Beginner's FPGA bitcoin mining device

netsider

Limp Gawd
I've been recently getting more and more interested in bitcoin mining. Not really for profit, but just because it's interesting. The fact that I'm earning virtual currency is just a perk, really. However, I'd like the cost of the power and some of the hardware to be covered by the bitcoins I generate, at least. I just want to break even, and I know there are calculators and you can just do it with PC's with video cards, but FPGA's have peaked my interest because it seems they have potential to do a lot of things, not just bitcoin mining. I've seen some that are almost like small computers and have just as many outputs. I just figured that maybe starting with building a mining device (USB preferebly, unless there's a reason to go another route) would be the best idea. I'm a NEWBIE when it comes to even basic electronics... but I can learn anything. I only have a very basic understanding of electronics, besides computer hardware. However... these devices seem to be almost "alien" compared to the inside of a computer, or computer hardware in general. There are beginner's guides... and DIY kits.. but is there anyway I can do this completely from scratch so that I can learn it the hard way (but not extremely hard)? I can barely solder, but my father can help me a little bit, and he's pretty good at it. He knows electronics more than I do, as I see him soldering stuff into his stereo equipment all the time. When I showed him bitcoin miners and the FPGA's... he really didn't understand or recognize any of it... so thats kinda why I'm here. There's so many different kits, and ways of doing it, but what do I actually do FIRST? All of the tutorials (and I dont blame them) are almost too hard for me to understand. Can somebody point me in the direction of the easiest, but most informative, tutorial or something? I don't just want step by step directions, I want to understand how it works... and sometimes I really am no