Anyone have experience converting MBR to GPT using this?

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by biggles, Dec 12, 2018.

  1. biggles

    biggles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,753
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    https://www.thewindowsclub.com/mbr2gpt-tool-windows-10
    Previously I thought a Windows install was needed in order to convert from MBR to GPT. This would certainly be easier and much quicker if it works. Goal is to change the desktop from legacy (bios) to UEFI due to the latter having speed advantage.
     
  2. H2R2P2

    H2R2P2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Hmmmm.. This is interesting..

    I would try this in a VM to see what the side effects were before trying on a system that I actually cared about. The only other issue I could see is that there are actual differences in the HAL in BIOS vs. UEFI. Its possible thats why they say you need to use v1703 or higher as maybe they created a way to detect this change and re-create the HAL.
     
  3. biggles

    biggles [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,753
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    It worked for me and completed change from MBR to GPT in less than 30 seconds. And it reduced the boot time (as measured by pressing power button to Windows password login) from 40 to 25 seconds. Not as good as MSI laptop with 6820hk processor that boots in 15 seconds, but an appreciated improvement nonetheless. Verified the change but running msinfo32. Of course had to change UEFI settings afterwards in order to boot UEFI instead of legacy, but otherwise a quick and easy process. All files intact, no data loss.
     
    DrLobotomy likes this.
  4. Anemone

    Anemone Gawd

    Messages:
    875
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    I used the utility as well and converted. Did it a bit over a year ago, have since migrated to a NVME drive (cloning for migration) and it has been just fine. Utility was a breeze and didn't hiccup at all.
     
  5. Jeff G

    Jeff G [H]Lite

    Messages:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Been a while since I used it, but doesnt Rufus do the conversion as well?
     
Tags: