Arris SB6183 Cable Modem Possible Overheating: Comcast Customer

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by biggles, Jan 1, 2018.

  1. biggles

    biggles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Having intermittent internet connection issues. Comcast does not show outages in the San Jose area.

    After trying the obvious things like power cycling all networking devices, I noticed the cable modem was quite hot. So I unplugged this for about 10 minutes until it cooled off. Things have been running fine since yesterday. The SB6183 is about 1 year old.

    Is this likely to be a defective modem, or is there something else likely to be causing problems? Recommend replacing SB6183?
     
  2. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,334
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Log into your modem and post your stats. That should give you a better clue if its the modem or Comcast.
     
  3. biggles

    biggles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Status
    The statuses listed show the connection state of the cable modem. They are used by your service provider to evaluate the operation of the cable modem.

    Startup Procedure
    Procedure
    Status Comment
    Acquire Downstream Channel Locked
    Connectivity State OK Operational
    Boot State OK Operational
    Configuration File OK
    Security Enabled BPI+
    DOCSIS Network Access Enabled Allowed


    Downstream Bonded Channels
    Channel
    Lock Status Modulation Channel ID Frequency Power SNR Corrected Uncorrectables
    1 Locked QAM256 10 573000000 Hz 7.3 dBmV 38.7 dB 20358 0
    2 Locked QAM256 1 513000000 Hz 8.2 dBmV 39.3 dB 8679 0
    3 Locked QAM256 3 525000000 Hz 8.3 dBmV 39.3 dB 9650 0
    4 Locked QAM256 4 531000000 Hz 8.4 dBmV 39.2 dB 11953 0
    5 Locked QAM256 6 549000000 Hz 8.2 dBmV 39.0 dB 11765 0
    6 Locked QAM256 7 555000000 Hz 7.8 dBmV 38.9 dB 18296 0
    7 Locked QAM256 8 561000000 Hz 7.5 dBmV 38.8 dB 20072 0
    8 Locked QAM256 11 579000000 Hz 7.3 dBmV 38.7 dB 22180 0
    9 Locked QAM256 12 585000000 Hz 7.3 dBmV 38.6 dB 21718 0
    10 Locked QAM256 13 591000000 Hz 6.9 dBmV 38.3 dB 23828 0
    11 Locked QAM256 14 597000000 Hz 6.7 dBmV 38.3 dB 24440 0
    12 Locked QAM256 15 603000000 Hz 6.6 dBmV 36.9 dB 48019 0
    13 Locked QAM256 16 609000000 Hz 6.3 dBmV 37.2 dB 34920 0
    14 Locked QAM256 18 621000000 Hz 6.1 dBmV 37.8 dB 30493 0
    15 Locked QAM256 29 681000000 Hz 3.8 dBmV 32.1 dB 229979 0
    16 Locked QAM256 25 687000000 Hz 3.8 dBmV 34.7 dB 142974 0


    Upstream Bonded Channels
    Channel
    Lock Status US Channel Type Channel ID Symbol Rate Frequency Power
    1 Locked ATDMA 13 5120 Ksym/sec 19300000 Hz 40.3 dBmV
    2 Locked ATDMA 14 5120 Ksym/sec 25700000 Hz 41.5 dBmV
    3 Locked ATDMA 15 5120 Ksym/sec 32300000 Hz 41.8 dBmV
    4 Locked ATDMA 16 5120 Ksym/sec 38700000 Hz 42.8 dBmV
     
  4. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,334
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Those are not bad at all. In the event logs(on the cable modem) do you notice around the time of the issue any errors?
     
  5. Ehren8879

    Ehren8879 Gots the Vaporwares

    Messages:
    4,225
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    go to the "event log"
     
  6. Kelter

    Kelter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    I'm in San Jose as well with Comcast, and haven't noticed any drops. So, at least somewhere upstream at Comcast, things are ok... doesn't mean your particular area is without issue though.

    Might want to try running a basic ping test from your computer to your router, modem, gateway of the modem (some Comcast node), and something on the internet.... depending where your ping fails when you have an incident, can help to identify where things are broken.

