AnyDVD HD Questions

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
So I'm using the free trial at the moment and wished I'd bought it last year but i'm stupid...

HD DVD Penguin docu

So it says rip video dvd to hard disk which I did so now there's two folders instead of copying directly from exploring which i did before and had more files:p

and what the hell do i do now? how the hell do i play this? I tried media portal but it can't play back .evo files or something.

should I have done rip to Image? and what the hell am I trying to do here anyway, I mean how can play this stuff after ripping?

I'm completely lost on this and its not like ripping a music CD which I can do at least!

thanks..
 

Killroy

Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
727
What you want to do is rip the movie to an image. Once the image has been created, you can use Virtual Clone Drive or Daemon Tools to mount the image, and then use TotalMedia Theatre or PowerDVD to play it.
 

valve1138

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
11,254
You need a player that supports HD-DVD playback from a hard drive. Media Portal doesn't apparently.

No need to rip to an image and then mount it. Mounting the image gets you the same thing you have now.
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
What you want to do is rip the movie to an image. Once the image has been created, you can use Virtual Clone Drive or Daemon Tools to mount the image, and then use TotalMedia Theatre or PowerDVD to play it.

Why the image and not the other one? is image the iso? So it should work fine in PowerDVD Ultra 7? I suppose it would be the same way for Blu-ray?

If I keep doing this what's the amount of space used? for ripping blu-ray or hd dvd would it take a drive larger than 320GBs? i've got around 20 HD DVD and 25 Blu-rays.
 

qwerty30

Weaksauce
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
69
yup, rip it to an iso image instead and mount it to a virtual drive. However, whatever blueray software you're using for playback should be able to read the files in the folder you ripped it to (like playing .vob files with dvd), however, the isos are much easier to manage imo
 

rhouck

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 15, 2002
Messages
3,597
If I keep doing this what's the amount of space used? for ripping blu-ray or hd dvd would it take a drive larger than 320GBs? i've got around 20 HD DVD and 25 Blu-rays.

You are going to be WAY over ripping the full image that way.

My full disc HD DVD rips average about 25gb each, Bluray rips closer to 40gb+ each.

At the very least you'll want to look into extracting only the main movie and audio track and tossing it in a mkv.

If you only have 320gb though you'll probably want to look into h.264 encoding as well...
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
You are going to be WAY over ripping the full image that way.

My full disc HD DVD rips average about 25gb each, Bluray rips closer to 40gb+ each.

At the very least you'll want to look into extracting only the main movie and audio track and tossing it in a mkv.

If you only have 320gb though you'll probably want to look into h.264 encoding as well...

I'm thinking of getting a new hard drive for rips exclusively and have no idea of the size. I currently have a 500GB LaCie that i'm using for random stuff would that work instead? I can move the junk to my Maxtor and some other drives and burn on DVDs
 

Helicopter

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
271
You are going to be WAY over ripping the full image that way.

My full disc HD DVD rips average about 25gb each, Bluray rips closer to 40gb+ each.

At the very least you'll want to look into extracting only the main movie and audio track and tossing it in a mkv.

If you only have 320gb though you'll probably want to look into h.264 encoding as well...

Encoding into a mkv is the best option for saving space. It's not too hard to strike a good balance between space, and quality with H.264. Most of my encodes are around 10-13GB, and are for the most part, transparent to the source.

If you are ripping HD DVD (.evo) than use EvoDemuxer, and TSMuxer, and turn it into a .m2ts. Here's a great thread with instructions...

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1334425
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
Is there any better software? TMT in the current state seems to have gotten rid of HD DVD playback so should I just keep my PowerDVD Ultra 7 (whatever the final update was..)? Its just that PowerDVD has a bad habit of getting annoying at times when I'm playing Blu-ray or HD DVD. for both playback or at least just for Blu-ray only? what's the best option for BD-Live?

thanks for the help guys!
 

heatlesssun

Extremely [H]
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
44,154
Is there any better software? TMT in the current state seems to have gotten rid of HD DVD playback so should I just keep my PowerDVD Ultra 7 (whatever the final update was..)? Its just that PowerDVD has a bad habit of getting annoying at times when I'm playing Blu-ray or HD DVD. for both playback or at least just for Blu-ray only? what's the best option for BD-Live?

thanks for the help guys!

