Best Comcast Modem

gangolfus

Gawd
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
923
Money no object, whats the best modem I can get for Comcast? I have a Ubiquiti Edgerouter Lite and AC-AP-Pro's, so I only need a modem. TIA

EDIT: Initially will be 100mbit service, but who knows what the future holds. Currently leaning towards SB8200.

EDIT 2: Will be a new customer, so I don't currently have any equipment. Will likely end up with SB8200 or MB8600.
 
Last edited:

The Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
2,976
Been using this one for 6 months now with Comcast 1GB service. No issues...only have had to reboot the actual modem twice in that time period. This was a test result from a few mins ago, was done at 820PM. If after 1000 at night, I usually get around 900MB+ down.
 

Attachments

  • comcast.PNG
    comcast.PNG
    363.8 KB · Views: 38

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,597
Depends on what service you have speed wise. Any docis 3.0 modem with a 16x4 channels. the SB 6183 is solid. Also zoom modems are good with. I use there 16x4 modem with my TWC 100/10mbps
 

bman212121

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,815
The SB8200 or the MB8600 are probably the best modems you can buy right now. The MB8600 is slightly newer and slightly cheaper, but other than that I really don't know what the difference is. (I don't think there is too much of a difference) I'd probably get an MB8600 if I were choosing but it's basically a toss up.

The main thing getting a DOCSIS3.1 modem nets you right now is a nice 96mhz wide chunk of bandwidth that few other people are using. But in reality there are so many other channels that are bonded (You'll probably have 24 channels besides the giant D3.1 channel) so it won't make a bit of difference unless you're on the gigabit tier. (Even then probably not) But I'd say definitely getting a 3.1 modem at this point is a good idea if you're buying a new one. If you already have something like an SB6141 or SB6183, getting a new modem isn't going to do anything for you with only 100mbit. Comcast is also rolling out some new deployment strategies for their network (N+0) that will certainly lessen the chance of congestion, so it's even less likely you'd have issues with node saturation than before. Maybe when they finally get around to giving everyone real upload that D3.1 modem will prove it's worth.
 

BlindedByScience

More Human than Human
Joined
May 26, 2000
Messages
9,176
Here's a wrinkle - what's the best DOCSIS modem with an eMTA phone connection...??
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
Here's a wrinkle - what's the best DOCSIS modem with an eMTA phone connection...??

i never could find one that worked with comcasts VOIP phone service at any kind of reasonable price to make it worth not paying the $10/month rental fee.


as far as the OP goes, i use a Zoom 5345(8x4 3.0), cost me 60 bucks 2 years ago(currently 30 dollars on amazon or 3 months ROI) and works perfectly fine with comcasts 150/5 package, currently getting 175/10. the 16x4 version is 65 dollars on amazon currently if that interests you more.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,433
I know there's a lot of people that will cry about the sb6190 has 'puma' issues, but I have 2 of these modems running 150/25 and 300/30 without issue. And they both even pass the dslreports 'puma' test with flying colors. And because of the 'puma' scare, you can pick these up cheap when people dump them--got one of mine for $50. (y)
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,433
That's essentially the xfinity supplied modem except in a 24x8 and retail version. I think that would work really well if you have phone you have to worry about as well.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,597
Only thing I hate is the wasted wifi built in. But looks solid. ROI is long at that price
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,433
The wifi is actually pretty good if it's anything like the provided oem model. Too bad it will probably have the same hidden 4 aps that will allow others to use his connection. (n)
 

jardows

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
2,167
That's essentially the xfinity supplied modem except in a 24x8 and retail version. I think that would work really well if you have phone you have to worry about as well.
It's a fairly solid product, but with some interesting caveats. First, it takes a long time to boot up when first plugging in or restarting. Like 5-6 minutes before it's ready to go. Second, IIRC, it uses a "captive portal" for setting up the wi-fi before you can get out on the Internet. While it usually doesn't cause a problem, it can sometimes get stuck and you end up with some long calls with Comcast and ARRIS. Personally, if I were needing phone service through Comcast, and needed anything more than an 8x4 D3.0, I'd just rent my modem.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,433
It's a fairly solid product, but with some interesting caveats. First, it takes a long time to boot up when first plugging in or restarting. Like 5-6 minutes before it's ready to go. Second, IIRC, it uses a "captive portal" for setting up the wi-fi before you can get out on the Internet. While it usually doesn't cause a problem, it can sometimes get stuck and you end up with some long calls with Comcast and ARRIS. Personally, if I were needing phone service through Comcast, and needed anything more than an 8x4 D3.0, I'd just rent my modem.
The factory one we had needed about that much time to boot as well. But that captive portal thing is weird. Did you have your wifi setup correctly because it does have the option for guest networks. If someone only needs 8x4, I'd go by a local thrift store and pick up a modem for a few bucks and be done with it.

I didn't think the Comcast modem was 24X8....??
Ours that looks like the amazon one except black was actually 32x8, not that it really mattered.
 

jardows

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
2,167
The factory one we had needed about that much time to boot as well. But that captive portal thing is weird. Did you have your wifi setup correctly because it does have the option for guest networks. If someone only needs 8x4, I'd go by a local thrift store and pick up a modem for a few bucks and be done with it.

Ours that looks like the amazon one except black was actually 32x8, not that it really mattered.

I don't own one, but I used to support it. The hardware between the SVG2482 and whatever model that Comcast is providing is identical, it is a firmware difference that makes one 24x8 or 32x8. Comcast can push firmware and "unlock" the additional 8 channels, if needed on the retail version.
 

Stugots

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
Messages
6,962
The SB6190 would probably be more than good enough, even with Comcast Gigabit service. I know the SB8200 has an additional Ethernet port, but unless you're paying for a second Internet IP address that port is useless.

I have an SB6183 and 100/10mbit service from Comcast.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,433
I don't own one, but I used to support it. The hardware between the SVG2482 and whatever model that Comcast is providing is identical, it is a firmware difference that makes one 24x8 or 32x8. Comcast can push firmware and "unlock" the additional 8 channels, if needed on the retail version.
Wow, that's really good to know--thank you for sharing! So for comcast service with phone, that retail amazon unit is about as good as it gets. (y)

The SB6190 would probably be more than good enough, even with Comcast Gigabit service. I know the SB8200 has an additional Ethernet port, but unless you're paying for a second Internet IP address that port is useless.

I have an SB6183 and 100/10mbit service from Comcast.
We have a 6190 for 300/30 service and it does its job for sure. Even the 6183 or earlier models are perfectly fine for slower speeds, although in our area comcast doesn't (won't?) allow them.
 
Top