AMD memory question

narsbars

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
2,185
I have an X570 P mb, 3800X, and 2x8 gig Corsair chips that run at 3200 with no OC, just XMP setup in the MB. Can I just add 2 more of the same for 32gig?
I remember early on there was a big go around about only using two slots. Is that still valid?
Thanks for any help.
 

IceCaveMan

n00b
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
45
I don't have same specs/gear but am also interested in this question/issue w/x570. Doing new build this weekend, using two chips ... w/plans to add two more in spring.
 
Last edited:

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,960
With gen3 ryzen and x570, you should likely have no problem.
 

DooKey

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
10,123
Get two more sticks of the same and you should be good to go.
 

IceCaveMan

n00b
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
45
Get two more sticks of the same and you should be good to go.
That works for me for now. But I will see perf decline when I upgrade to 4 DIMM's? Is there a name for this 'bug' or phenomena where I can google it?

After Effects - a primary app, is RAM hog.
 

BinarySynapse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
15,101
Just did on my son’s computer exactly what you’re wanting to do, except on a 2700X and X470 mb. The board reset the memory to the default 2133 profile, but all I had to do was re-enable XMP and all was good. 4x 8GB at 3200-16-18-18-36@1.35v

Zen2 and X570 are supposed to be a lot better with memory than Zen+ and X470, so you should have no problems either.
 

mvmiller12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
1,054
Almost all of the memory issues have been resolved on Zen 2 and x570
There is some evidence that Zen 3 systems seem to actually work better with 4 sticks of RAM. Steve at Gamer's Nexus has a video on it.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,860
There is some evidence that Zen 3 systems seem to actually work better with 4 sticks of RAM. Steve at Gamer's Nexus has a video on it.
Wouldn’t surprise me. I had 64gigs of 3200 (16x4) running on x570 with a 3600x with no problem. It was c14 also, b die.
 

TheSlySyl

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,068
I had 48GB of totally mixed RAM running at 3000 just by hitting XMP on my X570 (The 8 gig sticks were rated for 3000, the 16GB sticks were rated at 3200)

I have since upgraded to 64 gig of also totally mixed ram and its running flawlessly at 3200 cas 16. (The new sticks are, weirdly enough, Single Rank 16GB sticks.) I also just hit XMP and made sure the voltage was at 1.35.

X570 is wonderfully stable with RAM, i'm tempted to try overclocking it, but I haven't yet.
 

Skull_Angel

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2010
Messages
1,628
There is some evidence that Zen 3 systems seem to actually work better with 4 sticks of RAM. Steve at Gamer's Nexus has a video on it.
You're partially right. There's a slight performance increase with 4 ranks populated; that can be achieved by 4x single-rank modules or 2x dual-rank modules. As far as 2 vs 4 slots populated, it only really matters if you're pushing the limits for RAM overclocks (easier to achieve stability on 2 slots).
 
Top