AMD Driver Software bundle: Hokey/Overlay popping up.

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
I upgraded to the latest AMD drivers and the software package is full on bloatware. I have everything turned off, yet when playing games, I still get an FPS overlay popping up with the idiotic sound accompanying it whenever I hit Alt, Ctrl, or Shift.

I've ripped it out of Task scheduler, services, and task manager, yet it still come back. Dropping the game into alt tab for about 20 seconds disables it, then after about 5 minutes, it's back again.

The only way to stop the behavior is to uninstall the software, which now takes the GD drivers with it.

I'm fed up with AMD right now. Their integrated driver/bloatware/adware/malware has pissed me of to a point I'm ready to purchase an nVidea card and never look at AMD bullshit again.

Is this just me?
 

Jandor

Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
520
Weird. No problem for me. IS it AMD driver from AMD website ??? It may be something you caught on some tool not from AMD.
 

viivo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
1,498
Are you running Afterburner or any other monitoring/OSD software?

My biggest issue with the new Radeon Software is it will not save any global display settings.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
Hey thanks for responding. I rolled back the Adrenaline software/drivers to 11/18 and the problem is gone. That new package they released is pure shit. I'm not running any other software that would cause these problems, and when I remove the new Adrenaline crap, the problem is solved.

AMD should call the new Adrenaline Software "WOO WOO-SHIT SHOW--BOOTS AND PANTS AND BOOTS AND PANTS--CAN'T TURN ME OFF!" Fits the style they are going too.

I'm wondering if you two have the latest Adrenaline/driver release from 12/18? If not, you really should install it and see it. Ads in driver software? Seriously? What a joke.
 

pendragon1

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
15,830
new drivers work great for me:)
they work fine for me too but those things in the pic are causing the popups. i had them too.

What bloatware ? Relive that's been bundled for more than 2 years ?

The sound comes from either Chill or Anti Lag
not sure about the chill/anti-lag but relive used to be optional, it isnt now. not really bloatware though...
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
new drivers work great for me:)
Drivers are not the problem, it's the hotkey/overlay that is giving people problems. It's been an issue back in 2018, but they fixed it, now it's back with the latest software release.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
What bloatware ? Relive that's been bundled for more than 2 years ?

The sound comes from either Chill or Anti Lag
What bloatware? Try the main panel and below you will see "Latest News", Gaming hardware" and other graphics and text advertisements. That's what us old school call BLOATWARE--it increases the size of the program, while having nothing to do with the software's function. I know the newer generation sees advertisements, jumping graphics, and other eye candy as necessary, but we old school call anything that isn't necessary for the functioning of the software - bloat ware. For instance, if I want the latest news about a new game or keyboard, I don't need to get that information from my driver's software. I'll go to Amazon. And, there is NO WAY to turn it off.

If I had the 2020 program I'd screen shot it for you, but I rolled back to the 2019 version--nice and clean and quite.

"Bloatware is software that has unnecessary features that use large amounts of memory and RAM. Software comes to be known as bloatware when it becomes so unwieldy that its functionality is drowned out by its useless features. This is also known as software bloat." https://www.techopedia.com/definition/4237/bloatware
 
Last edited:

pendragon1

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
15,830
Oh, dude, it is off! It just keeps showing up in the new Adrenaline kiddy show they released. Check it out on the AMD forums. People are pissed.
Here is the link to the 2020 Adrenaline software problem:

https://community.amd.com/thread/246348

It's on other forums as well.

Note: This is NOT a driver problem. It's the software that comes with it.
that llink also has a link to a reddit post with a "fix". basically delete the hotkey combos in the setting.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
that llink also has a link to a reddit post with a "fix". basically delete the hotkey combos in the setting.
If it were that easy, you would not be reading this thread. Other people have reported deleting them and they still cause or have pop up hotkey problems. AMD needs to pull their heads out of their asses. There should be a "DISABLE/ENABLE" option for panels like that. For instance, what if you want to use the hotkeys for a short time, but then stop using them, delete them all then rebind them each time? What a bunch of clowns. The lead for this version needs his/her ass handed to them.

As for bloatware, there are advertisements in this version of driver software, on the front page. Seriously? Also, I don't consider bloat things like hotkeys, overlays, etc. They can be useful to some people. Yeah, it is bloat, but okay, not necessarily in a bad way, and I can live with it as long as I have the choice to enable or disable. Maybe it's just my generation, but I think that if I open driver software, the first page should be driver settings. That package is 1./2 a GB in size. How big do you think it would be if it only contained driver related settings? I'd bet about 20-30MB.
 