TMT (Total Media Theater) still supports HD DVD playback though I don't have an HD DVD drive to try it out.
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
which one are you using? I mean are you using 3 or any of the earlier ones?



EDIT: I'm fucking idiot. Damn it I need to read closer.
 
Last edited:

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
I'll just post this here instead of a new thread but why the hell does Cyberlink and Arcsoft in their Blu-ray playback programs report that I can't do BD-Live and BonusView with Arcsoft including that I don't have a player? Have these programs ever worked? I can do everything and yet it shows that I need to upgrade.
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
Encoding into a mkv is the best option for saving space. It's not too hard to strike a good balance between space, and quality with H.264. Most of my encodes are around 10-13GB, and are for the most part, transparent to the source.

If you are ripping HD DVD (.evo) than use EvoDemuxer, and TSMuxer, and turn it into a .m2ts. Here's a great thread with instructions...

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1334425


just curious but would that work in burning to a DVD from an HD DVD? I know that HD DVD is better compared to DVD but is it possible this way to burn it to a DVD if Blu-ray was not an option or is there another way? or would zip or some sort of archival format work in putting it on DVD, [obviously i'm trying to word it somehow that is acceptable here;)]

I had to reformat my LaCie 500GB drive from Fat32 to NTFS. I have no idea how the hell it was in Fat32 luckily I only had to move 189GBs worth of junk to reformat. Also had to DL Virtual Clone Drive from Slysoft since Daemon doesn't work right with these ISOs. It use to work all the time for me before this but that was a long time ago and before HD DVD anyway.
 

Odin75

Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
739
just curious but would that work in burning to a DVD from an HD DVD? I know that HD DVD is better compared to DVD but is it possible this way to burn it to a DVD if Blu-ray was not an option or is there another way? or would zip or some sort of archival format work in putting it on DVD, [obviously i'm trying to word it somehow that is acceptable here;)]
Are you trying to simply store it in a computer, or perhaps play it using a game console?
If you only want to store, just do what he said and make it an MKV, and compress it even more. The size of a single-layer DVD (around 4.3 GB) should be enough to store 1 movie in 720p in very good quality. You can extract the Dolby Digital track untouched, and then compress the video keeping the 720p resolution just enough so it fits the disk. Longer movies require more compression. Feel free to check some pirate sites, not to download, but to get an idea of what compression settings are best. Those guys are masters in encoding. They always have the settings used under the file description, you don't even have to download anything. And don't ZIP the file, because you won't be able to compress it, you might possibly make it bigger. ZIP It is only efficient with pictures, not so much with other stuff.

But if you have a game console, why not turn it into an MP4 file? Use H.264 for video and AAC for audio (supports 5.1 too). Then, just burn the file into a DVD. Those should play fine in your computers as well as the PS3 (I think Xbox360 too, but I haven't tried it), as long as it is in a MP4 container. But not, you won't be able to play it in a regular DVD player. It will detect the file, but it won't play it because it will be missing the H.264 and AAC codecs.

As for actual step by step instruction, I'm not completely sure. I know how it works, and know people that do this, I just haven't had a chance to try it myself.
 
Last edited:

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
what would work universally? not just for Xbox or PS3. Dvix or Xvid seem to be floating around the net and I don't know anything other than they're not developed by Circuit City in that stupid and senseless idea they had but that was just the damn management which plague them since inception, as for audio could be converted to stereo? or some down mix and still work?

I'll just look around then. I only want to do this once.
 

Odin75

Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
739
There is nothing that will work universally. Dvix and Xvid are not supported in some dvd players anyways, so even if you did that you would still encounter problems. But please, don't use that codec, H.264 is so much better.

