Best cheap PCI-e/USB Wireless Adapter for gaming?

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
Current living situation I can't be plugged in unfortunately. Next time I move I hope to resolve that but it might be a year or so. I need an adapter on the cheap that won't be terrible for FPS games etc. Not sure if some of the cheap amazon dual bands are any good, honestly this is nowhere near my specialty. Hoping there is something out there under $30-40 that can get the job done.

Thanks
 

sharknice

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
1,939
Wireless general usb udapters that you can use with a keyboard or mouse don't exist.
 

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
Can I use an old cellphone as a wifi adapter? Can I plug it into my computer is that possible? Sort of like a hotspot but for wifi? Anyone ever try this before?
 

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
I tried it on my laptop with an older Android phone I had kicking around 2.4Ghz via usb. It works anyway.
 

AeonF1

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2002
Messages
1,934
I recommend a PCIE card with some kind of Intel card/chip. There are cards out there with a slot that allows you to plug in WiFi cards designed for laptops of your choosing.
 

dgz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
5,834
I'd recommend a power line adapter. Speed will vary greatly, depending on electrical infrastructure at your place, but at least they're reliable and not that expensive. I've been using a 1Gbps Zyxel model for about 4 years now. It's surprisingly good considering what it is. Way better than wifi that has to go through several thick walls
 

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
I'd recommend a power line adapter. Speed will vary greatly, depending on electrical infrastructure at your place, but at least they're reliable and not that expensive. I've been using a 1Gbps Zyxel model for about 4 years now. It's surprisingly good considering what it is. Way better than wifi that has to go through several thick walls
So I was intrigued by this. I heard about this years ago but I had no idea this ever went to market. A bit more than I was intending to spend but my headshots will be powered by lightning! It sounds pretty neat anyway. I ordered the TP-Link TL-PA7010 KIT AV1000. It says AV1000 but I think it's AV2 from the descriptions. I will hopefully get it in the mail this week. I'll report back how your recommendation went.
 

dgz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
5,834
So I was intrigued by this. I heard about this years ago but I had no idea this ever went to market. A bit more than I was intending to spend but my headshots will be powered by lightning! It sounds pretty neat anyway. I ordered the TP-Link TL-PA7010 KIT AV1000. It says AV1000 but I think it's AV2 from the descriptions. I will hopefully get it in the mail this week. I'll report back how your recommendation went.
Keep us posted, bruh. I am about to pull the plug on a 1Gbps internet deal and I don't think this device is gonna cut it anymore. Still not sure how to proceed but I'd rather invest in a better power line device than drill more holes in walls and windows
 

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
Keep us posted, bruh. I am about to pull the plug on a 1Gbps internet deal and I don't think this device is gonna cut it anymore. Still not sure how to proceed but I'd rather invest in a better power line device than drill more holes in walls and windows
Will do. What cables are you currently using cat5, cat5e, cat6 etc? I ask because I kid you not I took the time once to test transfer speeds with a few cables I had on hand and there was actually a difference. Definitely not even all cat5e are created equal. Sometimes cheap solutions work out pretty great.
 

dgz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
5,834
Will do. What cables are you currently using cat5, cat5e, cat6 etc? I ask because I kid you not I took the time once to test transfer speeds with a few cables I had on hand and there was actually a difference. Definitely not even all cat5e are created equal. Sometimes cheap solutions work out pretty great.
Hmm, I completely forgot about the cables. I just checked:

- a 1.5m CAT5 between the switch and one divice
- a 5m unknown, presumably cheap CAT5, cable with multiple signs of damage likely caused by a vacuum cleaner robot

What a mess
 

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
Hmm, I completely forgot about the cables. I just checked:

- a 1.5m CAT5 between the switch and one divice
- a 5m unknown, presumably cheap CAT5, cable with multiple signs of damage likely caused by a vacuum cleaner robot

What a mess
Throw a couple of cat5e or cat6 cables in your cart during Black Friday shopping. Worst case scenario you got a couple of extra cables. Or just see if it makes a difference for science!
 

SpongeBob

The Contraceptive Under the Sea
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
710
Keep us posted, bruh. I am about to pull the plug on a 1Gbps internet deal and I don't think this device is gonna cut it anymore. Still not sure how to proceed but I'd rather invest in a better power line device than drill more holes in walls and windows
Received the TL-PA7010 KIT today. Have to say I'm pretty disappointed. I've changed outlets, cables etc.
But these are my speed averages.

5Ghz wifi
My cellphone in the same room as the modem 113 Mbps Upload 16.1 Mbps
My cellphone in a different room a wall apart 89.7 up Upload 15.9 Mbps

5Ghz wifi
My cheap Asus Intel N4200 laptop in the same room as the modem (far wall) 176 Mbps Upload 16.1 Mbps
My cheap Asus Intel N4200 laptop in a different room a wall apart (far wall) 149 Mbps Upload 16.3 Mbps

Powerline Adapter
Computer Room Outlet 1. 49 Mbps Upload 16.3 Mbps
Computer Room Outlet Outlet 2. 81 Mbps Upload 16.2 Mbps

The powerline adapter is on the same side of my apartment building the 2 rooms are separated by a wall.
The ping was 1-3 better pretty negligible with the powerline adapter.

*Update, so I installed the TP-Link utility and made it a secure network which seems to have helped. I am now averaging 97.3 Mbps. 16.25 Upload Mbps.

In the TP-Link software it varies but I've been watching it go between 291-333 Mbps.

I honestly don't think sacrificing 50-77ish Mbps for a 1-3 ping improvement is worth it. Can't say that I would recommend a powerline adapter looking at these numbers I'm considering getting a wifi adapter again considering how my laptops wifi is performing. If anyone has any tips I'm all ears on how to improve settings or anything.

I should note that it appears I have the latest firmware. I also have the latest Lan driver.
 
Last edited:

dgz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
5,834
Received the TL-PA7010 KIT today. Have to say I'm pretty disappointed. I've changed outlets, cables etc.
But these are my speed averages.

5Ghz wifi
My cellphone in the same room as the modem 113 Mbps Upload 16.1 Mbps
My cellphone in a different room a wall apart 89.7 up Upload 15.9 Mbps

5Ghz wifi
My cheap Asus Intel N4200 laptop in the same room as the modem (far wall) 176 Mbps Upload 16.1 Mbps
My cheap Asus Intel N4200 laptop in a different room a wall apart (far wall) 149 Mbps Upload 16.3 Mbps

Powerline Adapter
Computer Room Outlet 1. 49 Mbps Upload 16.3 Mbps
Computer Room Outlet Outlet 2. 81 Mbps Upload 16.2 Mbps

The powerline adapter is on the same side of my apartment building the 2 rooms are separated by a wall.
The ping was 1-3 better pretty negligible with the powerline adapter.

*Update, so I installed the TP-Link utility and made it a secure network which seems to have helped. I am now averaging 97.3 Mbps. 16.25 Upload Mbps.

In the TP-Link software it varies but I've been watching it go between 291-333 Mbps.

I honestly don't think sacrificing 50-77ish Mbps for a 1-3 ping improvement is worth it. Can't say that I would recommend a powerline adapter looking at these numbers I'm considering getting a wifi adapter again considering how my laptops wifi is performing. If anyone has any tips I'm all ears on how to improve settings or anything.

I should note that it appears I have the latest firmware. I also have the latest Lan driver.
Sorry it didn't turn out fantastic for you. For me, the biggest benefit over wifi is the reliability. In fact, i have about 5-10ms latency to my computers two rooms away. People on the other side of the country could have better pings to my network :(
 
Top