Any input on a cheap office update

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nimisys, Sep 7, 2018.

  1. Nimisys

    Nimisys PM Kyle for the TItle You Pick.

    Messages:
    16,453
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    looking to update a rig at work, this will be 100% office use. no gaming, not even solitaire. Email, video watching, Office typing, light database usage, etc. will probably stick around in that role for 5 years or more. only requirement is i have to clone the current OS and software install. budget is ~$500-750 USD. current machine sits in a mATX case, with an A6000-series AMD hexcore and Win7. HDD is WD blue 500 GB spinner.


    AMD Ryzen 5 2400G Processor with Radeon RX Vega 11 Graphics & Gigabyte GA-AB350M-DS3H mATX


    Patriot Signature Line DDR4 16GB (2 x 8GB) 2666MHz


    Corsair CX Series 450 Watt 80 Plus Bronze Certified Modular Power Supply


    Samsung 860 Evo 500GB


    Power supply might not be needed, but given the cost and age, i am inclined to acquire. i know the output is overkill, but lower output actually means more money for any decent brand.
     
  2. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,485
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    looks fine, maybe only need 8Gb(2x4) for an office system. yes id go with a new psu. going amd to amd hopefully wont freak out win7.
     
  3. Nimisys

    Nimisys PM Kyle for the TItle You Pick.

    Messages:
    16,453
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Reason for the high ram amount is user habits, ie leaving chrome open forever and a day, restarts only when windows forces it sort of person. Normal usage sees about 70% committed of it's 6gb currently. Could make do with 8, but rather have more and not have to worry about bad habuts causing headaches.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  4. Zareek

    Zareek [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    I would opt for a different MB brand. After my support fiasco with Gigabyte earlier this year, I don't trust them anymore. Also be careful with RAM and the Ryzen chips, they are finicky about it. Looks like someone else had some luck with that kit. I assume your safe then.
     
  5. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,485
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    and I haven't had a Gb product fail, ever, in probably hundreds of systems built. the ram is a good point, so maybe just check reviews on the board you chose and double check the ram qvl, just in case.
     
  6. Nimisys

    Nimisys PM Kyle for the TItle You Pick.

    Messages:
    16,453
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Turns out power supply will be needed: got a call this morning in it had died.
     
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,485
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    there ya go. the universe answered that question for ya.