Ampere ETH Memory Clocks

NobleX13

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
3,591
What are you guys running for memory clocks on your Ampere GPUs for Ethereum mining? I can't seem to hit the 2500Mhz+ numbers on my RTX 3080 that other people seem to hit without issue. Right now I am sitting at -200 core, 2200 mem, 230W Power Limit. Any higher on the memory and I get invalid shares or a full hard lock.

Somebody said to increase fan speeds, but I haven't tried that yet. Right now I have everything set to auto. This is an open-air rig, so temps on the GPU core are in the mid-50s.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,656
2500Mhz?
afterburner maxes out at 1500Mhz.

I’ve found my EVGA X3 to run fine at 1467Mhz and a tick higher lowers hash rate
And my Asus Tuf OC to run fine at 1452Mhz and a tick higer lowers hash rate.

I get 102.4 MHs on both cards at 221 watts on the Asus Tuf and 245 watts on the EVGA X3.

Asus Tuf uses 65% power target and a single tick lower lowers hash rate
EVGA X3 uses 72% power target and a single tick lower lowers hash rate

Core MHz offset does nothing for me.
 
Last edited:

NobleX13

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
3,591
2500Mhz?
afterburner maxes out at 1500Mhz.

I’ve found my EVGA X3 to run fine at 1467Mhz and a tick higher lowers hash rate
And my Asus Tuf OC to run fine at 1452Mhz and a tick higer lowers hash rate.

I get 102.4 MHz on both cards at 221 watts on the Asus Tuf and 245 watts on the EVGA X3.

asus Tuf uses 65% power target and a tick lower lowers hash rate
EVGA X3 uses 72% power target and a tick lower lowers hash rate

Core MHz offset does nothing for me.
I am using HiveOS, and it reports a doubled frequency value. If in Windows it’s +800Mhz, then the value here would be 1600.

1610558855994.png

1610558882826.png
 

pclausen

Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
561
The RTX 3080 has a memory clock of 19000 MHz.

On my EVGA FTW3 Ultra, I'm able to boost that by 1200 MHz and be stable:

3080MEM_2.PNG


Which in theory would be 19000 + 1200 = 20200 MHz. In Windows, this is reported as half that, so 10100 MHz. In real-life, it seems to boost a little higher than that. In my case, to 10451 MHz:

3080MEM_1.PNG


That's my theory anyways.
 
Last edited:

SLee

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
959
The RTX 3080 has a memory clock of 19000 MHz.

On my EVGA FTW3 Ultra, I'm able to boost that by 1200 MHz and be stable:


Which in theory would be 19000 + 1200 = 20200 MHz. In Windows, this is reported as half that, so 10100 MHz. In real-life, it seems to boost a little higher than that. In my case, to 10451 MHz:
With Windows and not changing the default P2 State on Cuda setting, this is how your card ends up at 10451:

Default: 9500
P2 State on Cuda application, downclocks by 250: 9250
Overclock: 9250+1200 = 10450 (rounded to 10451 probably due to the clock generator increments)
 

vegeta535

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
5,402
I been trying my hand at mining and can't seem to get only 92-94MH/s. If I set memory over +750 my has rates drop. This is on a 3080 ftw 3 ultra.
 

nealx01

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
104
I been trying my hand at mining and can't seem to get only 92-94MH/s. If I set memory over +750 my has rates drop. This is on a 3080 ftw 3 ultra.
thats about right for a 3080. the FTW3 series is a colossal pain in the ass this generation. i had to shunt mod the PCIE slot shunt to get my ftw3 3090 to finally act as expected. bone stock my 80fe will hum along at about 85mh and with a +1000 offset im getting about 93-96mh. the 3090s i have will get about 105mh stock and up to 120mh. 3070 and 3060ti get about 53-55mh (i havent had time to get to adjusting them from stock yet) each. so if your buying either of these go for the cheapest 3060TIs you can.


i have a few 6800s and they all get about 61MH/s and totally suck with over/underclocking. i dont even bother adjusting them from stock. i absolutely HATE radeon overclocking and adrenaline.
if i could, id just get all 3060TIs from here on out. and have an order for 6 to come god knows when.
 

vegeta535

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
5,402
thats about right for a 3080. the FTW3 series is a colossal pain in the ass this generation. i had to shunt mod the PCIE slot shunt to get my ftw3 3090 to finally act as expected. bone stock my 80fe will hum along at about 85mh and with a +1000 offset im getting about 93-96mh. the 3090s i have will get about 105mh stock and up to 120mh. 3070 and 3060ti get about 53-55mh (i havent had time to get to adjusting them from stock yet) each. so if your buying either of these go for the cheapest 3060TIs you can.


i have a few 6800s and they all get about 61MH/s and totally suck with over/underclocking. i dont even bother adjusting them from stock. i absolutely HATE radeon overclocking and adrenaline.
if i could, id just get all 3060TIs from here on out. and have an order for 6 to come god knows when.
That is good to know thanks. I am not planning to go crazy with it. I just mine with hardware I got when not using my pc. Tho I could build a pc and set it up at work to mine for free >.>
 
Top