AMD Catalyst dialog view too tall

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by The Kiwi, Sep 25, 2018.

  1. The Kiwi

    The Kiwi n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Before I can set my display screen size, Windows wants a different graphics driver, which is fine, save that it defaults to a dinky 1024 by 600 screen. Catalyst's screen size is at least twenty pixels worth of lines deeper than 600, so whatever the buttons at the bottom are, I can't click on one to continue. Anyone know some workaround for this? I'm sure I've had the same thing happen before, and figured something out, but my mind just isn't hitting on all eight cylinders today!
     
  2. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,481
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Think hitting tab is the default way to cycle through buttons with the keyboard then hit enter :)
     
    Algrim likes this.
  3. The Kiwi

    The Kiwi n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    I believe I tried to first hit tab, and hope a button was ready to press Enter on, and if that didn't work, press tab again. What I would hope is there was a way to Zoom the view out, and see what happens, whether my pointer has access in the revealed bottom 15% down there or not.
     
  4. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,481
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    The odd thing is that my display goes back to 640*480 and never had this problem. Tried booting into safe mode?
     
  5. The Kiwi

    The Kiwi n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    I've just managed to run the Catalyst Install through to its advice that it was "finished", but it didn't want to restart the computer then, and the Radeon card isn't showing up in the Device Manager. I had to keep track of the Tab key presses along the way, and the amount of time that it took doing its thing seemed abbreviated. I'm about to remove that GPU in favor of a Geforce, to give nVIDIA a chance to deal with this particular stage in the PC's life . .
     
  6. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,481
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    To be honest it sounds like a Windows scaling problem :)
     
    Algrim likes this.
  7. Haste266

    Haste266 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,420
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    alt, space, then M to move the window around to see the buttons?
     
Tags: