AVR Audio Guard in Win10

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by prime2515102, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Update 1/10/2016: AVR Audioguard is no longer available (or useable if you already downlaoded it). I found another app that works, see post #13.

    Anyone using AVR Audio Guard in Win10? If so, how's your CPU usage? Mine is pinned at 25%. I had this problem in Win7 but after uninstalling AVR, then reinstalling, it fixed it. Reinstalling in Win10 doesn't fix it.

    I'm using 64-bit Win10 Pro.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    Nicodemus_MM likes this.
  2. 0kk0

    0kk0 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Hello,

    Ive searched the internet for hours... then i saw avr guard program... but in windows 10 it used 25% of cpu....thats bad... my version only uses 1%
    So i made my own program with some extra stuff from SoundSwitch... SoundSwitch v2...

    Download link: offline because people aren't appreciate it apparently: s

    It does need admin rights... just in caseUAC ask for it...
    Enable "Enable silent stream" for fixing this issue...
    Also possible to fast switch between audio devices.

    Hope you find it usefull?

    Bye

    Sicco
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015
  3. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    The silent stream function doesn't seem to function.

    Also, there is an issue with it saving the settings due to folder permissions. I had to change permissions for it to change the settings in the xml file, and also to edit it manually.
     
  4. 0kk0

    0kk0 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    i told in previous post program needs admin rights to write in program files folder...
    but strange.. yesterday installed it on friends pc and also worked great
     
  5. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    19,091
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Guys, an unknown program requiring admin rights is provided by a new forum member in his first post.
    I wouldnt touch it with yours!
     
  6. valve1138

    valve1138 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,342
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Fo shizzle.

    Burn your hard drive.
     
  7. 0kk0

    0kk0 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    what the f? i thought i make an account because found this thread on goolge because had same poblem... also made a lot of stuff on xda developers... people there say thank you or something like that... nevermind...i will take download link offline... thanks guys for nice feedback: !
     
  8. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    19,091
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    How can you possibly be annoyed, everyone should be at least this cautious.
    Your hair trigger attitude spells out trouble.
    Proves the point, if you were genuine you would have found a way to prove it.
    Total lack of effort in that regard, you didnt even introduce yourself.
     
  9. 0kk0

    0kk0 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    i dont have to prove anything :)
     
  10. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    19,091
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Depends what you want :p
    Good luck.
     
  11. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    So don't ask me why I didn't try this before, but I did some experimenting.

    First of all, running audio through Intel's iGPU via HDMI doesn't have the silent stream bug. I couldn't keep this in place because Lucidlogix has abandoned their customers and Virtu doesn't work with Windows 10 (they now, apparently, only make an app for extended cell phone battery life).

    Next I tried using an optical s/pdif cable from the onboard Realtek audio. At first the bug was present, but after a reboot it is gone.

    This appears to be an AMD-specific problem. How typical.
     
  12. ledcriss

    ledcriss Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Wow HAHA Goodluck man
     
  13. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    I'm sorry to dig up an old thread, but this problem has returned after re-installing Windows, and it's happening with HDMI audio from the AMD card and Intel CPU, and the Realtek optical out.

    Anyway, I thought I would point out an app I just found that works perfectly with Windows 10.

    It is called SPDIF Keep-alive.

    The only thing is, to get it to start at login you have to schedule a task for it (thanks for disabling the startup folder MS, you dicks) and it has to be run as administrator or it won't start (it will start as non-administrator, but not when it is scheduled to do so at startup).

    It hasn't been updated since 2010 but it works perfectly (for me anyway).

    I just thought I would throw this out there in case anybody else is still having this problem. I can't possibly be the only one left that's having this issue.

    P.S. Don't panic when you start it and hear a tone, it's just the initial setting. You have to change it to "silence."
     
  14. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    19,091
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Saved just in case ever...
    Cheers.
     
  15. Nicodemus_MM

    Nicodemus_MM n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    TL;DR - it works and is easier to start with Windows than a task.

    While I've browsed these forums for years, I just registered just to say... 'Thank You'!

    I have been experiencing this issue with Win10, 2x GTX 970s, and both an Onkyo TX-SR608 & TX-NR656. It's like the audio stream sleeps immediately after audio ends and it takes about 1 second to reinitialize. The temporary fix I was using was to loop an audio file in WinAmp/Groove/etc. and set the volume to 1. Setting it to 0 didn't help. This issue is pervasive enough to be present in games, such as when mousing over menu options. Unless a constant audio stream is maintained it will chop up the audio.

    **Note: Some may need to use the 'Inaudible' setting in SPDIFKeepAlive, otherwise it has no effect.

    Also, you can copy the exe to C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup to have it run on startup. MS didn't remove Startup, the just buried it deep. Like, Jimmy Hoffa deep. You will have to run the exe from this location, set your choice (Tone, Silent, Inaudible), start it, then close the app (X) to save the change. This way the app will startup with the last started setting.

    Edit: This doesn't help the Windows startup sound (my PC boots too fast for the sound to finish before the audio stream initializes), but once the app launches, all is right with the world. Lastly, I tried setting this up as an interactive service to start with Windows. It can't, even with 3rd party service managers like NSSM. The UI never appears to save the change from tone to silent, so if you get it to start, you have to deal with the tone until you shut off the service.

    ~Nicodemus
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  16. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    The start folder doesn't work for me. To get it to work, I had to disable User Account Control in the registry (not just setting it to minimal), and when I did that, I went to open Calculator and it said "This program can't be run with the default administrator account." so I had to re-enable it and use the task scheduler because I'm assuming if it disables the damn calculator, it's going to cause all kinds of havoc. Microsoft really did a number on Win10. It makes me sick. They should have left that sort of thing alone at least in the Pro version.

    P.S. I was beginning to think this was a problem with Onkyo receivers since most people are saying it's fixed, but I connected directly to the TV I'm using as a monitor and the problem remained. I'm now convinced the fault lies squarely on the shoulders of Microsoft.
     
  17. Nicodemus_MM

    Nicodemus_MM n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Oh, that sucks. The other option would be to try C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp, but if the task works, why fix it? :) This is the startup directory for all users, not just your account. It acts a little differently as far as application rights.

    Regarding the mix of hardware, etc.; I've seen people blaming AMD, Nvidia, Onkyo, etc. The only commonality lately has been Win8+. I've not seen any Win7 and lower issues with this. i think Linux is also affected, but a one-time command seems to resolve it. Go MS!

    Thanks again for posting this util.

    ~Nicodemus
     
  18. Coldblackice

    Coldblackice [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,124
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    I wonder if it'd be possible to jury-rig AVR Audio Guard to work? Looking at the error log, it says that the manifest from the website couldn't be accessed. I wonder if we could manually feed/supply this instead?

    Also, does the SPDIF support HDMI?
     
  19. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    I imagine someone skilled in the use of a hex editor could make it stop checking the website.

    SPDIF Keep-Alive does support HDMI audio; that's what I'm currently using (from an AMD card).
     
  20. Coldblackice

    Coldblackice [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,124
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Thanks. I was going to try hexing it, but if SPDIF Keep-Alive works, might as well use that instead. Too bad on AVR; I've used it for years and it's been great. It's dumb that it relies on connecting to a website to work.

    EDIT: I spoke too soon. The benefits of AVR Audio Guard I liked were the abilities to restart the Sound/HDMI audio services. Sometimes I'll lose HDMI audio after turning my monitor off (or when it wakes from sleep), and the ability to restart the Windows Sound service/management with this program was super helpful vs. rebooting.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2017
  21. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,455
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    right click the speaker icon and click troubleshooting. it automatically restarts the audio service. no need to reboot.
     
    Coldblackice likes this.
  22. prime2515102

    prime2515102 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Sorry to dig this thread up again, but I just wanted to point out that SPDIF Keep-Alive works fine in the startup folder now. I'm not sure what changed, or what I did wrong the first time, but I just built a new system and tried it and it works fine. Weird...