Any tips before i go into this?

TopGun

Gawd
I've been doing odd computer jobs for people for a couple years and was thinking
of throwing some flyers up and get the whole word of mouth thing started in my town.
There's a Mom and Pop style computer shop that overcharges and most of the time doesn't even fix the problem, They're also lost in the newer technology considering they use
p4 2.0's with mx 4000's as there "Lightning fast gaming computers".

So I was thinking of starting out with reinstalls and spyware removal but not hardware
until I get a good reputation. Would it be fine to order say a motherboard replacement from Newegg?, What if I get it and it's DOA? What would I tell the customer? BTW this wouldn't be a shop just something where people drop there pc's off here to be cleaned, reinstalled, etc.. I'm only 16.

-Thanks
TopGun

I want to do something similar in my town as well. I'm 16 also lol. Anyone have any suggestions?

Go try to get an a+ cert. Even if you dont learn anything, it makes you sound credible on paper.

Also, always dress nicely, try to have a "uniform" if you can, like always wear a red polo and khakis when you do work for instance.

Make sure to keep track of all of your earnings and expenses in case the IRS swings by for a drink.

Also, make sure to always use proper grammar and speech, helps make you sound professional.

Lastly, youl want to write up a liability form in which you indicate the condition of the pc, along with any extra cords, peripherals, hardware inside, cdroms, and anything else you can describe about it, and have the customer read this and sign it. This protects you in case the customer thinks you did something to the pc.

As for pricing and whatnot, setup a hourly labor rate and classify each kind of typical service into tiers
Example:

Labor: $25 an hour

Tier 1 jobs: $50, 2 hours
Spyware/virus removal
Basic Software installation (ms office, etc)
Email Config

Tier 2: $75, 3 Hours
Networking setup (wifi, etc)