Mega6

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
2,745
Driver clean in and use the stripped windows whql. Don't use the AMD Radeon driver suite and be done with it already.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
Driver clean in and use the stripped windows whql. Don't use the AMD Radeon driver suite and be done with it already.
I'm using the 11/18 release. Will WHQL give the same performance as the dedicated driver?
 

Mega6

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
2,745
I'm using the 11/18 release. Will WHQL give the same performance as the dedicated driver?
As long as the versions are the same. You can point windows to the driver directory in windows to bypass the "extra junk".

something like:


  • Open Device Manager

  • Expand "Display adapters"

  • Double click the only entry that's probably there (or, fail that, the VGA entry).

  • Go to the "Driver" tab and select "Update Driver."

  • Select "Brose my computer for driver software"

  • Select "Browse..."

  • Navigate to C:\AMD (under "This PC" or "Computer" depending on Windows version)

  • Find the newest folder and select it.

  • Click "OK"

  • Click "Next
 

TheForumTroll

[H]Lite
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
69
Installs a full software suite. Calls driver bloatware.

Why do you install it if you don't want it? Install the driver only if you want only a driver.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
Installs a full software suite. Calls driver bloatware.

Why do you install it if you don't want it? Install the driver only if you want only a driver.
How else am I suppose to interface with the driver, for instance, and tell it to use FreeSyncand other driver level options? I'd love to just be able to have driver level options, and ditch the rest, advertisements and all.
 

pendragon1

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
15,830
if you use the method mega post a couple up, i think it installs the control center too. but i havent done it in a while so not 100% sure...
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
518
Dude, all you have to do is install the AMD drivers by using device manager and select the .inf file or whatever. It will only install the display driver and that's it. Absolutely nothing but the driver itself!!!
Most drivers should be installed this way if you don't need/don't use the software that comes with it.

Me personally I'm loving the new 2020 drivers!

And speaking of bloatware, Nvidia is no better other than the installer provides the option to not install geforce experience. But then you miss out on some features too like shadowplay or whatever.
I don't want to "register" for an account just to use drivers!!!
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
518
Installs a full software suite. Calls driver bloatware.

Why do you install it if you don't want it? Install the driver only if you want only a driver.
Well if that's the case then try deleting everything but the driver then try it.

I've never done it this way myself so I can't say that I know it works, but I know it works for every other driver so why not GPU drivers?
 

pendragon1

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
15,830
looks like there is a new driver out, erek posted it in the news section. notes say they fixed the persistent popup.
 
Last edited:

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
Dude, all you have to do is install the AMD drivers by using device manager and select the .inf file or whatever. It will only install the display driver and that's it. Absolutely nothing but the driver itself!!!
Most drivers should be installed this way if you don't need/don't use the software that comes with it.

Me personally I'm loving the new 2020 drivers!

And speaking of bloatware, Nvidia is no better other than the installer provides the option to not install geforce experience. But then you miss out on some features too like shadowplay or whatever.
I don't want to "register" for an account just to use drivers!!!
Where is the INF file? The only option they offer on the site is the package download. I'd love to just have the driver inf and files as long as I have driver options.
 

pendragon1

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
15,830
Where is the INF file? The only option they offer on the site is the package download. I'd love to just have the driver inf and files as long as I have driver options.
you run the downloaded installer and let it extract the files. then you cancel setup and manually point device manager to the files in c:\amd. everytime ive done it like that it auto-installed the control panel but i havent done it with the new one yet.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
Well if that's the case then try deleting everything but the driver then try it.

I've never done it this way myself so I can't say that I know it works, but I know it works for every other driver so why not GPU drivers?
If you try to uninstall it, it uninstalls the driver too. lol Maybe I could delete the exe files, but that may cause problems from the registry and task scheduler, but it could be problematic. Shouldn't have to do it. Should ahve a choice to install bloat or not. If the new version fixes the popup fiasco, I'm fine with it.
 

DWD1961

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
304
you run the downloaded installer and let it extract the files. then you cancel setup and manually point device manager to the files in c:\amd. everytime ive done it like that it auto-installed the control panel but i havent done it with the new one yet.
Ah ok got it. If that works it would be a nice way to bypass all of the consumer bloat.
 
Top