ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe LGA 1155 Motherboard Review @ [H]

Discussion in 'Intel MoBos' started by Kyle_Bennett, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett Editor-in-Chief HardOCP Staff Member

    Messages:
    52,052
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe LGA 1155 Motherboard Review - The ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe comes from an outstanding pedigree as virtually every board in the ASUS P8xxx series has been excellent. Is this another tremendously worthy entry in the lineup or does this one shy away from its heritage? Read on to learn about our experiences with the P8Z77-V Deluxe.
     
  2. cliche

    cliche Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Thanks for the review. I've had this board since May this year in the UK and am using it now.

    I am grateful for the Asus and SRT caching comparison as I am running a 240GB Samsung 830 as my C drive and a WD black with my old Intel X25M 80GB on the Marvel/Asus SSD caching.

    I agree that the Fan Xpert programme should have been there at the beginning.


    It is interesting to see that you, Kyle, had hit the same issues with the overclocking as I have. Namely circa 4533.7Mhz (105.4 x 43.0) @1.325 V on my overclock using the "Extreme" setting on the software.
    I managed to get c.4.8Mhz using a Corsair H80 previously (didn't make a not of the details), but swapped that cooler due to the noise.


    I don't normally comment on mobo review, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one
     
  3. big dad

    big dad Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    288
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    You think it is worth it vs. the pro edition?
     
  4. VIC-20

    VIC-20 Gawd

    Messages:
    836
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    I was always under the impression the -V designation on Asus models stood for "Value" as in stripped. Not as stripped as LE or -X, but stripped none the less.

    So wouldn't that make this board "Value Deluxe"? Kind of cancels itself out no? lol
     
  5. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    777
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    not really. put it toward something else, or just save the money if you're on a budget.

    great board though. i've been using mine since april i think it is. i will say, the overclocking can be finicky. i spent a loooong time getting my 3770k stable @ 4.7GHz. it would pass prime, intel burn test.. everything. but half an hour into any fairly demanding game, boom. either hard lock or the program would just randomly crash.

    i spent days messing with the bios settings to get it stable @ 4.7. temps were always fine with my h100. in the end i gave up and 'settled' for 4.6. mind you, this is a combination of processor and motherboard.. i'm not really blaming the board in particular.

    that's my experience anyway. i recommend it.
     
  6. cliche

    cliche Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    The Asus website doesn't bring up the specs comparison vs the Pro for some reason, but I recall wanting the extra ESATA connectors (I have 9 drives including DVD in my system) and the Asus variant of SSD caching.

    The latest BIOS is a bit of a pig though.
     
  7. FaRKle0079

    FaRKle0079 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    I'm happy with my Deluxe, but I do wish there were some changes.

    I do wish that the WiFi access point you set up with it re-initalized every time you turned on the computer (after setting it up once) instead of having to manually re-initialize it after every restart. I also wish that the first and second x16 PCI-E slots were only two apart instead of three.
     
  8. nevkil

    nevkil n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    I believe the image links in the performance graph benchmarks are mislabeled or the wrong ones? I see the -M Pro version, but not the Deluxe? Or is that a typo?
     
  9. rive22

    rive22 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,576
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Awesome write up :cool:
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
  10. ibbeebee

    ibbeebee n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Hi Something I'm rather puzzled by, is there any advantage in using the onboard Sata caching if you are using an SSD as your primary drive? . In my case I am researching a new build & will be using a Samsung 830 Series 256GB as my primary drive & a2 TB Seagate Barracuda for storage & some of my games. I play some modded games with installs way too big to fit on the SSD. Will using a small SSD for caching make any difference in a setup like this? Regards Beebee
     
  11. fullvietFX

    fullvietFX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,696
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Pick up a cheap used 256GB/240GB drive like the Vertex 2 just for games. That's what I did. They're about $100 now.
     
  12. cliche

    cliche Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007

    I have an 830 256Gb as my C and my D drive is a WD Black with my old 80Gb X25m SSD as it's transparent cache drive for games etc.

    Yes, it does make a huge difference
     
  13. ibbeebee

    ibbeebee n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Ok small SSD's really cheap now so I will have to look at that as well . As to the other suggestion when I was last playing my Oblivion/Nehrim folder alone was about 500GB! I still need big drives.
    I have 4 750GB Samsung's in my current computer
     
  14. ibbeebee

    ibbeebee n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Ok small SSD's really cheap now so I will have to look at that as well . This information will make me look at my motherboard choice again. I had decided on the ASUS P8Z77-V DELUXE, but I will have another look at the Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H as it has the slot for a cache drive right on the motherboard.

    As to the other suggestion when I was last playing my Oblivion/Nehrim folder alone was about 500GB! I still need big drives.
    I have 4 750GB Samsung's in my current computer
     
  15. cliche

    cliche Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Well my WD black is 2TB but is fast with my old X82M 80Gb on it.

    Besides the 830 Samsung 256Gb as my boot drive
     
  16. ubronan

    ubronan n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    I bought the p8z77v deluxe but having enormous problems getting it running with 16 Gb ram
    Had untill now only serious crashes and bsod, most of the crashdumps does not give a culpritt other then memory.
    However some driver was also a problem but i got those fixed and steady.
    I run alot of programs which do stress the machine alot including some virtual servers, so that means i need a lot of memory. For instance 8 Gb is not enough because the system starts to whine about shortage of memory and wanted to increase my swap space i located (8 Gb)
    but to be honest i rather not have the swapping cause it really slows down the system once it start doing that.
    And those using my virtual server get huge lagging and longer wait times.
    This far when u run with 2 x 8 gb modules all runs fine but when i put in corsair 4 x 4 Gb 1600 Mhz or the 4 x 4 Gb corsair 2000 Mhz memory set the problems begin again
     
  17. cliche

    cliche Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007


    Well I am running 32 gb RAM with 10 gig page file atm with no worries here
     
  18. Razorbak86

    Razorbak86 n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Yeah, I noticed that, too. But if you look at the table of the systems tested on page 4, you'll see that the -V Deluxe is the first system listed in each of the tests. So the -M Pro references in the graphs appear to be mislabeled. The -V Deluxe appears to be the system listed at the top of each performance comparison graph.

    Only the Sandra 2011 Memory Bandwidth graph appears to have been labeled correctly.

     
  19. wadec22

    wadec22 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,797
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Anymore comments on this board? Thinking of finally leaving X58 for this and either a 3770k or 3570k
     
  20. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,365
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Since Haswell is right around the corner, might as well wait for that, or the clearance sales at the retailers.
     
  21. JCNiest5

    JCNiest5 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,653
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Like the previous person said, you've waited this long, might as well wait another few months for Haswell. You will regret buying IB now when Haswell is jus around the corner.
     
  22. cliche

    cliche Gawd

    Messages:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    yup - I love my board as per my previous comments, but wait for Haswell if I was in your position or buy this current board at a discount when Haswell comes out.
     
  23. wadec22

    wadec22 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,797
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    my plan was to wait for haswell, but with a microcenter in town, i'm not sure how long i'll be able to nab the 3770k for 229.99.