Benefits of a Virtual Drive?

Operaghost

[H]ard|Gawd
I don't know much about virtualization, other than the idea behind it.

I recently bought some dvd backup software and I noticed on thier site they have a freeware virtual drive software.

What would be the benefits of using a virtual drive? I don't do much on my computer other than rip/burn dvd's, surf, listen to music and play games. Sometimes I stream audio from it as a media server but not often.

Would setting up a virtual drive be beneficial for me in any means?

well, do you handle iso files alot? instead of burning programs to discs then loading them up that way, just mount the iso file to the virtual drive and install from there

Forgive me of my ignorance but I don't see how this would be any different than copying the ISO to my hard disk?

I'm obviously not that experienced with ripping/burning. I'm just getting into it so you might have to dumb down your explanation ;)

Thanks for your time and input!

A virtual optical device driver (aka a virtual CD or DVD drive) has absolutely nothing to do with virtualization in terms of things like VirtualPC, VMWare, VirtualBox, etc. They're two entirely different concepts. There is one instance that might be prompting the question, however: with a virtual machine, you can use a disc image (ISO, BIN/CUE, etc) on the hard drive to actually install the guest OS inside the virtual machine, so in that one singular respect the virtualization software is "mounting" the disc image, but it's just for exclusive use of the VM and not the host OS itself.

A virtual optical device driver simply allows you to "mount" an ISO or some other form of media image (BIN/CUE, ISO, that sort of thing) instead of needing to have the physical media (the CD or DVD) in a physical optical drive spinning up or down, etc. Saves wear and tear on an optical drive since it's mechanical and will wear out over time.