The most used format now is MP4 with H.264 codec for video, and AAC for audio. Computers use it, Consoles use it, iPods use, iPhones use it. Heck, even Adobe flash supports it. It's everywhere, and that's because it super efficient. Of course, the mobile devices use lower resolution and bit-rate versions (lower profile number), but is essentially the same. I suggest you pick some iteration of it, because it's already the standard. MKV for computer use only, or MP4 is you want more flexibility.
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
but would dvd players of any age newer or slightly older be able to handle that? if I can do this just once and hopefully it works on any dvd player more or less the stand alones not the consoles or computer drives though I could always hook up an external DVD Recorder and do it that way.

I suppose that would work better? use component out from my eVGA 8800GT Akimbo to an external Lite-on LVW-1105GHC DVD recorder that would burn directly to a dvd but would the quality be decent?

It would be better if commercials weren't shown on TV on any channel then I wouldn't have to try this and also that the dvr does not record commercials when recording the movie:)

cheap HD DVDs are cheap!
 

Helicopter

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
271
just curious but would that work in burning to a DVD from an HD DVD? I know that HD DVD is better compared to DVD but is it possible this way to burn it to a DVD if Blu-ray was not an option or is there another way? or would zip or some sort of archival format work in putting it on DVD, [obviously i'm trying to word it somehow that is acceptable here;)]

I had to reformat my LaCie 500GB drive from Fat32 to NTFS. I have no idea how the hell it was in Fat32 luckily I only had to move 189GBs worth of junk to reformat. Also had to DL Virtual Clone Drive from Slysoft since Daemon doesn't work right with these ISOs. It use to work all the time for me before this but that was a long time ago and before HD DVD anyway.

HD DVD files straight to DVD I am not sure about, well, pretty sure it wouldn't work if you want to play it on a DVD player, it would need to me in DVD format VOB's and such. You could use the conversion process, and convert to a MKV, then use ConvertXtoDVD to convert the MKV into a DVD5 or 9, I have done this with great success, BUT you are looking at a ridiculously long process with the encode to MKV. I've been encoding movies to MKV, but when I need space back I use ConvertX to put them into DVD format, and burn to DVD for storage, or simply delete, but I am kind of a packrat.

I haven't experimented with a lot of tools out there, I found what works for me, and have generally stuck to it. There maybe a program out there that does either TS, or m2ts to DVD, which would great reduce the time transfering BD, and HDDVD to DVD.
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
damn i'll have to play around then uless i can score a cheap copy somehow but HD DVD was cheaper!
 

Odin75

Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
739
but would dvd players of any age newer or slightly older be able to handle that? if I can do this just once and hopefully it works on any dvd player more or less the stand alones not the consoles or computer drives though I could always hook up an external DVD Recorder and do it that way.

I suppose that would work better? use component out from my eVGA 8800GT Akimbo to an external Lite-on LVW-1105GHC DVD recorder that would burn directly to a dvd but would the quality be decent?

It would be better if commercials weren't shown on TV on any channel then I wouldn't have to try this and also that the dvr does not record commercials when recording the movie:)

cheap HD DVDs are cheap!
What the hell are you really trying to do? You have me all confused.
I already told you DVD players won't play MP4 files, only DVD format like the guy above me said. It will read the disk, but it won't play the movie.

And the idea of recording your HD-DVDs using a DVD recorder, connected to your videocard by component, won't work the way you think. Why? Because you are for forgetting about HDCP. That is the new protection in HD-DVDs and Blu-Ray movies, and it will lower the quality even before it reaches the DVD recorder. You need a HDCP videocard and monitor, connected with a digital cable, and only then can you preserve the quality. You are suppose to watch the movies, not copy them, that's why HDCP exists.

Really man, what are you trying to do? You can easily buy a 1TB hard-drive, and an external enclosure for only $100. That should be enough space for about 200 movies. 720p resolution video, and Dolby Digital (mvk) or AAC (mp4) audio. This way you skip all the crap that HDCP brings, you preserve the great quality, and you can carry the hard-drive around with you. Take it to your laptop, desktop, friends house, whatever. Only requirement is to plug it into a H.264 capable device with a USB connector.

