Autoplay and flash cards.

raksasas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
477
This is probably a better place to ask then then in Disk Storage Systems.

Is it possible to get back the autoplay where you select what you want so to do in xp when you put in a flash carded into a card reader. I am guessing when it is put in to many times it starts opening up the same way every time.

All I could find on google was how to disable it.
 

bbz_Ghost

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2006
Messages
3,548
I would say put the card back into the reader so you get a drive icon and drive letter, then right click on it and choose Properties, then it should have an AutoPlay tab listed so you can configure it however you like.

Hope this helps...
 

raksasas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
477
I would say put the card back into the reader so you get a drive icon and drive letter, then right click on it and choose Properties, then it should have an AutoPlay tab listed so you can configure it however you like.

Hope this helps...

Well I looked at that and the setting was still set to prompt for selections but it's not prompting it just opens it up as if I selected Always perform this task.
 

bbz_Ghost

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2006
Messages
3,548
Your original comment about it "learning" after a few times is probably spot on accurate. I'll do some research and see if there's a way to reset that to "defaults" and report here if I find anything useful.

Good luck...

EDIT:

As is often the case, instead of doing research before making a post, I do it just after I hit "Save" sooo...

http://www.newmediamusings.com/2003/07/windows_xp_myst.html

Lots of possible solutions, including one that links to this Microsoft article about AutoPlay and a tool for diagnosing it and possibly repairing it when defective (the download is at the top of the page, a tiny link in the lighter blue color strip, hard to see in some respects):

http://msdn.microsoft.com/msdnmag/issues/01/11/autoplay/default.aspx

Also:
http://www.winbookcorp.com/_technote/WBTA20000846.htm

So again, hope some of it helps...
 

raksasas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
477
Your original comment about it "learning" after a few times is probably spot on accurate. I'll do some research and see if there's a way to reset that to "defaults" and report here if I find anything useful.

Good luck...

Normally this wouldn't be a problem but it does throw in a another possible action that might happen in a training video i have to make for work.

I haven't had any luck finding anything.
 

raksasas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
477
As I have already stated I tried the above actions that are listed in two of the sites. I already knew about the Restore defaults and I also double checked the 2 options in the autoplay tab in the properties of the drive before I posted

The MSDN link might help with the Autoplay Diagnostic Tools which didn't come up for me. I'll look at it more when I get back to work on Thursday.
 
Top