Amd vega 8 driver 18.51 install mod

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by zalazin, Jun 22, 2018.

  1. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    I just got this file https://ufile.io/zpcmd form HP forums

    it is the CUMManifest.xml file that has been modified for the Adrenaline 18.51 package to allow install of the the mobile Vega 8 driver on the HP x360 R 2500u laptop. Just extract the driver package and replace that file in the config folder with the one from the link.. and run setup

    I still had to manually install the 18 May driver using the device manager although you may not have to do that.

    The driver appears to be completely stable and runs all my games and Vulkan with no problems.. It even enables Freesync

    Finally a current driver that works!!!!

    MY Final comment WTF couldn't AMD havre done this?......

    PS this only works with the 18.51s
     
  2. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Thank God for you good person. I have this laptop and I force installed an older version of the Vega driver.

    It kind of worked, but their were certainly issues.

    Are you able to adjust brightness after putting it in sleep mode? Are you able to open and modify the AMD software suite? (Where you can change resolution, scaling, game settings etc..)

    (I couldn't do those things after I force installed)
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2018
  3. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    So far yes I can do all you said. The original poster is on the hp forum ryzen 360 crashes post 8 pages if you want to read those posts said he didn't need to manually install the driver, but I had been using an Acer version and I was forced to do a manual device driver install from the INF file in the 18.51 extracted package. I had been trying all different driver packages for this machine. I know how you feel and hope this works as good as it did for me. The original poster in the HP forum should get a medal for this. Please let me know if works ok.....
     
  4. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Will do haha, thanks for passing it along. I'll get the chance to install it next week and update further with my results (I understand the risks involved of course)
     
  5. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    see I told you to look for a modded driver and again, this is on HP not AMD. you may also want to DDU and reinstall just the modded driver. might fix you stutter prob in you other other other thread...
     
  6. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    And by the way this driver package came from AMD site not HP so much for you telling me to only use the HP driver package....Have a nice day.....
     
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yeah and? you took the generic amd one and modded it like I told you you could.
     
  8. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    I did not mod it another user did and posted the link in the HP forums...and I thank him for that, also he is not an HP tech or employee...

    While I'm at it If I have insulted anyone out there I apologize. It seems to me that we are a brotherhood of enthusiasts and we should treat each other with respect
    ...and sometimes it is lacking. I will always try to help if possible and try not to offend any of you..have a great weekend to each and every one of us............
     
  9. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    I finally got around to installing this and looking through the HP thread.

    Happy to report it all worked for me. Only thing I wish worked was I can't seem to access "AMD Radeon Settings".
    The option is there, but it (sadly rightfully) pops up with a message reading "Radeon Settings and Driver versions do not match. Please try again after updating to the latest version(s)."

    Curious if you have encountered this issue or have already updated to newer versions?
     
  10. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    hp has an update from the end of june that is prob this and the cc will work.
     
  11. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Interesting, I will have to look into this. Though when checking the details of the latest driver on their site (June 27) it mentions something about Catalyst control center which doesn't sound quite right. Regardless I will keep my eye out, I am glad to actually see some official updates to this laptop!
     
  12. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Actually I am currently using the 18.71 AMD finally added Vega 8 support and they are the best so far ....
     
    Neapolitan6th likes this.
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  14. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Whats up with the Radeon Software 317 MB Adrenalin Edition 18.8.1 Optional 8/6/2018?
     
  15. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    bug fix maybe. what do you mean by "what is up with"?
     
  16. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Was curious about the 18.8.1 driver if the Vega 8 works, thanks
     
  17. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    idk, try it. zala says that amd has added the mobile stuff to the installer so it should work.
     
  18. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Well I tried it and got 182 error hardware not recognized or something. I was able to force install the inf file the actual driver updated okay. I then manually ran the ccc2 setup file but then DOOM crashed BSOD when I tried to run the game. I think Vulkan was screwed up because there is a bunch of Vulkan ext etc in this 18.81 package. I reimaged back to 18.71 no problems. I again forced installed JUST the inf file and was still able to run Doom Vulkan. I wish AMD would would JUST properly support the mobile Ryzen vega 8. This is just more of the SOS......
     
  19. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Can you install the inf, then install the Adrenalin suite & have the Control Center as well? Thats what I have done in the past.