Call me crazy, but I think you are over complicating things. Or perhaps I don't understand your problem fully.
But anyways, what does TV commercials have to do with anything? lol.
 

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
Thanks everyone for the previous efforts which helped me a lot:D

Ripping to the HD was the main goal but I wanted also to try going to DVD.

I know I've not worded this clearly but I don't think we can talk about here anyway. Since getting AnyDVD HD I thought I would try to copy 1 HD DVD movie onto DVD which I've been meaning to for someone.

As far as HDCP goes I thought AnyDVD HD striped that so you can watch the movie on a CRT monitor if one wanted to do. I use DVI and DVI to HDMI when on the TV.

The 8800GT card has component out so I thought since if I can't get it right working to a DVD through .mkv or whatever I would play it on the computer and copy it using the stand alone DVD recorder which I know would lower the quality somewhat but should ultimately be readable on any DVD player since I've not had any troubles with it.

hopefully this clears everything up;)
 

karkas

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
67
Just wanted to clear up some confusion... XviD, DivX, and H.264 are video compression techniques often erroneously referred to as codecs, but for our purposes that's acceptable enough. XviD is the open source version of DivX, so its usually used instead because its free. x264 (AKA H.264, AVC, MPEG4-part 10) is generally better, but whoever said H.264 is vastly better than XviD & DivX is overstating it a bit. It is definitely better, but not by a huge margin. x264 compression gives you the same quality at somewhat lower bitrate. I think it's like 10-20% at most, but I'm not certain about the %.

If you have a slower computer it makes sense to use XviD or DivX over x264 because it encodes in a fraction of the time compared to x264 and also requires much less CPU power to decode on playback. But again, if you can spare the time and have the horsepower x264 > all.

HDCP is not a problem on your computer when you have AnyDVD HD, because it removes HDCP requirements when it cracks the DRM on playback.

Here's how you easily do what you want to playback a single file on the computer at a much smaller size.

1) Rip the HD-DVD/Blu-Ray to .iso and mount with a virtual drive like daemon tools or Slysoft's Virtual Clone Drive.

2) Download Clown_BD, eac3to, tsMuxer Package & feed the mounted iso to it. Let it output as .TS or .M2TS.

3) Playback with VLC or Media Player Classic Home Cinema.

4) If you can't playback on other devices and want to reencode to a compatable container or smaller file size feed the ClownBD output to HDconverttoX

5) If you want to burn to DVD ClownBD does that too, but I forget if it will do DVD5 or 9. If not AVCHDCoder does.
Good Luck
 
Last edited:

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
5) If you want to burn to DVD ClownBD does that too, but I forget if it will do DVD5 or 9. If not AVCHDCoder does.
Good Luck

is DVD5 or 9 the disc type? or something to do with the layer? So would I have to start from 2 since I can mount and play it fine using Virtual Clone Drive and PowerDVD Ultra 7 to 5 to burn it onto DVD? I currently have 4.7GB Imation DVD-R discs would that work fine?

I didn't mean to confuse everyone but I was trying to do 2 different things. I completed 1 now I'm trying to do the second one by trying to burn a movie for somebody...thanks
 

karkas

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
67
is DVD5 or 9 the disc type? or something to do with the layer? So would I have to start from 2 since I can mount and play it fine using Virtual Clone Drive and PowerDVD Ultra 7 to 5 to burn it onto DVD? I currently have 4.7GB Imation DVD-R discs would that work fine?

I didn't mean to confuse everyone but I was trying to do 2 different things. I completed 1 now I'm trying to do the second one by trying to burn a movie for somebody...thanks

Sorry about that.... DVD 5 = single layer (4.7GB); DVD-9 = Dual layer (8 GB)

Yes, you can skip step 1

EDIT: I should note, your friend should be able to playback the DVD in an HD capable player (HD-DVD or BR).Unfortunately I don't think the disks will work in a standard def player because it can't output the resolution. I never burn anything though, so I'm mostly guessing...
 