    If you can ping your router but not your modem when you have an issue, probably something wrong with your modem or connection between your router and modem. At that point, might be worth replacing the modem. If you cannot ping your router, then probably the modem is ok and the router is having issues. If you can ping your modem but not your modems gateway, then could be some issue with Comcast. This is a very simplified view of things, but might be a good start.
     
  7. biggles

    biggles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Event Log
    The table below contains the log of events that the SB6183 has detected. This log can be important to the service provider to help diagnose and correct problems, if any should occur.

    Time Priority Description
    Time Not Established Notice (6) Honoring MDD; IP provisioning mode = IPv6
    Time Not Established Critical (3) No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Mon Jan 01 01:17:38 2018 Critical (3) Resetting the cable modem due to docsDevResetNow
    Time Not Established Critical (3) No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
    Sun Dec 31 23:09:39 2017 Critical (3) Resetting the cable modem due to docsDevResetNow
     
  8. x509

    x509 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    I live a bit north of San Jose, and I have also had no drops that I noticed.
    I have a similar setup with an Arris cable modem. How can you ping the cable modem?
     
  9. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,250
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    I doubt the 6183 is overheating. My 6183 lives in a small outdoor shack in direct sunlight that during the summer gets as hot inside as most closed-up cars do when parked in the direct sun. We had periods of 105F+ (exterior temp) during this last summer, yet the modem did fine. It's difficult to imagine a situation where it would overheat while indoors. You would be hard-pressed to find a more reliable modem than the 6183.

    The modem has a diagnostic webpage that can be accessed at http://192.168.100.1/ As a result, you can simply ping 192.168.100.1 if you want to ping the cablemodem.
     
    x509 likes this.
  10. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,334
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    You can also have dslreport ping your public ip which would be pinging your modem from the outside
     
  11. Kelter

    Kelter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    From your error logs, the issue is definitely at the modem. Is it completely due to the modem? Maybe not though. From a google search on the error, the reset is issued remotely via SNMP for various reasons... being that yours is constantly resetting, I would imagine it is due to a connection sync issue or something similar.
    If you have a bunch of splitters or large splitters, remove or replace them to see if it helps the issue. Also, if you have a signal amplifier on the line, maybe remove it to see if it helps. If none of that helps, maybe it's time to replace the modem.
     
  12. codydeweyv2

    codydeweyv2 n00bie

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Check to make sure you are using the correct DC charger for it. I had accidently switched with my Router power cord, which was .5 amps less and caused the modem to drop ocassionally. Based on this Power levels list : http://arris.force.com/consumers/articles/General_FAQs/SB6183-Cable-Signal-Levels
    You are running in spec on your power levels for downstream, but you are under the recommended power for upstream. They say for upstream you want +51 DBmv to 45 DBmv. Looks like you are pushing 40-42. It may be worse when connection issues happen so check that page when it happens again. Call Comcast, they just need to attenuate your lines.
    Good Luck
     
  13. x509

    x509 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Awesome! :love: :)
     
  14. SamirD

    SamirD Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    If the problem is still occurring and you suspect it is because of heat, put a small fan blowing on the modem after unplugging it long enough to completely cool down. If it works fine after this, take the fan off and see if it starts having issues again. If so, then it definitely is your modem.
     
  15. heman22union

    heman22union n00bie

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    You could try running a continuous ping from your computer to 8.8.8.8 You can also log the results to a text file for further review or historical comparison.

    Open command prompt and type in "ping 8.8.8.8 -t -l 1000 >ping.txt" without the "

    the -t makes it continuous
    the -l 1000 sets the packet size to 1000 bytes. That is a lower case L btw.
    > ping.txt just pipes the output to a text file called ping.txt. You should probably put the date on each file i.e. ping-2-13-2018.txt
    Do not close the command prompt as it will stop pinging.

    Let it run for 24 hours or even just 8 hours and do it a few times changing the file name each time. At the end of the text file, there is a summary of the findings. This will test your modem and router.

    When you are having issues, have you completely removed the router form the equation and tried connecting a PC directly to the modem?

    Have you tried changing the Ethernet cable that is between the modem and router? Do you have access to a network cable tester? What is the make and model of your router? What version of the firmware is it running? Is it the latest?