sometimes get stuck and you end up with some long calls with Comcast and ARRIS. Personally, if I were needing phone service through Comcast, and needed anything more than an 8x4 D3.0, I'd just rent my modem.
     
  14. BlindedByScience

    BlindedByScience More Human than Human

    Messages:
    9,377
    Joined:
    May 26, 2000
    I didn't think the Comcast modem was 24X8....??
     
  15. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    The factory one we had needed about that much time to boot as well. But that captive portal thing is weird. Did you have your wifi setup correctly because it does have the option for guest networks. If someone only needs 8x4, I'd go by a local thrift store and pick up a modem for a few bucks and be done with it.

    Ours that looks like the amazon one except black was actually 32x8, not that it really mattered.
     
  16. jardows

    jardows [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,291
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    I don't own one, but I used to support it. The hardware between the SVG2482 and whatever model that Comcast is providing is identical, it is a firmware difference that makes one 24x8 or 32x8. Comcast can push firmware and "unlock" the additional 8 channels, if needed on the retail version.
     
  17. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,743
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    The SB6190 would probably be more than good enough, even with Comcast Gigabit service. I know the SB8200 has an additional Ethernet port, but unless you're paying for a second Internet IP address that port is useless.

    I have an SB6183 and 100/10mbit service from Comcast.
     
  18. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,632
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Wow, that's really good to know--thank you for sharing! So for comcast service with phone, that retail amazon unit is about as good as it gets. (y)

    We have a 6190 for 300/30 service and it does its job for sure. Even the 6183 or earlier models are perfectly fine for slower speeds, although in our area comcast doesn't (won't?) allow them.