    I'm still waiting on my device to arrive is all, so cannot test myself. First game I wanna test is Far Cry 5 & Forza 7
     
  20. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    That's exactly what I did. The CCC2 setup file installs the suite and control panel. It even said 18.81 was installed but then the BSOD happened in Doom. When I installed 18.71s I had to do the same exact procedure and everything worked fine. I would think the changes to Vulkan have something to do with this.......
     
  21. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Okay cool, so in the Adrenalin suite can we overclock the GPU any? Does AMD Overdrive work with the system, I wonder like AMD A8-A12 etc APU's Trinity APU's work on AMD Overdrive.

    Or MSI Afterburner?
     
  22. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    I haven't tried any overclocking on this whole ryzen apu laptop I don't think it has enough stability to do it........
     
  23. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Thanks so much for the quick reply. I just hope I can keep the GPU above 1Ghz & The CPU at 2Ghz bare minimum in game.
     
  24. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    DO NOT overclock a laptop unless it was designed for it with the cooling to handle it. those HPs are not beefy enough.
     
  25. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Yeah, though I'd say if undervolting were possible I'd be a worthy avenue to investigate.
     
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    its a laptop not a tower. most are not capable of overclocking, they are simply not built for it.
     
  27. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Has anyone noticed better performance with windows set to "High Performance" mode? or is it not worth it bothering with it.
     
  28. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,502
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    it might give you a bit better performance as it keeps the cpu at max full time on ac and disables power saving crap. on laptops I usually set it to that then customize it a bit.
     
  29. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Does the GPU have 16 ROP for real? I see mixed results, some show 8, some show 16 ROP?
    4icfz907krm2lgz7g.jpg
     
  30. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Just got the Laptop it reports 8 ROP, instead & also I tried 18.8.1 & it wouldn't install, not even via Dev Manager. So I guess I'll use 18.7.1 you say?

    Any ideas on the loads of unknown devices in Dev Manager?

    I can report I'm using Windows 10 14393 build & its reporting higher CPU clocks than the newer 1803 creators update, also noticing more performance so far. The CPU is clocking to 3.2Ghz regularly compared to only 2.8Ghz on 1803.
     
  31. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    My question is how are you downloading the latest drivers? Since on AMD.com they only show up under Desktop APU. Thanks
     
  32. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    As far as I understand it, the desktop APU drivers are the ones people use on the mobile parts.

    I even think I got a normal Vega driver to work as well before desktop Raven Ridge had released. (Strange how a Vega 64 driver would work right?)
     
  33. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Thanks. I went down the list found Vega 8 graphics & it installed but said "The selected driver doesn't support this version of Windows" weird issue. Thats the 18.8.1...

    So I guess I'm forced to use the driver from HP? I'm downloading 18.7.1 as well to test...

    Which driver should I use thats more up to date than the one on HPs website?

    AMD High-Definition Graphics Driver (Windows 10 v1803)

    23.20.826.1792 Rev.A 422.2 MB Jun 27, 2018
     
  34. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    I can't find a working driver as of yet, can anyone help who has the laptop? Thanks It's the HP Envy X360
     
  35. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    If you'd like, I can upload the original .xml linked by the OP for Adrenalin 18.51 since it is not available anymore.

    Then you should be able to download Adrenalin 18.51 from a website such as guru3d.com. Then just replace the old xml with the one listed here.

    Not sure if that will fix your windows problem though.
     
    chris89 likes this.
  36. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    That would be very nice of you because he said he is on 18.71s now but I can't get anything to install, thank you. Try uploading the Mediafire.com or somethinig thanks again
     
  37. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Will be able to in about an hour. In the meantime a Yotube user named TechEpiphany has some videos related to force installing drivers to the x360.

    This one and some of his others may be of help.

     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018
  38. chris89

    chris89 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    I'm going to try it, so will I not have Crimson Control Center or whatever? Does anyone have the control center working? Also is it possible my version of Windows 10 is incompatible with a driver? That makes no sense at all.
     
  39. zalazin

    zalazin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    I have been tempted to uninstall the vega 8 drivers totally use the HP june driver package and then update to the 18.81 if possible. I can always restore from my disk image. It just gets to be a hassle to have mess around with the drivers all the time. Right now I am running the inf driver from the 18.81 but the control center from the 18.71....and everything seems to be working fine...
     
  40. Neapolitan6th

    Neapolitan6th Gawd

    Messages:
    890
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    I was able to put it in a zip file here thankfully. Hope that is able to help. If the control center does not work, you may need to install that separately as Zalazin had suggested.
     

    Attached Files: