Autoplay and flash cards.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by raksasas, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. raksasas

    raksasas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    477
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    This is probably a better place to ask then then in Disk Storage Systems.

    Is it possible to get back the autoplay where you select what you want so to do in xp when you put in a flash carded into a card reader. I am guessing when it is put in to many times it starts opening up the same way every time.

    All I could find on google was how to disable it.
     
  2. bbz_Ghost

    bbz_Ghost 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,548
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    I would say put the card back into the reader so you get a drive icon and drive letter, then right click on it and choose Properties, then it should have an AutoPlay tab listed so you can configure it however you like.

    Hope this helps...
     
  3. phr0ze

    phr0ze n00b

    Messages:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Wasn't this posted in the storage section too?
     
  4. raksasas

    raksasas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    477
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Yep, figured this was a better to place to post it since it deals with settings in XP
     
  5. raksasas

    raksasas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    477
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Well I looked at that and the setting was still set to prompt for selections but it's not prompting it just opens it up as if I selected Always perform this task.
     
  6. bbz_Ghost

    bbz_Ghost 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,548
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Your original comment about it "learning" after a few times is probably spot on accurate. I'll do some research and see if there's a way to reset that to "defaults" and report here if I find anything useful.

    Good luck...

    EDIT:

    As is often the case, instead of doing research before making a post, I do it just after I hit "Save" sooo...

    http://www.newmediamusings.com/2003/07/windows_xp_myst.html

    Lots of possible solutions, including one that links to this Microsoft article about AutoPlay and a tool for diagnosing it and possibly repairing it when defective (the download is at the top of the page, a tiny link in the lighter blue color strip, hard to see in some respects):

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/msdnmag/issues/01/11/autoplay/default.aspx

    Also:
    http://www.winbookcorp.com/_technote/WBTA20000846.htm

    So again, hope some of it helps...
     
  7. raksasas

    raksasas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    477
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Normally this wouldn't be a problem but it does throw in a another possible action that might happen in a training video i have to make for work.

    I haven't had any luck finding anything.
     
  8. raksasas

    raksasas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    477
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    As I have already stated I tried the above actions that are listed in two of the sites. I already knew about the Restore defaults and I also double checked the 2 options in the autoplay tab in the properties of the drive before I posted

    The MSDN link might help with the Autoplay Diagnostic Tools which didn't come up for me. I'll look at it more when I get back to work on Thursday.