Last edited:

VA Supremacy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
475
Thanks
I'll see what the hell happens you never know until you try but then sometimes it shouldn't be tried at all and this might be that time oh well...
 

karkas

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
67
Thanks
I'll see what the hell happens you never know until you try but then sometimes it shouldn't be tried at all and this might be that time oh well...

Na, its cake. If you can't get figure out ClownBD with HD content, send me a PM and I'll send you a screencast video that I made to teach my father in law how to rip & re-encode his HD-DVDs & Blu-Rays.
 

JenoSidhe

n00b
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
52
I'm thinking of getting a new hard drive for rips exclusively and have no idea of the size. I currently have a 500GB LaCie that i'm using for random stuff would that work instead? I can move the junk to my Maxtor and some other drives and burn on DVDs

i have got most of my rips to about 7-12 Gbs per. i use ripbot264 and do it as a mkv.

i am stuck where a have a seagate 1.5tb that i can only use as storage cause im sure it has the bad firmware though they claim it doesnt, and it doesnt fail tests, but as soon as i install an OS it crashes nonstop, as a media drive it works without problems. my other drive is only 500Gbs but i wont upgrade to less than 1.5tbs since my machine only holds 2 drives. just dont want to fork out the cash for another 1.5 seagate which could have the same prob as mine currently.
 

Helicopter

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
271
i have got most of my rips to about 7-12 Gbs per. i use ripbot264 and do it as a mkv.

i am stuck where a have a seagate 1.5tb that i can only use as storage cause im sure it has the bad firmware though they claim it doesnt, and it doesnt fail tests, but as soon as i install an OS it crashes nonstop, as a media drive it works without problems. my other drive is only 500Gbs but i wont upgrade to less than 1.5tbs since my machine only holds 2 drives. just dont want to fork out the cash for another 1.5 seagate which could have the same prob as mine currently.

If getting into HD video, I wouldn't get less than a 1T regardless :p those GB's stack up quick.
 

Snowknight26

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,277
x264 (AKA H.264, AVC, MPEG4-part 10) is generally better, but whoever said H.264 is vastly better than XviD & DivX is overstating it a bit. It is definitely better, but not by a huge margin. x264 compression gives you the same quality at somewhat lower bitrate. I think it's like 10-20% at most, but I'm not certain about the %.

Hate to nitpick, but x264 is a piece of software and isn't the same as H.264 or AVC/MPEG-4. x264 writes H.264 streams.

With that out of the way, H.264 (at least when using x264) is vastly superior to Xvid or DivX at all bitrates. http://mirror05.x264.nl/Dark/website/compare.html
 

karkas

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
67
Hate to nitpick, but x264 is a piece of software and isn't the same as H.264 or AVC/MPEG-4. x264 writes H.264 streams.

Yeah, you are right. I usually just refer to it as AVC, but since I was referring to encoding I picked the open source encoder that is tossed around a lot. Of course, I even see people complain when you refer to it as H.264, because they say that simply a document of ITU-T H.264. AVC gets confused with sony/panasonics proprietary AVCHD format. And who wants to type out MPEG 4 part 10?

I really hate the current alphabet soup of video & audio codecs. People really need to settle on 1 standard naming scheme because to anyone not deeply entrenched in this stuff is very quickly confused.

With that out of the way, H.264 (at least when using x264) is vastly superior to Xvid or DivX at all bitrates. http://mirror05.x264.nl/Dark/website/compare.html

Not ALL bitrates. That link compares H.264 encoders to Xvid/DivX at the same bit rate. Not really a surprise that Xvid/DivX looks worse at the same bitrate. If you perform the same comparison but encode XviD/DivX at a higher bitrate it will be comparable (not the same) to x264.

But I think we should drop the side debate since we are way off OPs topic here and simply agree there is pleanty of debate over this stuff.
 

JenoSidhe

n00b
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
52
If getting into HD video, I wouldn't get less than a 1T regardless :p those GB's stack up quick.

Yeah thats exactly the issue i have, i wont spend money for anything less than 1.5tbs, but dont have the money for what i want, so instead ill just wait till i can prolly just get a 2gb and be done with it for awhile.
 
Top